We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand time at the Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A grand time at the Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We spent three days at the Grand Hotel and it couldn't have been nicer. We had a special summer rate, so didn't pay top dollar. When we checked into our room, we discovered we had been given a darling, charming room with a balcony overlooking the front of the Grand, including incredible views of the Mackinac Bridge, the hotel's gorgeous lawn and Round Island lighthouse. The gracious lifestyle of the Grand Hotel is something everyone should experience. The staff is amazing, they want happy guests. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    170
    95
    93
    61
See reviews for
338
479
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

The grounds keepers are to be commended because it appears that they have crafted a set of gardens with fabulous flora and fauna the rivals the past.

The remainder of the experience, the hotel itself, the meals, and the staff are lacking. The most terrible thing about our stay was the staff who badgered us and we noticed others, frequently to show proof of either our stay or the purchase of a $10 fee to walk the grounds. We felt that this had something to do with the "no tipping" policy. It was a last chance grab for money by the staff.

We saw one woman who asked the front entry "guard" dressed in a flashy red jacked with aviator glasses and a rough demeanor, in his accent, to show her pass. She said she had a pass-and he then demanded to see it, then twirled it around to see the date on it . She told him he was embarrassing her to which he replied: "SOP." She asked him what SOP was and he replied in a gruff voice: Standard Operating Procedure. This woman had a gentle demeanor and told him he thoroughly embarrassed her and that she felt sure the Grand Manor Hotel had no such SOP that was designed to embarrass people on the front step-entry way of the hotel. He continued to offer: "SOP." He seemed to have the demeanor of a military commander!

If you thrive on this kind of attempt at class distinction, constant badgering for differing levels of proof of stay by a staff with a distinct purpose, and the aura of an era that has clearly passed and long expired, then the Grand Hotel is for you. It is not the place for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Grand Hotel has great facilities, history and views! As beautiful the location is, the service is consistently below expectations. From the front desk clerk who recicitated a memorized script too quicklly for anyone to follow to the dining room waiter during dinner who never smiled and the wine steward who forgot to bring my glass of wine, service was pretty poor. The only high point of service was the baggage service where the luggage was transferred seamlessly from the ferry to the hotel room and back again. Yeah luggage team!! Take a lesson everyone else!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This was our 1st opportunity to stay at this magnificent 125 year old summer hotel. Though pricey if you don't know someone there, "if you have the means I'd highly recommend it, it's so choice" (according to Ferris Bueller). This is the hotel where Somewhere in Time was filmed and staying there is truly like stepping back in time. Jackets and ties for the men and dresses or pant suits for the women after 6:00 pm. A visit and better yet a stay here should be on everyone's Michigan bucket list. Make sure to confirm what size bed you prefer because and upgrade in bed size may result in downgrade in view unless you're shelling out really big bucks for a suite. The staff made us feel like royalty with management and concierge services second to none. If you want it, they can get it! Make sure to take full advantage of all the amenities.

Room Tip: Have a friend or family member work there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011 via mobile

This hotel experience was horrible. For the price the service, the food, and the amenities were not on par for what this hotel should be. The staff in the restaurants and bars have no clue about the food and wine offerings. The front desk staff is very young and clearly not trained properly in the service industry. The grounds are beautiful but definitely will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

It has been a number of years since my last trip to the Grand, and things have definitely slipped since that visit. The staff was generally rude and not helpful. We experienced this on several occasions prior to arrival when calling about our reservation and during our stay when we had questions or needed help. They really did not seem to want guests to return.

On the day of our departure, the maid came in to our room and began changing the beds and cleaning up at 9 AM while we were in the room. When asked about this she told us we would not be a bother to her as she continued to clean the room around us. We had to ask her to leave several times before she finally did.

The wait staff was more interested in getting the meal vouchers than in help us during our two dining experiences and would often reach across our plates, twice dragging their coat sleaves across our plates. At breakfast we asked for tea and coffee three times and finally gave up since as I said above, once they got the voucher, we hardly saw them again.

Despite the no tipping signs, we were approached several times by staff with the open palm. This was a little uncomfortable when they are handling the luggage at the docks.

Being from Michigan, this makes me a little sad, as I had hoped the Grand would be a show place for the state, but instead, is just a shell of what it once was and is not impressive at all.

Room Tip: I am not sure as the staff was not helpful at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for 2 nights and the A/C was wonderfully cold! The hotel was very clean and the food was OUT OF THIS WORLD GOOD!! The staff was very helpful and treated us like royalty. The man in our party forgot his dress pants and they had some right there to loan him, suit coats, shirts and ties too! (All guests must dress for dinner) This is an historic landmark so for all of you folks out there who are unhappy about the $10 charge to walk inside, well, there ya go, It IS an historic landmark. Get over it. It is worth it but staying here is REALLY GRAND!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.