We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Cottage
Save
You added Pine Cottage to your Saves list
Bogan Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Mackinac Island B&B and Inns
Marquette, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stay on Mackinac Island at least once a year we try a new location every time and prefer bed and breakfasts! We thought this place was decent for the price we were looking for...the bed was a bit lumpy and squeaky and sharing a bathroom with others in the building was a bit awkward but it was a slow time and we didn’t see many people. It had a lot of charm!

My husband was a bit saddened at the “continental breakfast” it was pretty...”petite” for a hungry guy. Hard boiled eggs, toast and bagels...for me it was perfect...the porch was nice and the road the bed and breakfast was on was quiet and charming!

Room Tip: A top floor room is best for quietness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Good value and off the main street , so relatively quiet.
Room was clean. Breakfast was adequate.
Overall this was a fair price and I would stay again. I was not expecting the Grand Hotel so level of service was okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for our first time on Mackinac Island over the 4th of July. Other visits we always flew back to the mainland to stay. It was a delight to be on the island and this location was perfect for a walk or bike ride to the main dining and shopping locations. Our room was small but neat and clean. Our a/c went out but we got immediate service. The shared bath was nice on the third floor but the toilet was a bit too close to the sink. Felt like you might hit your head if you sat down on it. But never had any issues with waiting to use the bathroom or shower. Breakfast was great! The stollen was excellent. Nice choice of grafruit or yogurt parfaits which was an added surprise. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Our hats off to Piper....
Thought the value was great....you get what you pay for. If you want a pool, stay somewhere with a pool. If you want a five star hotel, stay there. Don't make this anymore than it is a clean, respectable B & B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Service not poor...nonexistent. Good luck trying to locate anyone ANY time of day. No housekeeping at all and bed blankets don't seem clean. Terrible continental bfas (i'm talking generic brand cereals in boxes put out on buffet, stale danish and hard boiled eggs). Uncleared tables filled with dirty dishes..no staff in sight entire 3 day stay. A/c and TV went out and can't find anyone to reset fuse. Beds uncomfortable and bathroom rediculously small. Broken miniblinds, no remote for an ient tv. And, don't forget to bring your own shampoo for the trickle of a shower.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The staff is very nice but the beds are unbelievable uncomfortable. The breakfast was beyond delicious but we struggled a bit to figure out how to get our bags sent to the ferry with labels in the morning. The location was just a block or so down so nice walking location. The price was cheaper but it was very hot and we were wishing for a place with a pool and our room overlooked one right next door. We would probably go somewhere else next time but we will miss the breakfast!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Off main street but still with view of water from porch. Robin and Paula were wonderful hosts. Robin makes all the bakery goods served each morning to guests. Rooms were small but nicely furnished. Baths were small but clean. Breakfast was wonderful. They serve tea and cookies from 6:00-9:00 each evening. Robin was very informative about the island and pointed out several things to see that were not in the brochure for the island.

Room Tip: All rooms are on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and i went to Mackinac island In September of this year. We stayed at the pine cottage. The porch is so inviting. My husband and i sat in the afternoon sun just relaxing in the rocking chairs and enjoying the scenery. The room was very charming and cozy, except the bed was not very comfortable at all! It leaned to one side. Although the bed wasn't comfortable, the room was clean. The breakfast was delicious and the coffee was great! The tables were set to perfection! The room rates were also affordable. I would give it another try and stay here again but i wouldn't stay in room # 9 simply because of the bed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room # 9 the bed leans to one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cottage

Address: Bogan Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affiliated with the Chateau Lorraine bed and breakfast located directly across the street (same owners). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Cottage Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.