We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haan's 1830 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haan's 1830 Inn
Save
You added Haan's 1830 Inn to your Saves list
6806 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

I really can't say much bad about this B&B. We traveled with another couple and stayed in the Beaumont room which has doors separating the two sleeping areas. Room was very spacious, had a lot of dressers and closet room, and had a private entrance from the outside of the building. Bathroom was clean and the shower was very nice.

Breakfast was exceptional! Nothing like fresh baked muffins and coffee cake to go with their selection of coffee, tea and juices. The atmosphere of the dining area was cozy, and it was nice to chat with the other guests.

The innkeepers were very friendly and welcoming. Wifi service worked great, even in the guest room. About the only negative thing I could say is that I wish the matress was a little more comfortable.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My wife and I were meeting her family on our first trip to Mackinac. Knowing we were leaving a day earlier, we chose to get there a day prior to the rest of the family. We took the ferry over and went to Haans. As soon as we got to Haans we knew we needed to change our baby daughter. When we picked up her bag, we realized it had fallen in the water and everything inside was completely soaked. The hosts told us not to worry, they would help us out and offered to wash and dry her clothes for us. We understand they didn't have to do this, but they offered to do it out of the goodness of their hearts. This helped set the tone for a wonderful vacation on the island. I would recommend Haans 1830 to anyone who wants to relax and have a wonderful trip on the island.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This was my second time staying at Hann's. This time we reserved 3 rooms. (Govenor Cass, William Beaumont and William Preston). I can't say enough good things about this place. The rooms are large!! You can spread out with your kids which is rare in a B & B. The price is excellent for the Island. The William Preston Suite has a full kitchen which is great! The Preston and Cass suite connect with french doors which my daughter loved - she could run back and forth between our room and the grandparents. I like that the Cass and Beaumont suite have seperate rooms for the kids(again french doors seperate). The hosts are super nice and the man sat and chated with us each morning over breakfast. I love the fact that this Inn is on the outskirt of the bustling town area. The porch is nice to relax on in the evenings. We will definitly be back again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed there one night with a great hostess and host for morning conversation at breakfast! Clean and well worth the money!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Can't add much more than the others have written. Mackinac Island can be a very expensive place and after a lengthy internet searh we chose Haan's for the price and location. We weren't disappointed. The host family was nice, the rooms cozy and fun. Breakfast was basic but that's OK after all the fudge you're going to eat. It's on a quieter part of Main Street so the noise level was good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Chicago Suburbs, IL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at Haans with our boys ages 9 and 11 in the Governor Cass suite. The suite was lovely, clean and spacious. The pictures on their website are very accurate. There was ample lighting, a window a/c unit in each room, plus a ceiling fan. The boys had a room to themselves and each had a twin bed - a rarity. We usually end up with two doubles or a king and a sleeper sofa, so they really enjoyed having space. Mike and Barb were wonderful hosts. Mike covered our bike seats for us before it rained on our first night there as we were getting settled in. Breakfast was served at a long table in the dining room - the Inn was full when we were there but there was plenty of food. Barb made several homemade treats - banana bread, muffins, etc which were all delicious. One afternoon we got back from our long trek to Arch Rock and back and they offerred us some leftover goodies from breakfast. They were always ready with restaurant recommendations or suggestions for biking. Breakfast is served from 8:30 to 9:30 each morning but when we had to leave earlier to catch the first ferry off the island, they gave us some cereal and treats to go as well as arranging for the dock manager to come down for our bags. We left feeling like friends.
A few things to note - no TV, phone, or hairdryer in the rooms... not an issue for us. We also brought coolers and they were very accomodating allowing us some freezer space to keep our ice packs chilled.
All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We spent a week at Haan's on our first trip to the island and fell in love with Mackinac. The hosts/owners have changed since we stayed there but we found it to be a lovely home with comfortable rooms. A large table for breakfast and guests to share their experiences. We enjoyed the porches and the sound of the horses going by. Haan's is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but still close enough for a nice walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haan's 1830 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haan's 1830 Inn

Address: 6806 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haan's 1830 Inn is your Mackinac Island bed and breakfast home. The stately Greek Revival house--built on the foundations of an American Revolution era trader cabin--served as the private residence of Colonel Preston, a Fort Mackinac officer and first mayor of the island. The Inn has been completely restored and now operates as a Mackinac Island B&B to share the grace of history, the warmth of family, and the wonders of Mackinac Island weather. The guestrooms are freshly decorated and furnished with period antiques and quality mattresses. Your host, Nick Haan, invites you to be at home, relax on the wicker-furnished porches, and listen to the cadence of horses as carriage tours pass by on Huron Street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haan`s 1830 Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haan's 1830 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.