We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No splash at the splash park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lakewinds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lakewinds to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
5005 West US Highway 10, Ludington, MI 49431 (Formerly Best Western Splash Park Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ludington
Muskegon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No splash at the splash park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Accommodations were great with the exception that the property was advertised as having a water slide which we had enjoyed on a previous visit. Upon arrival, we were informed that the slide had been removed and all that remained was the pool and hot tub. Not a big deal except the kids were looking forward to the water slide.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Jill,

Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us! While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, I do apologize that you and your family were not informed of the recent removal of our water slide. We are currently working with third parties on removing the water slide from our listed amenities. We do hope you'll return to see our newly remodeled common area and our soon to be updated guests rooms. Take care, Jill!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    134
    48
    18
    8
See reviews for
246
83
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here during our summer vacation to the area. We love the Ludington area and decided to give the Best Western a try based on the pool and waterslide. The kids loved that area and played in it each evening. The room we were in was clean and adequate, although a little on the cramped side for our family of 4, but we were right next to the pool which is all my kids cared about. My only issue with the room was the lighting. Because of our location, we did not have a window to the outside and it made our room feel very dark all the time. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would consider staying here again when we visit Ludington.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello Monique,
Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay with us! I'm glad to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy our indoor water slide before the recent removal in December. Unfortunately, there is the original part of the hotel that features windows that face indoors whether than outside, therefore lacking in natural light. We'd like to offer you a free upgrade on your next visit for you and your family. Our suites are more spacious than our standard rooms and provide a little extra comfort for guests traveling with kids. We hope that you will continue to make Best Western Lakewinds your hotel of choice when visiting the Ludington area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Best Western of Ludington has again exceeded all of my expectations! I am looking forward to our next stay, when we can see the completed renovations. The staff are so friendly and hospitable, and the rooms and linens are very clean. My friend forgot her toothbrush so I asked the front desk if there were any we could buy and she said she could do one better, and gave me a toothbrush. We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello Molly, thank you for your review. We are so excited for the completion of the renovations to our pool area, we are also taking time to make other renovations to our 3rd floor as well. We are always looking for ways to improve and it helps to get our guests feedback. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review, our team looks forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hudson, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

For the price, this is a good hotel. It is clean, the staff is friendly and the beds are fairly comfortable. There is a indoor swimming pool with hot tub, which is nice. Also there is a workout room and small game room. Restaurants are nearby if needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Daniel, thank you for your review. We will continue to offer a quality stay for you and all our guest. Our team takes pride in their work and it shows, we will always be a family friendly hotel but also cater to corporate business as well. Thank you again for your patronage, we look forward to seeing you gain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsport, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times, Very clean, Quiet, very friendly staff. I come to Michigan about seven to eight times a year on the Badger Just for a get away and I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Mark, we sure appreciate your business and we will continue to maintain the quality that you have come to expect. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We will look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Ludington Splash Park and again we had a fabulous time! Our twin boys turned 5 this year and we have been fortunate to celebrate their past 3 birthdays here! Their birthday is on October 28, so it worked in perfectly with the hotels special event, 'Spooktacular'! They get to trick or treat from room to room, dress up, go through a haunted house, enjoy yummy snacks... And most importantly SWIM! I was told the hotel was removing the slide but to my surprise the boys were not fazed in the least... We went down the slide once... They just wanted to swim or hang out in the hot tub! After running around, jumping into the very comfy beds... We were all out in seconds! The next morning was wonderful being able to wake up to yummy waffles, cereal, pastries, bagels, yogurt, etc.
After a very cheerful checkout (the staff was incredibly friendly) my boys decided they wanted to play outside on the playground for some time!
All in all we had another wonderful stay... With or without the slide we will defiantly be back next year and years to come!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Lynn, wow, thank your for your review. We are sure glad that your boys still want to come back even if we no longer have the waterslide. We will still do the events and hope families still want to bring family here for Birthdays. It sounds like it worked out well for you guys having their party on the night of our Spooktacular. We hope we get to see the boys next year. Thank you again for your great review and we will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here on our way to Ontario; what a lovely experience! They have a fabulous breakfast, awesome swimming pool and even an outdoor BBQ area where we could cook our own dinner and enjoy the fresh air. Clean rooms, friendly service, tons of parking and an overall family-oriented atmosphere. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Tasha, we do pride ourselves on being a very clean and friendly hotel. Thank you for your review, we hope that if you come back to the Ludington area you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lakewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lakewinds

Address: 5005 West US Highway 10, Ludington, MI 49431 (Formerly Best Western Splash Park Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lakewinds is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your stay. Close to beaches and great restaurants as well as downtown shopping. Coming over on the Badger, the Best Western offers a shuttle service if traveling without a vehicle. We offer several room types, one of them is sure to fit your needs. We have a family suite with two queen beds and a separate room with a king bed, great for the whole family. Or a whirlpool suite with a hot tub and fireplace perfect for two. Let the kids enjoy our playground area that is also a picnic area with a grill. We will start your day with a wonderful hot breakfast, Belgian waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits and much more, all compliments of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lakewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Splash Park Hotel Ludington
Best Western Ludington
Ludington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.