We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hamburger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck Wagon of Mackinac

Chuck Wagon of Mackinac
7400 Main St., Downtown, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
+1 906-847-0019
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: We are the smallest restaurant on Mackinac at twelve feet wide and forty feet long. We use fresh ingredients and have food delivered everyday.You can watch the cook/owner Don prepare your breakfast or lunch right in front of you.
Temperance, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Best Hamburger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The fresh(unfrozen) hamburger was delicious. We enjoyed the pretzel bum and the mushroom/onion burger as well as a burger with only mustard and pickle. Haven't tasted better on Mackinac Island or anywhere else in my travels.
Friendly servers-prompt service-reasonable prices-you feel like a regular in only one visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    85
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

good food fast service
I understand they have killer hamburgers but we didnt get a chance to have one
very small could be an issue if they were full we got lucky
conveniently located right next door to the main st inn on the mainstreet

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“So greasy and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stopped for lunch as I remembered the good reviews on TripAdvisor. It's a tiny little place that we nearly walked by, but was absolutely worth it. You can actually watch the line cook making all the burgers and sandwiches. It's very diner like with stools on one side of the walkway and tiny tables for 2 on the other. The prices are really good compared to other island eateries, but really the atmosphere of the place is really great. Just small town, everyone appreciates the business. We were in and out in about 20 minutes. I would absolutely recommend to anyone going to the island looking for a little inexpensive diner experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Little Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had breakfast there twice during our stay. Cozy and friendly place to eat. Typical fare and very good. We will difinitely eat there next year when we go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Found this little gem thanks to Trip Adviser reviews. Had a great lunch here. Very small but great atmosphere, good food and good service. Right next to the Haunted House. Will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck Wagon of Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chuck Wagon of Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck Wagon of Mackinac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.