We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable atmosphere, otherwise average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mustang Lounge

Mustang Lounge
1485 Astor St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
906-847-9916
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Pizza, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Mustang Lounge! Mackinac's original year 'round restaurant. We are located on Astor Street in the heart of downtown Mackinac. Come see us for a burger and beer, pizza with the family or enjoy our nightly entertainment. Family appropriate with gread food and prices. "Hang at The Stang"
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable atmosphere, otherwise average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here later in the day to watch a game & thought we'd get an appetizer. They didn't have anything we wanted so we split Angus slider meal. They were good but over priced. Usually had to wave to our server to get her attention. There are better places on the island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    49
    30
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Another bad meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I wrote a bad review last year about the Mustang Lounge but thought I would give it another shot. Well I am sorry to say the place has gotten better. This time the service was good but the food was horrible. Canned tomato soup, processed chicken on the salad my wife ordered. For a $28.00 meal the restaurants cost could have not been $5.00. I never worry about the price of food but a terrible meal with cheap ingredients is what you are going to get at the Mustang Lounge.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMack12, Owner at Mustang Lounge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I'm sorry you feel that way about your meal. Sounds like you didn't give it much of a chance to begin with. Our soups are homemade, our chicken breast for our salads is 100% white meat chicken. And if our food cost was what you dream it to be, I'd be able to retire. Thank you to all of our great customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, MI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This bar/restaurant reminds me of my favorite dive bar. Nothing fancy, just good drinks and solid food. After splurging earlier in the day for the lunch buffet at the Grand Hotel, we were ready for something laid back and the Mustang Lounge fit the bill perfectly. They've got a great jukebox, the staff was friendly and the food was solid.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Becoming other than the local hangout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. The food is for the most part average bar food. This year's menu lists the house Chardonnay at $12 a glass! It seems overpriced for neighborhood bar quality wine at a local hangout.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMack12, Owner at Mustang Lounge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Sorry you feel that way about our menu. I haven't been to many "bars" that have Parmesan crusted whitefish, Jumbo shrimp caesar salads and homemade spinach and artichoke dip. We happen to have those items, and they are outstanding. Also, our house Chardonnay is $7per glass. You were looking at the napa valley Chardonnay on our menu that is $12 a glass. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Popped in for a frosty adult beverage and a snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fried clams were pretty good. Sports on the tvs. Bartenders very nice, made us feel welcome. They have a pool table but we didn't play.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustang Lounge also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mustang Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mustang Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.