We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of S.S. Badger: Lake Michigan Carferry

S.S. Badger: Lake Michigan Carferry
701 Maritime Drive, Ludington, MI 49431
1-800-841-4243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 things to do in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The S.S. Badger is the largest car ferry to ever sail Lake Michigan and has provided a safe, fun, and reliable shortcut across the inland sea for more than fifty years. The ferry takes passengers, autos, RVs, tour buses, motorcycles, bicycles, and commercial trucks across Lake Michigan between Ludington, Michigan and Manitowoc, Wisconsin from mid-May through mid-October.
Harris, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As part of our motorcycle circle tour around Lake Superior we also toured the Western shore of Lake Michigan to Ludington, Michigan and crossed the Lake on the S.S. Badger. I've been on this before and it is always fascinating to watch them load all the cars, trucks and motorcycles on the decks below. They are quick and efficient in accomplishing this task. For those who take the morning crossing and want something to eat the food is good and reasonably priced. Beside just relaxing and taking a nap, there is always plenty to do while crossing on the boat. At the end it is amazing how fast they can unload the vehicles from below without an incident. This is a fun experience and it saves an immense amount of time when going from East to West or West to East and best of all you can avoid Chicago traffic !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    148
    21
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant sailing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We traveled across the lake in July. We couldn't have asked for a better day to sail across the lake. We boarded in Manitowoc and traveled to Ludington. Perfect day, the sky was sunny the breeze was light and seas were calm. It was very relaxing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“love the Badger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have traveled several times on the Badger and have always enjoyed our trip. There is quite a bit to do during your trip such as bingo, movie theatre, gift shop, or just sit and take in the view. If it is warm enough it is wonderful out on one of the decks. The food is reasonably priced and the usual fare. (if you wait till you are close to your destination they mark any remaining food down)
The staff is always friendly and helpful. It is amazing how many cars, etc, that boat can hold, fun to watch! It is a little pricey but the convenience of not needing to drive through Chicago or the U.P. is worth it for us. You can just relax for a few hours!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing ferry trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We did not really know what to expect, and were only told over the phone to be with the car at the dock by 8 am. When we arrived, we were first met by a guard with a sniffer dog. A bit unnerving, but I guess "security first". Then we were met by the Badger staff, who told us to leave our car right there on the dock, with the key in the ignition, and the drivers side window rolled down. We did, a little reluctant at first, but then we saw a number of young guys (in uniform) running from the ferry, jumping in a car and driving it inside the ferry. I guess the loading process goes a lot faster and more efficient that way.
The (4 hour) trip itself was beautiful! And we especially liked the opportunity to chat with fellow passengers, while we enjoyed the scenery.
Once the ferry was moored on the other side, the young guys came in action again, and in no time the cars were parked back on solid ground, and we were on our way again.
To sum up: A great experience!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love the Badger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Sailing aboard the Badger is truly a unique experience and although it's a little pricey, it's really fun. The staff is extremely friendly. When they load and unload the vehicles, it's something to watch. The trip across to Ludington was very late because of the semis, they take a LONG time to load and unload. That was the only downfall. When we sailed in September, we experienced extremely rough seas for the first time on the Badger. It was hard to stand up the boat was rocking so much and it was way too windy to even be on deck. We got a stateroom which was ok, not the most modern. Get your wi-fi access cards early, they run out quickly and they really need to upgrade that whole system. All in all though the Badger is a cool ship and I hope the EPA doesn't do her in. We have sailed on the Badger many many times and it's always fun. No matter how much it costs, it's better than driving thru Chicago.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.S. Badger: Lake Michigan Carferry also viewed

 

Been to S.S. Badger: Lake Michigan Carferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.S. Badger: Lake Michigan Carferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.