We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, only food service reduced score!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crown Hotel to your Saves list
Crown Hotel
Worcester Road, Wychbold WR9 7 PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wychbold
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great value, only food service reduced score!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here before in Nov 2010 and really enjoyed it. Returned with parents for a weekend break. Rooms still well presented, clean, good decor, love the extra touch with the bottle of water. Check in simple and friendly. 20% residents discount on food makes already decent prices really good value. Waitress on first night was charming - displayed a good knowledge of the menu, friendly and attentive and all the food was served hot and was delicious. Second night waitress almost disinterested. Food still hot but not as good as first night AND although our free drink from a voucher was eventually knocked off the bill, when the change arrived she had still charged us for it!! Couldn't be bothered to wait and argue but bang went the tip!! This wouldn't put me off a return visit - still a great value hotel, decent food and great location. Would still recommend

Room Tip: You can hear the motorway at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
72
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Crown is a busy pub, restaurant and hotel situated on the A38. - very convenient. It is an old building but it is well-maintained and regularly updated. The gardens have been recently re-designed and are very good.
The staff are particularly friendly and cheerful, working well together as a team. They are always willing to help and to give time to talk to guests.
The accomodation is fine - comfortable and well-equipped.
The restaurant has a huge range of dishes at a good price. Breakfast is excellent.
The Crown offers superb value for money - better than anywhere else!! We would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Over time, we have tried most of the upstairs rooms. Each has some advantage - balcony rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days whilst working at the NEC. Room was clean, bed comfortable. No complaints.
Staff were fantastic and made our stay really good, nothing too much trouble. Ate in restaurant 3 nights as the value was unbeatable (you get 20% off all food as a resident).
V close to M5 - recommended

Room Tip: Room 1 is the only room without a bath. Room 11 has only velux roof windows no side windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August instead of staying at Chateau Impney (where I've stayed before and won't again). Room was very clean, clean bathroom, blackout curtains. Reasonably good shower, free wifi. Food there is usual pub/harvester style, I.e.not bad but not great. Good 241 deal though, reasonable range of beers.

So, that'd the good stuff out of the way.

Bad stuff mostly concerns the bed and the sleep quality. Bed is a double, not a king, and hence tiny. Also a bit lumpy and suffering slightly from roll-together syndrome. Worse is that the door on our room - room 3 - was literally an inch short of the carpet (I kid you not) and hence let in a lot of light and noise. I threw two pillows down at stupid o'clock to block out the light it was that bad. The noise was on a level comparable with travelodge etc - you could hear people upstairs moving, bit of noise through the walls etc. nothing more than you'd expect really.

I would stay again I suppose - for the money it is hard to beat - but I wouldn't rush back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed there on friday 10th August, pleased with room spacious and clean with all the usual touches. comfortable bed and fairly quiet even though close to the air conditioning unit.
Served reasonable draught beers and food.
We booked the room a while at a bargain price and got a lot more for our money than we anticipated.
The breakfast was included and again was fairly substantial and reasonable quality.
A good place to rest your head.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

On arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly. Didn't mind us checking in early. We returned for the evening meal which was 241 with a good choice on the menu. The level of staffing was excellent, table service. Room clean and tidy. Perefect for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed for one night on a £29 deal & were very happy with our time at the crown
The room was clean & modern, nice opening window, fairly decent bed, flat screen tv and good sized, plump pillows. The shower could be better but that's a minor gripe. The food is chain style but with a good selection and good value deals are available. The hotel/pub is roomy with a decent garden out back. There is some motorway/A38 noise so take earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The breakfast is fair for the price and the staff are friendly and generally helpful, making the crown a pleasant place to spend a night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: Worcester Road, Wychbold WR9 7 PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Wychbold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wychbold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Droitwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.