We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mother's Day Weekend
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“dissapointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After our recent stay at the Grand Hotel, we regret to admit that,
despite our high expectations, we were greatly disappointed at the
service and accommodations we received.
We were so excited when we made the reservation for Close The Grand
event this October. We had been at Mackinac Island for Memorial Day
weekend two years ago, and we had admired the hotel from outside. It
seemed beautiful. We thought it would be perfect for our second
honeymoon.
We drove four hours to get the ferry. It was a sunny Sunday
afternoon. When we arrived at the island, our luggage was transferred
to the hotel and we got to have a nice walk around. During the
check-in, however, things began to change.
The receptionist had a difficult British accent, and he would not
bother to repeat what he was trying to say despite our requests for
him to do so. He handed us our room keys and rudely listed off what we
were to expect in the upcoming 24 hours: Dinner was from 7 to 9.
Breakfast in the morning would also only be two hours. We then had to
check out one hour early because they were closing the hotel. After
that pleasant military welcome, we headed to our room, trying to
regenerate some former excitement for the beautiful view of the lake.
Unfortunately, we found upon entering that there was no such view, and
instead two double beds instead of the king i had requested. We went
to the reception desk to ask for a room change, but the receptionist
declined immediately, not even bothering to look helpful. We insisted
that he call the manager, because I had paid for and reserved a king
bed, but were told that the hotel was full and the reservation "wasn't
guaranteed." Irritated but trying to remain hopeful, we returned to
our downgraded room and tried to enjoy our time. However, it was hard
to miss the two rooms on either side of ours that were empty and had
king beds. I assumed the guests simply weren't there yet.
Dinner was a complete disappointment. Expecting an elegant,
restaurant-like environment from a hotel of this class, we were
instead greeted by a crowded buffet. They had put the food in the
middle of the main aisle, where big lines of people were scrambling to
pass among the crowd with their full plates. There was nothing special
on the menu. The waiters looked utterly bored and acted like they
wanted people to finish their dinners as soon as possible. Afterward,
we decided to at least take a tour of this historic hotel. To our
disappointment, most of the salons were closed, sofas and chairs
covered with white linens. It was like a ghost hotel. Returning to our
room, we discovered yet more unpleasant surprises: there was no
bathtub, and one of the beds squawked terribly. At that point, we were
too tired to attempt to request any change from the unhelpful staff.
In the morning, breakfast buffet was the same ordinary style and at
same area. The weather was so much colder. We just wanted to leave as
soon possible. As a final activity, we decided to look at other
already-emptied rooms to at least take some pictures of the nicer
areas. As we saw the other rooms, however, our disappointment quickly
turned to anger. All the other rooms around ours were bigger, had bath
tubs, and king or queen poster beds. Our room was the smallest and the
only one without a bathtub. What's more, the two rooms right by ours
had never been filled that night. They had literally lied to us about
not having empty rooms. My husband went to confront the employers
about the lie and complain about all the issues we had had.
Unsurprisingly, they didn't seem apologetic at all and offered no
reconciliation.
All in all, we cannot understand why they had refused to give us the
room we had reserved or had continuously acted so rudely to
successfully ruin what was supposed to be our second honeymoon. That
was our first and definitely last stay at Grand Hotel. We advise
everyone against staying there; you can find infinitely more pleasant
places around there with far more reasonable prices.

Room Tip: If you still want to stay there, go there at the end of may, stay a room facing the lake with a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your comment and concerns. If a member of our staff has not yet personally responded please know someone will be in contact with you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    220
    115
    100
    63
See reviews for
407
601
30
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed 3 days at the Grand for a 50th birthday present. In August they have some Family discounts - buy 2 nights get one free, which is a good deal. I would say that the Grand is a great experience, but I am not sure I'd need to go back. There are a number of cheaper inns on the island. The decor was done in the 1980's in an overly foral Victorian style, which may appeal to some people. Historically it was not that over the top. They show "Somewhere In Time" several nights a week and have some memorabilia from the movie. The pool is very nice and good for kids. The island itself and the views from the hotel of the lake are spectacular, especially in the Cupola bar. It was nice to dress for dinner in the main dining room and the food was surprisingly good. There is a buffet but we did not try it. We never had lunch in the main dining room as the hotel is open for tours at that time. The hotel owns several resturants around the island (we were disappointed by the one at the fort) and some are included in the meal plan. We found the service generally good despite the no tipping policy ( we did tip some of our servers anyway).

Room Tip: Book at least the 2nd category room - we had a lake view as well. The cheapest rooms are too small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is one of the most interesting I have ever visited and a historical marvel! For anyone that appreciates going back in time so to speak through experiencing history this is one place to visit. The building itself is nothing short of spectacular in its architectual design with its long porch displaying the beautiful America flag and made of Michigan white pine-amazing. Not to mention the beautiful grounds and the incredible views of the sunset over the Lake Huron from the hotel that sits on a hill in all its grandeur!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My family and I stayed in a different hotel, but decided to visit the Grand for tea service. It wasn't very good. The tea was not hot, the sandwiches stale and the sweets weren't at all memorable. The servers confused our tea orders and did not bring silverware. We were quite disappointed, especially considering the amount we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A stay at the Grand Hotel was to be an extravagant treat for my mother-in-law. We stayed in one of the most expensive rooms ($1,145/night-not including taxes) for three nights and thought we would get one of the fabulous rooms on the Grand's website decorated by Carlton Varney. We were incredibly surprised when we were escorted into the Jane Seymour room. The view was fantastic but the floor had multiple black stains, faded and worn cushions on the couch and chairs, and not-so-fabulous bedding. One thing I felt was strange was that we could not choose our room and, of course, the Jane Seymour room had no pictures online so one could see how bad it was. To add insult to injury, when we returned from our trip, I contact the Grand via the e-mail listed on its website and mentioned how upsetting it was to get such a disappointing room for the money we spent. I did not even get a response acknowledging my complaint.

I have pictures to upload which I will do when at home.

I will say the food was fanastic but would never again waste thousands of dollars for a room so disgusting.

Room Tip: Try to see if you can choose your own room. We tried but didn't get the one we wanted, even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are sorry you did not receive the response sent to you, we will make sure a member of our staff reaches out to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

It was a perfect week to remember ~ August 22, 2012. Amelia Adams married the man of her dreams on the East Porch of the Grand Hotel. We would not have changed one detail of our event. Marty Haines, the wedding planner of the hotel is amazing to work with as we'll as our photographers, Christy & Jeff DuPree of Island Photo. Thanks to them and the staff for making our trip so memorable.
Amelia & Jim Fahey

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel has been on my husband's Bucket List since he saw the movie "Somewhere in Time". Since our schedule would not allow us to travel there for that weekend, we chose to book for their "Murder Mystery" weekend. We had a great time, enjoyed working in teams with the other people we met there, and found the hospitality to be great. The weekend did find us a bit more 'scheduled' than we are used to on vacation, with not as much free time as we would have liked. We had a room with a great view and enjoyed the history and amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.