We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved going back in time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Reserve now for 2015
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Carmel, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved going back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had a very relaxing three days at the beautiful Grand Hotel and can not wait to return.
We had a very nice room on the first floor which over looked the lake and a wonderful street with beautiful victorian home's.
How peaceful it was to rock away on the front porch and hear the sound of the horse's as they pass.
Our package included three meals and a round of golf each day.
We found breakfast and lunch to be very good but a little hit and miss on the dinner choices.
Wine or any type of cocktail is "very expensive". We brought wine with us (thank goodness) so we were able to enjoy that after dinner.
They also offer dancing after dinner to a live band which makes the evening very special.
Just a note that men must wear a sport jacket at dinner and no hat's allowed at any time. Have to say the evening dress code add's to the charm.
In the afternoon they have high tea available while a harp plays in the back ground. You do not have to purchase the tea to enjoy the atmosphere and music.
This hotel may not be for everyone but if you enjoy stepping back to a slower pace for a few days this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    217
    111
    99
    64
See reviews for
396
593
29
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are laid back and casual, then this is not the place for you.
I hated the "Uppity" vibe at this place. If it's summertime and you are wearing something comfortable like shorts and flip-flops, you will be looked down upon. Also, after a certain time of day, you are not even allowed to walk on their SIDEWALK without following some snooty dress code. (Not kidding, they have signs posted)

You know, for a relaxing place like Mackinaw Island, this place is way too uptight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are sorry that you feel this way. We do have a traditional dress policy in the evenings after 6:30 pm, however, casual attire is perfectly fine prior to this each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I have wished we could spend sometime at the Grand Hotel, since seeing the movie many years ago. This past June we spent five wonderful days there and it was what we expected and more. The hostess in the dining room remembered us and knew we wanted to sit by a wall or window (hearing problem), dining was gracious, a bit noisy but that did not take away from the menu choices. Our room looked over the lake, and the floor was on a slant. After hearing the free history of the Hotel (mornings on the porch) we now understand it better. Sitting on the porch was a relaxing way to enjoy my books. It was too cool to use the pool, but some did, so we enjoyed the walks we took to town, Movies at night were fun, with popcorn and all. We were celebrating our 60th anniversary, but we told no one just wanted to enjoy the ambients.Two nights we dined at the golf course, sitting by the fireplace. Loved the Hotel and area, would love to go back-soon.
reenasells@att.net

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Grand has seen better days. The stay would have been tolerable however due to an unexpected occurrence we had to depart early. When checking out at 9:00 am one day early the front desk advised that we would be billed $500 extra for an early checkout. After conferring with the supposed manager whom was condescending and rude we would not recommend this establishment to anyone. We stay at many fine Hotels and in our opinion The Grand is a tourist trap relying on past history and performance. Try the many quaint inns on the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

beautiful views and quiet atmosphere. great for couples who like a relaxing trip. if you are addicted to your laptop, this is not the place for you. only certain areas in the hotel are wireless.. my hubby struggled with reception, and ended up having to use the hotel business office to gain the best access. food was on a rotating menu every three days. nice selection and service. I enjoyed every minute of my stay. the gift shop has many hotel related items. the outdoor pool was nice. we enjoyed walking the island on our own. I found hotel staff to be busy and not very helpful. a paid photographer took nice photos of us each evening on the front porch. we purchased them the next day.
I enjoyed the breakfast every morning...you are able to order from the menu or just choose the buffet. some months are crowded with families and lots of loud children. other months are more relaxing. some months offer family deals, so I would suggest avoiding those times if you are a couple looking for a romantic stay.

Room Tip: rooms with a view of the water are better than those not facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review Preppygirl. It sounds as if you had an enjoyable time with us. The entire hotel and some surrounding areas do have wireless access. If you do stay in the future and have an issue, please let one of our management staff know. Just one note, the menu in the Main Dining Room rotates every night for your enjoyment. We do hope to see you and your husband again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After our recent stay at the Grand Hotel, we regret to admit that,
despite our high expectations, we were greatly disappointed at the
service and accommodations we received.
We were so excited when we made the reservation for Close The Grand
event this October. We had been at Mackinac Island for Memorial Day
weekend two years ago, and we had admired the hotel from outside. It
seemed beautiful. We thought it would be perfect for our second
honeymoon.
We drove four hours to get the ferry. It was a sunny Sunday
afternoon. When we arrived at the island, our luggage was transferred
to the hotel and we got to have a nice walk around. During the
check-in, however, things began to change.
The receptionist had a difficult British accent, and he would not
bother to repeat what he was trying to say despite our requests for
him to do so. He handed us our room keys and rudely listed off what we
were to expect in the upcoming 24 hours: Dinner was from 7 to 9.
Breakfast in the morning would also only be two hours. We then had to
check out one hour early because they were closing the hotel. After
that pleasant military welcome, we headed to our room, trying to
regenerate some former excitement for the beautiful view of the lake.
Unfortunately, we found upon entering that there was no such view, and
instead two double beds instead of the king i had requested. We went
to the reception desk to ask for a room change, but the receptionist
declined immediately, not even bothering to look helpful. We insisted
that he call the manager, because I had paid for and reserved a king
bed, but were told that the hotel was full and the reservation "wasn't
guaranteed." Irritated but trying to remain hopeful, we returned to
our downgraded room and tried to enjoy our time. However, it was hard
to miss the two rooms on either side of ours that were empty and had
king beds. I assumed the guests simply weren't there yet.
Dinner was a complete disappointment. Expecting an elegant,
restaurant-like environment from a hotel of this class, we were
instead greeted by a crowded buffet. They had put the food in the
middle of the main aisle, where big lines of people were scrambling to
pass among the crowd with their full plates. There was nothing special
on the menu. The waiters looked utterly bored and acted like they
wanted people to finish their dinners as soon as possible. Afterward,
we decided to at least take a tour of this historic hotel. To our
disappointment, most of the salons were closed, sofas and chairs
covered with white linens. It was like a ghost hotel. Returning to our
room, we discovered yet more unpleasant surprises: there was no
bathtub, and one of the beds squawked terribly. At that point, we were
too tired to attempt to request any change from the unhelpful staff.
In the morning, breakfast buffet was the same ordinary style and at
same area. The weather was so much colder. We just wanted to leave as
soon possible. As a final activity, we decided to look at other
already-emptied rooms to at least take some pictures of the nicer
areas. As we saw the other rooms, however, our disappointment quickly
turned to anger. All the other rooms around ours were bigger, had bath
tubs, and king or queen poster beds. Our room was the smallest and the
only one without a bathtub. What's more, the two rooms right by ours
had never been filled that night. They had literally lied to us about
not having empty rooms. My husband went to confront the employers
about the lie and complain about all the issues we had had.
Unsurprisingly, they didn't seem apologetic at all and offered no
reconciliation.
All in all, we cannot understand why they had refused to give us the
room we had reserved or had continuously acted so rudely to
successfully ruin what was supposed to be our second honeymoon. That
was our first and definitely last stay at Grand Hotel. We advise
everyone against staying there; you can find infinitely more pleasant
places around there with far more reasonable prices.

Room Tip: If you still want to stay there, go there at the end of may, stay a room facing the lake with a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your comment and concerns. If a member of our staff has not yet personally responded please know someone will be in contact with you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed 3 days at the Grand for a 50th birthday present. In August they have some Family discounts - buy 2 nights get one free, which is a good deal. I would say that the Grand is a great experience, but I am not sure I'd need to go back. There are a number of cheaper inns on the island. The decor was done in the 1980's in an overly foral Victorian style, which may appeal to some people. Historically it was not that over the top. They show "Somewhere In Time" several nights a week and have some memorabilia from the movie. The pool is very nice and good for kids. The island itself and the views from the hotel of the lake are spectacular, especially in the Cupola bar. It was nice to dress for dinner in the main dining room and the food was surprisingly good. There is a buffet but we did not try it. We never had lunch in the main dining room as the hotel is open for tours at that time. The hotel owns several resturants around the island (we were disappointed by the one at the fort) and some are included in the meal plan. We found the service generally good despite the no tipping policy ( we did tip some of our servers anyway).

Room Tip: Book at least the 2nd category room - we had a lake view as well. The cheapest rooms are too small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.