We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Superior Trip (Ludington, MI)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lakewinds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lakewinds to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5005 West US Highway 10, Ludington, MI 49431 (Formerly Best Western Splash Park Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paola, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lake Superior Trip (Ludington, MI)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel was very nice and very clean. Rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. However, breakfast was served in the same room as the splash park and pool and it the room was very hot and smelled of chlorine. After finishing our breakfast, we noticed that there were two rooms for dining inside the hotel... so, if we had investigated before finding our table in the pool area, we would not have had to be so hot during breakfast. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    142
    49
    19
    8
See reviews for
254
87
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel was rated highly in the area, so we gave it a shot. The room was fairly nice and clean. However, the internet service was not good. I connected easily, but still could not access anything on the web. Called IT and they got me hooked up for about 3 minutes. The other problem was the heater/ac unit in the room. We turned on the heat and it smelled like melting plastic. After calling the front desk, nobody showed up. I found a guy in the hallway who came in and basically said, "Yeah, it smells kinda funny when you first turn on the heat, but it's working just fine." So we turned it off because as long as the heat was on, the smell practically choked us out of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Best Western in Ludington this past weekend. We really enjoyed the hot tub and the "Adult" hours. The breakfast that was supplied was amazing, and the rooms were extremely clean. The staff went out of their way to accommodate all. We will definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Ludington area has so much to offer and this is a good place to stay that is central to all. While it is not walking distance to town or the beach, it is still convenient and easy to get to both. The pool is great if you have little ones (or even big ones) as it has a slide. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my son. He loved the pool and slide and would have been happy to stay in the pool for the whole trip. Breakfast staff and pool helpers were friendly. Room was ok. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choices. Overall pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend first room off the lobby. Very small and no window to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were traveling through (across and back) on the SS Badger and found this hotel via TripAdvisor. We felt that the facilities were very reasonable in regards to the cost. The breakfast was decent and the rooms clean. The staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I enjoyed this hotel. Our room was spacious, with comfortable beds and a mini refridgerator. The pool was just the right size, and there was also a spacious hot tub. The waterslide, which is monitored by a lifeguard, is small and a little slow, but perfect for children. The pool area was a little hard to find, due to the lack of signs in the hotel. There is also a playground in the back for kids. The continental breakfast was complete with eggs, sausage, waffles, bagels, mini pastries, cereal, and more. The hotel was very clean and well kept. The staff was helpful, but not overly friendly.

Room Tip: If you have young children, choose a room close to the pool area so it is easier to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Lakewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lakewinds

Address: 5005 West US Highway 10, Ludington, MI 49431 (Formerly Best Western Splash Park Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ludington
#2 Family Hotel in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Lakewinds 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lakewinds is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your stay. Close to beaches and great restaurants as well as downtown shopping. Coming over on the Badger, the Best Western offers a shuttle service if traveling without a vehicle. We offer several room types, one of them is sure to fit your needs. We have a family suite with two queen beds and a separate room with a king bed, great for the whole family. Or a whirlpool suite with a hot tub and fireplace perfect for two. Let the kids enjoy our playground area that is also a picnic area with a grill. We will start your day with a wonderful hot breakfast, Belgian waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits and much more, all compliments of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lakewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Splash Park Hotel Ludington
Best Western Ludington
Ludington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.