We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Grand Buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet

The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet
286 Grand Avenue, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
(906) 847-3331
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Buffet
Mackinaw City, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's a Grand Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It doesn't get better than this. The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet is first class offering a huge assortment of delicious well-prepared food to please us all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    66
    39
    30
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ultimate choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This buffet is great. If you aren't staying at the Grand, plan to eat at this lunch. You can use your "entrance fee" to the Grand toward this lunch. Eat late and you won't need dinner.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T-town, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely buffet from someone who is not a fan of buffets.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

While it was not one of the best restaurants, it was one of the best buffets I've dined at. The ambience, service and overall experience makes it worth at least a one time experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the Experience -- arrive early!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

While touring The Grand Hotel, we wanted to experience some of their food. In a choice between the Afternoon Tea or Lunch Buffet, there is only a $5 difference.........so the Lunch Buffet it was! (BTW, the Afternoon Tea looked to be held in a main Lobby of The Hotel, so it's not exactly intimate or private.) We were in line at 11:40am, and they opened the dining room promptly at Noon. We were stoked to get window seats and a table for just the two of us. The food was fancier than a country buffet, but I'm sure it wasn't as fancy as the fare you'd get for breakfast or dinner. That being said, it was an experience I do NOT regret. The service was wonderful - our Waiter was quite attentive. He also not only volunteered to take our picture, but he tried to tweak the lighting and our poses to get a fantastic pic. Yes, the dining room was likely 98% tourists, but that's just what it is at that time of day. Overall, it's an experience you should try, if your budget allows. It was a nice surprise that the tip and tea/coffee were included in the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just a basic smorgasbord with ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

... a few nice touches thrown in, shrimp, oysters, smoked whitefish, etc. The setting and the service make it special, but for the most part there's nothing really special on the buffet line. Plus, it's crowded with tourists. Opt for The Jockey Club just across the street for lunch, or The Woods (both are owned by the hotel) for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.