We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View on the Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cupola Bar

Cupola Bar
Grand Hotel Avenue, 4th floor of the Grand Hotel, Mackinac Island, MI
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best View on the Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are not staying at the Grand you can take the elevator to the 4th floor, exit to the right and take the stairs to the Cupola Bar (please remember guest rooms are directly under the stairs). The view is a spectacular 3-sided view of the Island, Straights, and Bridge. Drinks are expensive, however no more than Chicago ($12.00 martini, $6.00 Import beer) remember to ask for the snack mix. The most upper floor has music and is just an awesome experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    22
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“sunset would be perfect here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The cupola bar is on top of the Grand Hotel. You have to pay to get on the grounds, but it is worth coming here for a drink. There are beautiful views of the water. We were sorry we weren't there to see the sunset- they catch sunrise on one side and sunset on the other, and it is windows all around.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy a glass of wine at the Top of the Grand Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The Cupola Bar was a must visit for us during our tour of the Grand Hotel, and it did not disappoint. We had a wonderful view of the Mackinaw Bridge, sipping great wine at a very reasonable price, in a cozy yet spacious atmosphere. The decor was fun yet stylish with a beautiful chandelier in the center of the room. Definitely worth the couple flights of stairs to get to the top!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had a great view of the Bridge, delicious appetizers, good drinks and a FABULOUS pianist "Pete" and dance with my hubby.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I love this bar as it overlooks the Grand Hotel's front lawn. I go every time I visit the island... We ordered one drink, champagne and a beer: $30.00. Well, you kind of expect that if you frequent the Grand Hotel.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupola Bar also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Cupola Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cupola Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.