We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, i'd stay there again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ludington Pier House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ludington Pier House to your Saves list
Ludington Pier House
805 W. Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ludington
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice place, i'd stay there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great location, close to the city beach, easy walk to downtown, reasonable rates, very clean. indoor pool and hot tub was very clean and nice also. we made last minute reservations and the staff was courteous and accommodating. we stayed in the guest house and you could hear some noise from the other rooms above and next door, but the same can be said at expensive B&B's also.

Room Tip: if a second floor room is available in the quest house, id try that
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    38
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
68
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at the Pier house for one night passing through Ludington to take the Ferry. The room was sizable and had enough beds for my family of 5. The room was clean and had extra pillows, 2 luggage racks and extra towels. The indoor pool was nice and a perfect temperature and very clean. The person that took my reservation was pleasant and helpful. The lady at the front desk on check in was friendly and we were also able to check in 2 hours early which was nice after such a long drive. The hotel is close to everything, the beach, state park, downtown just a great location. We did have a couple issues during our stay with the plumbing. The toilet overflowed and then the shower/tub backed up and had a slow drain during use. The problems were taken care of by staff quickly. Our room was not dark and facing the main street so we got noise from people walking by and laughing late at night (no fault of the hotel but something to consider if you stay on the mail floor facing the main street). The shades are not black out and our room had a door with a window with a mini blind so we had some light in the room. If you prefer a dark room to sleep it may be something to mention. We would stay again and enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on main floor facing street can be noisy. Our room did not have darkening shades that could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludingtonpierhouse, Manager at Ludington Pier House, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Ludington Pier House. I am sorry that you experienced issues with the toilet in your room, but thank you for promptly bringing these issues to our attention. I'm glad our staff was able to take care of it for you in a timely manner. We appreciate your suggestions regarding darker curtains for the room and we have passed them along to the owner.

We hope to welcome you back to our property in the future!

Rachel
Manager, Ludington Pier House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Room 216 was a really nice large room with 4 windows. It was two queen beds. I highly suggest this room as it was much bigger than the one bed queen room that my parents stayed in. The beds were fine. I am used to a much softer bed, but falling asleep wasn't a problem. I have really bad allergies to dust and mold, but was able to breathe comfortably. Its location is prime and the indoor pool is convenient. I wish the pool hours were later 10 PM just seems too early.

Room Tip: room 216 is I am guessing the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband, 17 month old daughter and I stayed at the Pierhouse in a recent weekend trip to Ludington. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was easy, you have actual metal keys for your room. We stayed in the east building which was clean and looked recently updated. Our room viewed the roof of the pool house. It was not an ideal room for a stay with a toddler. Not enough room to run and play, but it would have been perfect had if bee just my husband and I. The location was awesome! A very short walk to the beach, restaurants (House of Flavors for ice cream), marina and playground. The indoor pool was clean, but chilly. We would stay in the west building next time with a view of the lake and outdoor chairs.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Perfect location...within walking distance of everything! This is a beachy motel with average rooms but absolutely SPOTLESS. The staff is super friendly. We can't wait to go back next year family friendly but perfect for couples too

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludingtonpierhouse, Manager at Ludington Pier House, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again!

Rachel
Manager, Ludington Pier House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We accidentally came down a day earlier than when we booked. The woman at the desk was SO helpful in finding us another hotel for the night. When we did check in the next day the room was nice. Not real fancy or updated but very clean. The staff was very friendly. Our 3 kids enjoyed the pool. If you want to stay in the heart of it all, this is the place to be!! Located about a block from the beach and within walking distance from shopping and restaurants. I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and would have stayed longer but too cold. The location is excellent as it is easy walk to beach and short ride to restaurants. The hotel is older but clean and quiet. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. If you like beaches and recreation you should stay here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ludington Pier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington Pier House

Address: 805 W. Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ludington
#4 Family Hotel in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ludington Pier House is a great seasonal place to stay! Location, location! We are just across from the beach with white sand and gorgeous sunsets! Playgrounds, marinas and the lighthouse all near by. Walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. Great place for groups, holidays and events! Watch the 4th of July Fireworks from our yard! *We offer the only hotel with a HEATED INDOOR POOL and HOT TUB* with outdoor sun deck in the downtown, city beach area of Ludington! Clean, comfortable rooms, in a variety of sizes and amenities. Free Wi-Fi for our guests. We also offer a buy one get one free breakfast coupon to our guests for each two night stay. Make sure to check our online pictures and specials throughout our season, including the " Giveaway" Coupon found in our online advertising.* In case this affects your travel plans: We have reduced pool hours, 9am-9pm before June 15th and after Labor Day with our pool closing the first of October. Let our friendly and helpful staff assist you on your next stay in Ludington. Reservations taken January through October or email any time! We look forward to your stay. We do recommend advance reservations for holidays, events and most weekends between mid June and Labor Day. ~ Ludington Pier House is the proud recipient of the TripAdvisor's " Certificate of Excellence" 2011/2012 ~ Thank you, to all of our guests who recognized our efforts to provide you a great service. Caring about your guests does make a difference. Thank you again. NOTE: We are in NO WAY affiliated with Miller's Lakeside Inn of Ludington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ludington Pier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludington Pier House Hotel Ludington
Ludington Pier Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ludington Pier House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.