We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd verse, better than the first!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Suites

Park Place Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Place Suites
7323 Market Street, P.O. Box 1629, Mackinac Island, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Elkhart, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“2nd verse, better than the first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Last week was our annual trip to Mackinac Island with our grandkids and doggie. For the 2nd time, we chose the pet-friendly Park Place Suites and we were as just as pleased, if not more so, than our first visit 2 years ago.

This small hotel has only 3 accommodations: The Southern Sleeper, The Honeymoon Suite and The Northern Sleeper (where we stayed). The property has a lovely fenced in yard and the Northern Sleeper (on the 2nd floor) has a deck, which was a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee and watch the Island come to life.

Located in the middle of town, on Market Street, just one block from the hustle and bustle of main street, the Park Place is in a perfect location to explore the Island, but still close to everything.

We will be back!!!

Room Tip: The Northern Sleeper is perfect for small families with one bed and a pull out couch in the main roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We recently stayed at Park Place Suites on Mackinac Island and it was the best place we have stayed yet. We've been going for multiple years and always stay someplace different. Park Place Suites is one of the only places on the island that allows you to bring your dog. In search of somewhere that would allow our small dog we booked the Northern Sleeper. We were totally IMPRESSED. We were prepared for some deterioration due to allowance of pets but the room showed ZERO sign of wear. This is NOT a flea motel. We met the family across the hall that had been staying at Park Place for consecutive years and had no idea dogs were allowed. This gives you an idea of how impeccably CLEAN these suites are. Having a full kitchen cut down on restaurant costs and is well worth the price. We will definitely be back. It is situated on Market St. just behind Main St. across from the Arnold Dock. It is literally within steps of the busy downtown but is by far the quietest place we've stayed. These suites are apartment-like and couldn't be any more charming. Make your next stay on the island at Park Place Suites... you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Awesome location with a beautiful fenced in yard. It was so much fun to relax in the yard with our dogs and watch the people and carriages go by, after a long bike ride or shopping trip. The owner who lives in the building, is very nice and great at accommodating her guests. Our extended family group stayed in all three suites with our two small dogs. All of the suites are very clean and nicely decorated. There is also a nice area to store your bikes in the yard. I have stayed on the island more than 10 times and this is hands down the best place to stay if you are a family or couple traveling with (or without) a dog.

Room Tip: The Honeymoom Suite has a nice view. All suites are quiet, clean and comfortable. Wifi works great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Very cute place right off Main Street. I ditto what others have said about minimal noise, but it's my first night here so I'll update if that changes. We are in the southern sleeper and it is HUGE! Like an apartment! The lady Kris is very sweet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

On a recent trip with my husband and my parents, we stayed in the Northern Sleeper. It provided comfortable accommodations. We loved having a kitchen to prepare breakfast in the morning. We were worried about noise from the street, but that wasn't a problem at all. No daily room-maintenance service, so be prepared to keep the place clean yourself and replace towels if necessary. Location can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Perfect location, perfect owner, quiet but in town. The Honeymoon Suite was spacious and very comfortable and clean. I am never considering another place when I return to Mackinac Island. You're literally in the middle of all the action but don't feel that way when your in the room. We appreciated the short walk from almost anything we were doing in town especially when it came time to return to our room in order to attend to our dog quite a few times a day. Most of all, the owner couldn't of been nicer or friendlier. Great place, quit researching, book now!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite is upstairs and the view is a main pedestrian path that I enjoyed because you see to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed in the Southern Sleeper. 6 adults and a 12 lbs dog. Great location just about 40 yards from Main Street and Arnolds Ferry dock.

The beds are large and comfortable. The pull out bed was not so comfortable. The suite was very clean. Bathrooms were spacious and one is sized for persons needing a wheelchair.

Happy with the stay and I recommend the Southern Sleeper for groups of 4 or more. Our dog seemed to enjoy the stay as well.

Room Tip: Contact the manager, she was very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Place Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Suites

Address: 7323 Market Street, P.O. Box 1629, Mackinac Island, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the center of the downtown area. All of our units offer full size kitchens and there is an outdoor grill and eating area. We are children and pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Park Place Suites to your Saves list