We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, quiet, and a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Market Street, PO Box 1540, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Astoria, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint, quiet, and a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

After my wife told me how much she loved Mackinac Island, I decided to plan a trip in August 2012 for just the two of us, as somewhat of a "last hurrah" before our twins were born in October. She had always stayed at Island House, but we decided to give Cloghaun a try after reading the amazing reviews here on TripAdvisor. It was as advertised! Friendly hospitality, close to the action yet far enough away to be a quiet spot, and just a block away from the main downtown area. We would certainly go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
75
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the 5th place I've stayed on the island (3rd B&B) and I would definitely come back. The rooms were small, but very comfortable and clean. The location was excellent, right near the action but away from the noise of the downtown bars. The porch was lovely and large. There was always room for us to sit out there and the hosts (and guests) were all very friendly. I was worried when I arrived because my room was at the top of the stairs and many guests would pass by. However, we didn't hear one person walk by. I love Mackinac Island and I don't think I'd stay anywhere else from now on. The price is right, the food is good (the breakfast has more to choose from than at other places I've stayed except for the Grand Hotel) and the location is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I just got back from Mackinac Island in Michigan. We spend 3 nights there. We stayed at theCloghaun B & B. The staff is very friendly and it is in a perfect location. I would definately recommend this place. It is a little different then other B & B's that we have stayed at as far as the breakfast goes. Don't expect a full breakfast that gets served to you. The breakfast is more like a continental breakfast. They do offer tea in the afternoon with some type of baked goody from 3:00 until 5:00 p.m. We did not get to enjoy the goodies because we were always out exploring the island during that time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #1 which had a balcony. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Arrived to a cheery smile and a clean, nice room, the common rooms are comfortable and the tea in the afternoon, a nice touch. Breakfast was okay, but a buffet and not anything special, not a-lot of variety. Hard boiled eggs, and oatmeal in an envelope, quiche, and a breakfast bread. Tea should be available all day long not just at 3-5. Beds were comfortable but would have loved a pillow top. Porch is the best with soft cushions, lots of space and a great view. Housekeeper from Jamaica is a keeper, so sweet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami fl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely, magical inn. The staff was friendly, rooms clean, breakfast was good and the tea was a wonderful afternoon pick-me-up. The porch is a great place to sit and watch the world go by. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very friendly staff, the innkeepers and Clover, the housekeeper, were extremely nice and helpful. The garden area and porch was a nice place to relax and people watch. The deluxe continental breakfast included delicious egg bakes. The afternoon tea was a nice way to relax before heading out to dinner. I would definitely recommend this place, however the room I had did not have air-conditioning, ceiling fans and window fans so the room was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Really great place. The feeling of an old historical place that it is, but with all the modern comforts. The innkeepers Marty and her son Paul were great hosts. Excellent location in the city. Definitely the place to stay on the Island.

Room Tip: The first floor room off the library was a perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast

Address: Market Street, PO Box 1540, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Cloghaun b&b
Cloghaun Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.