We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and what you would expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Worcester Road, Wychbold WR9 7PA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wychbold
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very convenient and what you would expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very convenient to M5 highway - coming from the north, as soon as you get off the highway, it is the first left at the roundabout and just 200 yards on left, next to McDonald's (which is open 24 hours a day).

The hotel was fine, the staff very nice. Standard breakfast you would expect. Couldn't complain about anything. It was interesting that it had its own pub, which was popular! Enjoyed my one night there. I do agree with a previous reviewer that they don't give you any information on the free wifi. I tried logging in and was given three choices = all fee-based. I went down to reception and they explained how to log on for free. Just a minor annoyance, but they could have solved it if they had a little. flyer to hand out at check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivaB_13, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Jay K

I would like to thank you for taking your time to write this review. Your feedback is very important to us and I am pleased to read that hotel location was ideal for your travel.
Just wanted to clarify that we do not own the pub next door - its separate business of its own chain of branded restaurants. However being so close to the hotel we do like to recommend each others facilities to our customers.
I also would like to apologise that you did not receive Free Wifi code at the check in nor was explained how to use it. We aim to provide all the necessary information on the check in to ensure you have a great stay and I am sorry this has not been delivered. I will ensure my team is aware of your comments and we continue to provide Free Wifi codes and explanation on how to use it at the check in to every guest.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely
Daiva
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    101
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
51
109
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

First time for me staying in a holiday inn express. The hotel was very clean and tidy and he staff were very welcoming and helpful but the hotel does lack a lot of atmosphere. However as a staging post it ticks all the boxes.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivaB_13, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Salmo01

Thank you so much for choosing Holiday inn Express Droitwich M5 J5 for your first stay at our brand hotels. I am pleased to read that you found hotel very clean and tidy and staff were very welcoming and helpful. This is very encouraging, thank you.

Your feedback is taken on board as we continue to improve and I really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Daiva
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I normally rate Holiday Inns quite highly - clean, excellent service, a good night's sleep. I so wish I could rate this one as it's so conveniently sited just off the M5 junction but it was beset with irritating little problems that spoiled our stay. The room was immaculately clean as I would expect, but there was no soap/shower gel in either the sink or the shower dispensers - both were totally empty. The duvets on the twin beds were both double duvets which meant they were really, really heavy for single bed and slid off to one side or the other when I turned over in the night. I hardly slept as every time I moved, I had to haul the duvet back onto the bed. Now that Holiday Inns have finally decided to make WIFI free, they didn't give us the code automatically when we checked in which is immensely irritating when you find you want to use the internet and need to make a trip to reception for a voucher. Why oh why can't they just give you a code when you check in, or leave it in the room? My final grouse about this hotel concerns breakfast. It was the usual adequate continental-style, included in the room price so nothing to complain about. BUT they ask you to clear the table after you. No problem. There's a trolley with slots for trays so guests can put their dirty crockery there. However as most people didn't use a tray there were just two trays in the trolley and everyone was piling their dirty crockery onto them until it was in danger of sliding onto the floor. No problem with this - except when a WAITRESS came along and piled yet more crockery onto these two overloaded trays, rather than getting more trays for the trolley. We were sitting right next to the trolley, and after watching this, I went and got some a couple more trays myself and slotted them into the trolley, rather than wait for the crockery to crash to the floor. This is a nice hotel with a serious lack of staff training in my opinion. We'll use it again as it's convenient for an overnight stop on a regular 6-monthly trip we make, but I seriously hope things have improved next time we stay. I should say though that Reception staff were excellent, friendly and efficient (except at handing out wifi voucher/code).

Room Tip: We were on the 'motorway' side of the hotel and didn't hear anything. Excellent soundpro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivaB_13, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear linden-s

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review.
Your feedback is very important to us as we continue to improve. I was very pleased to read your room was clean and location of the hotel suited your needs. However, I was very disappointed that there were no shower gel nor soap in the bathroom - we do check rooms on a daily basis to ensure high standards and I'm really sorry this has been overlooked.
In regards to breakfast service - I was very disappointed to read your comments about the trays and cutlery - this has now been addressed to the team and rest assured that this wont' happen again. As you can see from the other reviews - we are very proud of our hotel and our aim is to provide genuine, excellent customer service at all the times.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely
Daiva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a stop off before Alton Towers, good value as inc breakfast. Local "resturants" are McD's and harvester. Staff friendly. Ice machine in reception and xtra tea facilities for the room. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivaB_13, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Kate W

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday inn Express Droitwich M5 J5 and taking your time to write this review. Your comments are really important to us we continue to improve our products and services. We all hope you had a lovely day at Alton Towers and look forward to welcome you back at the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Daiva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated by the main roads in the area and is excellent value for money. All of the members of staff we met were very helpful, efficient and willing to do their best.
The modern hotel was very well decorated and spotlessly clean and tidy. Our double room was spacious, comfortable, nicely decorated, well equipped everything seemed to have been thought about carefully - just what we wanted. The bathroom was again well planned and was very clean.
The self service breakfast was well up to expectations.
We were part of a large party (59 people) and we had booked served an evening meal for our arrival but because of traffic problems we were more than one hour late.Having telephoned to say we would be late they held the meal back for us and served it on our arrival with no problems at all, this was truly appreciated, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked this for a stop over on our way to Devon to break the journey.
Nice clean room wuite spacious allowed dogs, air conditioning in the rooms which was a plus, Breakfast was fab loads to eat and staff kept it coming. The bar was nice with lovely friendly staff. Would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room as all large and spacious, clean and comforatble
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A late stopover booking due to atrocious weather and a very pleasant surprise. The hotel was ony 1/2 a mile off the M5 and adjacent to a choice of restaurants. Our room was very bright, clean and comfortable and complimentary continental breakfast (including scrambled eggs and sausages) and newspapers included in the price which was very good value. The staff were very welcoming and helpful in directing us to the nearest "good deal" petrol station before returning to M5. We would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5

Address: Worcester Road, Wychbold WR9 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Wychbold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wychbold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express Droitwich offers a comfortable night’s sleep in the West Midlands. You’ll be welcomed by our friendly team in our refurbished lobby and lounge, where you can take advantage of free WiFi, grab a drink or dinner, shoot some pool or enjoy your free breakfast in the morning. Our modern guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and all feature free Wi-Fi, a 32-inch flatscreen TV and air conditioning. All of our room prices also include free Express Start breakfast buffet which includes a continental-style selection, and hot sausages, baked beans and scrambled eggs. Our Droitwich hotel is located just off the M5 motorway, 6 miles from Worcester and 35 minutes' drive from central Birmingham. Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct.5 is handy for the M40 and M42 with easy access to Birmingham, Worcester and local businesses. Our hotel is just 25 minutes' drive from Birmingham Airport, and we have plenty of complimentary parking. It's a 6-mile drive on the M5 to Worcester, where you'll find Warndon Business Park. Holiday Inn Express Droitwich is only 7.5 miles away from the Sixways Stadium , home to Worcester Warriors rugby club, and within 15 minutes of weddings and functions at Grafton Manor and Curradine Barns. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich Hotel Droitwich
Holiday Inn Droitwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.