We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Lorraine

Chateau Lorraine
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Lorraine
Save
You added Chateau Lorraine to your Saves list
Bogan Lane, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 Mackinac Island B&B and Inns
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice, Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although we cannot yet compare this bed and breakfast to others on the island, we had a nice 2 night stay here. We stayed in a room with a private bath. The room was clean, charming, moderately sized, and even had an air conditioning unit (although we didn't need it). The breakfast is a self-serve with hard boiled eggs, cereal, homemade pastries and bread, bagels, fruit, etc. It was plenty for us as we don't like a huge breakfast - it was convenient to eat a quick breakfast, have some coffee and go. If you are looking for a large homemade breakfast served to you, you would be disappointed. The people working at the bed and breakfast were inviting and kind. The exterior needs some paint, but it didn't really bother us. The location is a quick walk to town and on a quiet side street. We were very happy with our choice to stay at the Chateau Lorraine and we would stay again - especially for the lower price than most other bed and breakfasts on the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The place itself is charming. It could use a coat of paint on the outside to spruce up the curb appeal, but it is otherwise very nice. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, and we were fortunate enough to stay in a room with a kitchenette. Bonus!!

My only complaint was the breakfast portion of the meal. Other B&Bs that I have stayed in offer a very nice, home-cooked breakfast breakfast in the morning. This place offered nothing more than a self-serve scenario with a few pastries, mini muffins and hard boiled eggs.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the kitchenette. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

Never met owner during stay. No ice, no shampoo just a Cake of soap. No help planning our tour of island. No help with anything. A below average B and B. Limited service.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed in a corner room at the Chateau. It was nice. We shared a bathroom with 3 other rooms which was not a problem at all. Never had to wait for a bathroom. The room has television with lots of stations. The only thing we noticed was the walls seem thin and could hear people in the other room. We didn't really spend too much time during the day in the room. It has an air conditioning unit but didn't need to use it. The breakfast is really great with lots of choices. They had bread, grapefruit, quiche, hard boiled egg, cereal, oatmeal, orange juice, and I think some other stuff. You can't beat the price on Mackinac and the location is great, just off the main street. Actually, the whole island turned out to be very affordable. Sweatshirt for $15, $2.90 for a large ice cream cone, <$10/plate for dinner at a restaurant, $10 to go around the island on a tandem bike, horse taxi for $4.75, etc. Even the Grand Hotel offers all-you-can-eat lunch for $40/plate, which isn't that bad because it includes tax and tip along with access to other parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

My wife and I had the distinct pleasure of staying in a room with a private bath and I must write to say how pleased we were. We would have had to pay 2-3x as much at the Grand Hotel, and I can tell you from experience most of their rooms are not any different. There you pay for for the opulance in the common rooms and for the meals.
You absolutely cannot beat this location. It is a block from downtown and only a short walk. It's so much quieter here. We can't wait to come back in the future with the money we've saved we can stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I traveled with my son-in-law, daughter and their two boys, sixteen and
two. We stayed for ten days and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff
was very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was wonderful, the rooms
were clean and comfortable. We shared two bathrooms on the third floor and had no problems. The wallk from the dock was about five minutes, if you
have a lot of luggage, have a porter bring it because the hotel is up
a little hill. My daughter loves to play the piano so to find the Grand
Piano from "Somewhere in Time" in the Victorian Living room was a real treasure. If
you like staying at Holiday Express, this may not be the hotel for you, it is Victorian,
quiet and peaceful. There is so
much to do on Mackinac Island and you are close to everything, hopefully, we will
return soon and we will stay at Chataeu Lorraine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010 via mobile

WHAT A WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY!
I have stayed at Chateau Lorraine several times over the past couple of years. Each time has been a memorable occasion. The Innkeepers and staff go out of their way to make guests happy and comfortable. The Inn is beautiful, the food is great and the rooms are lovely and relaxing. You do have to book early even a year in advance to get certain rooms. We have already booked for Lilac Festivak and July 4th weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Lorraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Lorraine

Address: Bogan Lane, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Lorraine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.