We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metivier Inn

Save Saved
You added Metivier Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metivier Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7466 Market St, P.O. Box 285, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Westmont, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this in. In the heart of Mackinac Island the inn is perfectly situated on the quieter of the two main streets in town. The grounds were gorgeous with flowers everywhere. Service was excellent, the front porch was a special place to watch the horse drawn "taxis" and deliveries. The rooms are a bit small but very nicely appointed and we'd stay here again in a heart beat. When we were ready to leave, they took our luggage to the ferry and off we went. Great place to relax and we did!

Room Tip: The bed in our room was a double. Ask for a larger bed if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    21
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
55
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We made reservations for the middle of June and had to change our dates as my husband had broken 3 toes two days before our trip. When we called to cancel and reschedule Blanca who is one of the managers stated that we should call back to reschedule and she would email us a confirmation that we could not make it in June. We never received the email. When we called back to reschedule we again spoke with Blanca who stated that we would have to pay an additonal fee. I stated that there was nothing in writing nor were we told that we would be charged an additonal fee and she promptly dropped this issue. She said that she had August 20th and the 21st available and we agreed. We arrived on the 20th around 1 p.m. and upon check in the gentleman who helped us said that we weren't on his list. After some searching he found that the reservation had been made for the 21st and 22nd of August. We were relieved that he was able to still accomadate us. He did carry our bags to our romm which was #7. I was
in shock when we opened the door as the room was so small that one had just enough room to
get around the bed. The bathroom shower was like a cheap camping trailer as it to was so small you could not turn around in it. The tv was so fuzzy that we didn't bother trying to watch it.
The only saving grace was the Breakfast on the 21st and the room was clean.
We paid $433.84 for the smallest room in the house. We will not be staying at the Metiver B&B again and would reccomend that the owners find another other than Blanca to assist people. Her people skills stink!

Room Tip: Ask for a decent size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Manager at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are very concerned about our guests experience at our Inn, and we wish we were given the opportunity to assist our guest with the problems that they experienced.
We were happy to change the dates of your stay from a June date to the date in August and we believed that you received the e-mails sent on June 9, 2013, June 16, 2013, July 22nd and August 20th and we kept the rate that was quoted for your stay starting August 21st. When you checked in you gave to our staff a copy of the confirmation that stated your arrival date on the 21st, seeing that the reservation started on the 21st and not the 20th you should have contacted us about the day that you wanted to arrive. Thankfully by chance there was a room available for your early arrival on the 20th.
We wish that you would have said something about your disappointment with your room we would have been able to move you to a room that would meet your approval.
At the time you made your reservation we require a 75% deposit and the remaining 25% was to be paid at the time of check-in. As we reviewed our records the amount that you paid as a deposit and the remaining due had never changed from the original reservation made in June.
Our guest satisfaction is of great concern to us and we regret that your stay was not totally enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay at the Metivier Inn was a treat. We walked up from the ferry to a huge splash of color from their gorgeous gardens. The personnel at the desk were very friendly and helped with any questions we had about our stay in the area. The room was a sufficient size considering it is in a B & B. The breakfasts were more than continental with hot foods and several selections to start our day with a nice well rounded meal.

Room Tip: This inn is a block back from the main street, so it was very nice to be out of the middle of the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A very nice place to stay. Very convenient and a good 'price performer' compared to other places nearby. Staff was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating.
Breakfast was more that adequate and there were plenty of choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Once again we went to Mackinac Island for a biking/relaxing getaway (third time). The Metivier Inn is the perfect place for this. Well situated the Inn is spectacular, the rooms are pristine, the veranda is the perfect place to see the horses and carriages go buy. The gardens are a show piece and make for many beautiful pictures. The hosts David and Blanca are there to make your stay a fabulous one and they do this with a quiet grace that is wonderful. We were there late in August 2013 and enjoyed perfect weather, great breakfasts, the company of like minded people from all over the USA and Canada. Restaurants within walking distance, the clip clop of horses,,great biking, all made for a thoroughly enjoyable vacation! When it came time to leave we didn't want to go. Great Job David and Blanca. D&G Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here last weekend with our 1 month old baby. The staff was excellent and even offered to provide a crib for our child! The location is only one block off main street which plenty close to walk and far enough away from too much noise. The whole time we were there people stopped as they walked and took pictures of the gardens which are the finest on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you are going to make the trip to Mackinac Island Metivier is the place to stay. They have all of the comforts of a hotel plus the personality of a bed and breakfast. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotless. I travel a lot for work and I really appreciated the service the managers at the Metivier provide. The breakfast is much more than a continental and really fills you up until lunch. Mackinac is magical and the Metivier adds to the magic. Or and the beautiful gardens how could I forget?

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side porch or the main porch so you can look at the beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metivier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metivier Inn

Address: 7466 Market St, P.O. Box 285, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metivier Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metivier Inn, conveniently located on historic Market Street on Mackinac Island, Michigan, was built by Louis Metivier as a private residence in 1877. Shortly after its 100th anniversary, the current owner remodeled the inn keeping the original French and English influence. Metivier Inn offers 22 charming guest rooms for your stay, each including air conditioning and private baths, flat screen T.V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Metivier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metivier Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.