We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metivier Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Metivier Inn to your Saves list
Metivier Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7466 Market St, P.O. Box 285, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Grand Rapids
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming place and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

The Metivier Inn is in a great location on Mackinac Island. It is just behind the main street, so you do not have to carry your bags far. The rooms are a comfortable size and the breakfast in the morning is wonderful! You will definitely be full from breakfast! If you are not sure where to stay on the island, give the Metivier a try.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    28
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
70
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

My husband and I booked a room for a wedding that was being held on the Island, and we are so happy we didn't stay at the wedding site. The Inn was very quiet, and low-key (granted we weren't there too much during the day due to the wedding). The room was very clean, and had everything that I could possibly want right there. I loved that there was a nightlight in the room, and the bed was like sleeping on a huge fluffy cloud. Normally I don't fall asleep on my back, but here I had no trouble- the instant I hit those fluffy pillows I was out! The heater was attached to the wall, and with the push of a button on the remote we had the perfect temperature, with a humidifier included to make sure we didn't get too dry. I also loved that it was a thirty second walk to the ferry docs, so carrying our own luggage wasn't a big deal (we didn't feel like waiting for it to arrive by porter). The breakfast in the morning was great- my husband thought it was so-so because he's more of a hashbrowns, sausage, omlette guy- but I was very happy with it. They had a crockpot full of warm oatmeal with apples and raisins in it that was so delicious (I wish I had someone to make that at home for me!) There was also an egg casserole, ham, different breads to toast, and fruit salad. The staff were also very friendly and accomidating. I would definately stay here again if I come back to the Island!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

My wife and i stayed here for 1 night and really liked that it was off the main street which made it a lot more relaxing and quiet and slower paced. very nice flowers and easy walk to main street. our room did not have much for old time charm for of a newer add on. HATED the shower and showerhead! My wife warned me after taking her shower first. I almost went down and requested to change rooms. My back was against the shower wall my arm was against the shower wall and my other arm was outside of the shower. The showerhead is very low and when i stood there and had it pointed all the way down it was still spraying water in my face. But the bed was awesome! Very nice mattress.

  • Liked — Very quiet street away from hustle and bustle I went to get away from.
  • Disliked — The refridgerator box sized showers.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We had a second floor suite with windows on two sides; very comfortable for three adults. We had a breeze through it. The a/c worked quietly and effectively as well. Since we were on the side/back it was very quiet. Only the noise of the blacksmith down the street working on horseshoes interrupted my mid-afternoon nap. The side porch outside our room was a great place to sit and read.

The manager and his wife are very helpful and friendly; they are one of the assets of this great B&B. Breakfast was good and the coffee especially great.

The Metivier was renovated and expanded in the 1980's. The bathrooms are a decent size, fairly modern and impeccably clean. The rooms are well decorated, in fact the attention to detail made them especially nice. The gardens are another strong asset as they are very beautiful and well kept.

There is a stable across Market street so at times one noticed the presence of the horses while sitting on the front porch. This really isn't much of a drawback since that is part of the Mackinac Island experience.

We will stay there next time we go to the island.

  • Liked — Neat B&B, great location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at the Metivier Inn on the nights of July 18 and 19, 2008. Our small third floor room (with a/c) was $200 plus each night before taxes, fees, etc. The Inn is a nice old victorian structure that has been thoroughly renovated, with lovely grounds. The husband-wife owner-operators are on-site and available to answer all your needs (at least the ones we had). The included breakfasts were wonderful. The Inn is conveniently located just one street up from the docks, yet was very quiet. I cannot recommend it more highly. We would definitely return on another visit to Mackinac Island.

  • Liked — Treated like home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stayed at the Metivier for one night during our Honeymoon. The rooms are small, but quaint and clean. The staff was very helpful and attentive to everything that we needed. Though the weather was terrible for mid-July (rainy and upper 50s, low 60s), the porch was great. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee, tea, and snaks that are provided throughout the day.
The Metivier is in a great location. Just a block from downtown, but away from busy Huron Street. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, cleanliness, breakfast
  • Disliked — The Weather!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

We had an absolutely fabulous time. We booked the Metivier for our honeymoon. They upgraded us to the Jacuzzi room which was fantastic after a day of biking around the island. The staff were delightful to deal with. Waking to the smell of coffee and breakfast was awesome. We adored being able to drink our bottle of wine on their quaint porch with the other "tenants" and get to know each other. I would highly recommend this B&B to others.

  • Liked — The atmosphere was quaint and hospitable.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metivier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metivier Inn

Address: 7466 Market St, P.O. Box 285, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metivier Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metivier Inn, conveniently located on historic Market Street on Mackinac Island, Michigan, was built by Louis Metivier as a private residence in 1877. Shortly after its 100th anniversary, the current owner remodeled the inn keeping the original French and English influence. Metivier Inn offers 22 charming guest rooms for your stay, each including air conditioning and private baths, flat screen T.V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Metivier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metivier Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.