We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Viking Arms Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Arms Inn

Save Saved
You added Viking Arms Inn to your Saves list
Viking Arms Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Viking Arms Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   930 East Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Ludington
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We love the Viking Arms Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Viking Arms Inn is our favorite place to stay in Ludington. We try to return at least once each summer and are never disappointed. Rates are reasonable, the pool/hot tub is wonderful and the owner is a great guy. Rooms are clean and well kept. Downtown Ludington is a 2-3 minute drive, where parking is plentiful. The state park beach is a 10 minute drive and home to pristine beaches and dunes.
We typically stay in "hotels" in large cities and are so pleased with the small "motel" atmosphere of the Viking Arms with it's friendly owner and beach town feel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
19
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights on a motorcycle trip from Houston, TX. We had booked a room with 2 doubles but when the owner saw that there were 3 of us he upgraded the reservation to the room with 3 beds , no charge.
The motel was not busy and the pool and the hot tub hit the spot.
Rooms were clean and well kept.
A great "Mom and Pop motel"

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

While vacationing at Lake Hamlin, my husband had an accident and broke his leg. He was taken to Memorial Medical Center in Ludington which is across the street from Vikings Arms Inn. I had to get a motel for the four days he was hospitalized. Since I had never stayed in a motel by myself before, I was a little nervous, scared and uncomfortable. From the moment I stepped into the office for the first time until I left four days later, I was always treated so kindly and felt very comfortable and safe. I had no idea how many nights I would need to stay, so each day I would check in and tell them I'd be saying another night. The owners were always so pleasant and very caring, as they always asked about my husband's condition. The parking spaces were numbered according to rooms, so I really liked having the same spot. The room was quite nice and very clean; the bed was actually comfortable. My room was cleaned promptly each morning. On one occasion, I left my purse in my duffle bag while I left for at least an hour, and nothing was missing, even though the cleaning ladies came during that time.
I only used the pool once, but it was clean, and there were plenty of lounge chairs available. The whirlpool is a nice added feature.
I could not have had a more pleasing experience. I feel fortunate that there was a vacancy at this motel. I did check out two other places before deciding upon Viking Arms Inn, so I actually made a great decision.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatfield, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Our families and friends have been coming to Ludington, MI. for over 25 years. We stayed in different hotels the first year or two, then we found the Viking Arms Inn. We try to come back every year, and we always stay at the Viking Arms. We brought our children when they were small, now we bring our grandchildren. The rooms are spacious, very clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The pool is large with a connecting hot tub, which is great for adults to be able to relax and keep an eye on their children in the pool. All of this combined with soft outdoor music is the perfect way to spend a relaxing afternoon. The grounds are impeccably kept. The gazebo, surrounded by beautiful hydrangeas and hanging flowers, offers a quiet area to sit and chat with friends or other guests. We have many years of treasured memories of Ludington MI., and this is thanks to the wonderfully kind and caring owners and staff of the Viking Arms Inn. Last but not least, the price is very affordable. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great vacation!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Riding a motorcycle sometimes is a problem at places but at the Viking Arms Inn they treated us as King and Queen. Love the atmosphere and the room was neat and clean. Within walking distance of places to eat which was enjoyable to us. The hot tub was awesome and attached to the pool for easy access. First class place and we can't wait to go that way again. Thank you so much for a comfortable and affordable place to stay. My wife has even wished that there was one in our area with that setting. Thank You so much.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

The motel is a local family-owned operation and the owners are very nice. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the price reasonable. Easy to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

This has been our third stay at Viking Arms. The owners are most friendly and accomodating. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
We plan on staying there everytime we vacation in Ludington.
Even though we have family there, we always spend part of our visit at Viking Arms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viking Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Arms Inn

Address: 930 East Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Arms Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Arms Inn is located centrally in Ludington. We have been one of the highest AAA quality rated facilities in the area for over 30 years. Offering exceptional quality and warm hospitality. Shopping, the beach and the SS Badger are all as close as a mile away. We are open all year for the summer as well as the winter traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Viking Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Arms Hotel Ludington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Arms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.