We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly and amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
709 East Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Ludington B&B and Inns
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Wow. A large group of my boyfriend's cousins were gathering in Ludington and this B&B was perfect. A couple dogs were coming along, and this inn was so accommodating. Rooms were comfortable. But biggest plus was breakfast. Melanie out does herself every morning with a plethora of savory, sweet and fresh options. Casseroles, quiches, fresh fruit, sausage, etc. etc. etc. You will never need lunch while staying here!! Several cousins also brought along small children/infants and cribs and bedding were made available. Also, snacks and late night desserts await you in the evening! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We return to the Candlelight Inn each year looking forward to the hospitality, cozy rooms, very comfortable beds, incredible food and, frankly, to be treated exceptionally well. We bring our bikes and plan for a day trip to the state park. Every time before we leave on our trek, Melanie encourages us to take chilled water bottles and snacks for our ride. They think of everything and often have thoughtful surprises waiting at the end of the day such as chocolate covered strawberries, my personal favorite. If you feel like laying low and watching a movie at night in your room, you'll be pleasantly surprised by the selection of popcorn. If you book a trip, be sure to let Melanie and her staff know if you're celebrating a special occasion. It will be a memorable one!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you like a variety of homemade breakfast dishes, then look no further. Melanie and her staff provide 4-5 dishes each morning such as french toast, coffee cake, blueberry baked dish with a crust on top, egg-sausage quiche, along with some lighter fare such as granola with fresh blueberries and yogurt. Different types of juices, fruit, coffee, sausage & bacon. Oh, and we've never stayed there where there wasn't additional baked treats throughout the day (but we've only stayed during the busy summer season). A bed and breakfast that accepts dogs was our initial draw but Melanie just makes us feel so welcome that we can't wait to return. They have two rooms in the back that allow dogs with outside entrances so they won't bother other guests. Rooms are comfortable and fairly priced and the Inn is about a 1/2 mile walk to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast on November 2. The owner, Melanie, was gracious and accommodating and immediately made us feel welcome. The home is beautiful and our room (we had the luxury jacuzzi suite) was comfortable and well-stocked with everything we needed. The breakfast was delicious, and sitting down to a candle-lit breakfast in a formal dining room was a real treat and a wonderful way to start our day. We look forward to returning to this lovely B&B!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We thought this kind of B&B hospitality only existed outside of the U.S.
The warmth and thoughtful service was evident in every aspect: well appointed rooms and family amenities; succulent, homemade food delights; and detailed attention to the needs and wants of their guests.
Candlelite is one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westphalia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Like the other review above. They put the B in the breakfast. Simply the best food & persons. They treat to a great experience in staying at their Inn. Trust me these are very
Hard working people.
Bill & Joanie from Westphalia.!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Melanie and Tony are always extremely accommodating! We stay there once a year when we travel to Ludington, MI and often times we bring our two dogs. They are wonderfully kind and provide treats, dishes, toys, and dog beds! Breakfast is filling and diverse. Last time we had greek yogurt, fresh blueberries, and wonderful organic granola. (a personal favorite) On top of that they had baked french toast, an egg dish, and a breakfast sweet. ALL homemade!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 709 East Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ludington
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.