We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful respite after a day of touring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Mackinac Tea Room

Fort Mackinac Tea Room
286 Grand Avenue, Mackinac Island, MI (Formerly Tea Room at Fort Mackinac)
1-906-847-33311
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Description: One of the most delightful and scenic settings on Mackinac Island to enjoy luncheon or a late afternoon snack. Tour this historic site and relax afterwards with a delicious meal and exceptional view of downtown Mackinac Island and the harbor. Admission to Fort Mackinac is required. A visit to Fort Mackinac includes a self-guided tour of the Fort, seeing 1780's soldiers demonstrate rifle firings and a cannon salute over the harbor. For more information about Fort Mackinac visit click here.The Fort Mackinac Tea Room will open for the 2013 season on Tuesday, May 7th.Hours of Operation:Luncheon: 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.Outdoor and indoor seating available.There is tipping at Fort Mackinac Tea Room.
Rochester, Mi
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful respite after a day of touring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a bowl of Chicken Soup and a cup of tea after touring the Fort for several hours. Service was excellent and the food was very good, but a bit pricey.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    22
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Breath taking view of the harbor - glad we picked over the Grand lunch buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We originally planned to have the lunch buffet at the Grand Hotel, but decided to skip it as soon as we saw the view! It was picture perfect, the sun shining, the water sparkling & after one glass of moscato I never wanted to leave. Our waiter was friendly & efficient with good timing. The food was good & the prices were too. We had the veggie pita & hot dog plate which were just the right size for lunch. And did I mention the Amazing View?!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Try the Milkshakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The VIEW is the reason to go here but the Milkshakes are fantastic. They aren't on the menu so you must ask. Many flavors each $5.50. The food is always good and the service very good. Even though you have to pay the Fort Mackinac admission charge to get to the Tea Room, Do It. It is worth every Dollar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stopped at the Tea Room mid afternoon while visting the Fort. We had drinks and some natcho chips with salsa. The food/drinks were good and service was fast. The price was better than expected considering it is owned/operated by the Grand Hotel. Yes the view is absolutely stunning the best on the Island. If you are touring the fort it is well worth the price to stop hear and have a lunch or refreshment and take in the view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view that you wil not forget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

View speaks for itself! Pricless! Excellent lunch! French onion soup, best ever had! Had chicken wrap, and turkey sandwich. Homemade warmed up apple pie tasted just like my grandma's! Oh, so good! Waiter Michael very professional & had a great smile!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Mackinac Tea Room also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Fort Mackinac Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Mackinac Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.