We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nachos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horn's Gaslight Bar & Restaurant

Horn's Gaslight Bar & Restaurant
7300 Main Street, P.O. Box 514, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
906-847-6154
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Brunswick, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great nachos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stopped in for drink and appetizer in afternoon. Ordered the super nachos, which were served quickly. Nice stop on an old time bar location.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    98
    88
    28
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great music! Great food and beer!
Fun Irish pub, with live music. Service is fast. Order a Guiness!
Right in the heart of downtown so worth a stop during a visit!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Special of the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ate here because they had an open table and we were hot, but in retrospect, it turned out to be a very good meal. We shared the Caesar Chicken Wrap, which was a special of the day on their whiteboard out front, and it was delicious! We upgraded the french fries to onion rings, and they were ok, but I didn't think they were worth the upgraded price (an additional 3.99 to the tab.) It was really the wrap that my husband could not stop talking about for the rest of the day and several days afterward!

Servers were on top of things, in the beginning almost too much as my husband couldn't find his glasses (he wore sunglasses on the boat) to read the menu, but they kept asking if we were ready. Not yet! Once we ordered, things settled down.

Overall, a pleasant surprise. Would go back for more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, big portions, tons of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Horn's is a nice place to visit on the island. It is kid-friendly during the day. My husband and I went in for a bite to eat and ended up getting the chicken and black bean nachos for 2 to share. I think 4-5 people could have eaten those! There were a lot of leftovers and since our hotel didn't have a fridge in our room (do any of them?) a lot went to waste, which was a shame to see.
Anyway the nightlife is fanstatic as well. They usually have a live band playing and we went there dancing on night - soooo much fun!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great entertainment AND service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Enjoyed great entertainment here, even midweek during the summer. Great to see longtime bar owner Steve behind the bar. He was fun to talk to and catch up with. The wait staff was great and energetic. Took really good care of us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horn's Gaslight Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Horn's Gaslight Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horn's Gaslight Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.