We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mackinac Jewel Not to Be Missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woods Restaurant

The Woods Restaurant
8655 Cudahy Circle, Mackinac Island, MI 49757 (Formerly The Woods)
+1 906-847-3699
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located a short horse-drawn carriage ride into the wooded interior of Mackinac Island. The opulent Tudor mansion with Bavarian charm provides for a delightfully casual dining experience. Test your skill on America’s oldest operating duckpin bowling alley. Enjoy before and after dinner drinks at Bobby’s Bar opening at noon daily.Woods Restaurant will open for the 2013 season on Friday, May 24th.Lunch 11:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. Serving boxed lunches and hot dogs during the day.Dinner 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.Dress code is casual. Reservations are recommended for dinner. To reserve a table, call and ask for Woods Restaurant.Overnight guests of Grand Hotel on the Modified American Plan receive a $20.00 per adult credit towards the food portion of their bill. There is tipping at Woods.
Harbor Bluffs, Fl
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Mackinac Jewel Not to Be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Here is a BIG NO for Mackinac visitors....Do not miss The Woods! Located in the interior of the island, one travels by horse drawn carriage. It is a beautiful old Tudor mansion. Overall, the experience is superb. Food and service are excellent. It is the best thing to do on the island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    36
    19
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Johns, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Dining Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you're staying at the Grand Hotel or just visiting the Island, try to make it to Woods at least once for dinner. It is on the back side of the Island so plan on taking a taxi and making reservations is best. The restaurant is beautiful, unique, and far removed from the hustle and bustle of the down town area. After dinner visit the bar and try a game of Duck Pin Bowling, which can be vastly entertaining for both kids and adults. I highly recommend this restaurant as a dining option for any guest staying at the Grand Hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth Doing Once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Was a fun Mackinac Island Experience. The food was good, not great. The atmosphere was unique. The service was top notch, and besides 100% proper wait service, our waiter, Lawrence, was over the top great guy. The cost of the taxi ride to the restaurant adds to the cost, but the ride back, in the dark, with incredible views, was the highlight. Disembarked on return at Grand Hotel and soaked up atmosphere in the lobby; another bonus.

Salmon appetizer was great, whitefish entre was average; veal entre was very good (and plentiful), vanilla donut with salted caramel ice cream dessert was excellent. Overall, would recommend the experience and a nice Mac Isle adventure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a nice place to have our anniversary dinner, but it was so hard to tell which restaurants were actually nice since all of them had such exorbitant prices. The reviews were great for the Woods so we decided to give it a try.

The only possible downside to the Woods is that it's actually in the woods so we rode our bikes out and back in the dark. We thought it was quite the adventure though! We also were not disappointed by this place! The dining room was beautiful, and the service was absolutely excellent. Our food was fabulous too!! One of the best meals I've had in a while. I had the half chicken and my boyfriend got the sausages. All-in-all, a FANTASTIC experience for the same price as all the casual restaurants on the island.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Remote, rustic and romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Limited but fabulous menu, coupled with attentive and friendly waitstaff, this restaurant is really memorable. It sits alone in a lovely remote wooded (naturally!) setting that evokes the days of yore. Loved the ambience and the tasty entrees. Unless your'e staying at the Stonecliff, you'll need to take a horse-drawn taxi out here. Check it out, though, you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woods Restaurant also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Woods Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woods Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.