We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flat River Grill

Flat River Grill
201 E Main St, Lowell, MI 49331
616-897-8523
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Lowell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Flat River Grill is a treasure, providing Lowell with a wonderful location for quality dining, refreshing ambiance and community camaraderie. Transformed from the historic Bergin building on main street and nestled alongside the Flat River and Lowell Showboat, Flat River Grill offers its guests a nostalgic atmosphere and warmth. Cheerful and filled with tantalizing smells from the open kitchen and classic wood-fired grill, our chefs prepare traditional favorites with a flair indicative of a Gilmore Collection Restaurant. Special occasions and casual evenings out are equally suited for a night at Flat River, with our comfortable decor, smart service and outstanding food.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value, basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I had date night, and wanted to try something different, so headed east to Lowell. We arrived around 7:30 on a Friday night and managed a parking spot near the door, but upon entering were presented with a 30-45 minute wait for a table for two. We snagged the last seat at the bar (I stood) for our wait. We enjoyed a tasty wild mushroom bruschetta while waiting, along with a couple of brews. After ~35 minutes our table was ready on the heated outdoor patio. We were a bit shocked to discover that that outside patio was actually warmer than the inside restaurant!

For dinner, my wife went with the caesar to start (loved it) along with the risotto special (pesto, scallops, shrimp, and bacon) which was ok; the scallops were unevenly cooked, some were great, others tough. I also had a special, the 14oz prime rib ordered medium rare. It was delivered medium rare but I was disappointed with the tenderness of the meat, the steak knife I was given struggled to cut most pieces.

Service both at the bar and our table was stretched; it felt like they were missing a server in both places, with too few trying to do too much.

We enjoyed date night, and would stop in again if we found ourselves in Lowell, but won't make the effort to make this a destination.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory G, Guest Relations Manager at Flat River Grill, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We're very happy that you drove out to see us Friday. You just happened to drive out on the weekend of Christmas through Lowell. We would love to have you give us another try and see that we always strive for impeccable service! You should try the wood fired steaks and pizzas. They take on a very nice smokey flavor and taste delicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayling, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Upscale gourmet restaurant with that "Touch of Class"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Each time I walk in the door of Flat River Grill, I know I'm in for a treat. Have had both lunches and dinners there. The menu is varied, catering to a wide range of tastes. You have your choice of excellent salads, sandwiches with a flair, pastas that are unique and other entrees that the most discerning diner would enjoy. There is an extensive wine selection, besides a full bar. In the summer, both indoor and outdoor seating available. Service very good, as well as friendly, helpful wait staff. Try the Flat River Grill, you'll like it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory G, Public Relations Manager at Flat River Grill, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Just a reminder, the patio is open all year. In the winter it is enclosed and heated. Most of the time it is warmer on the patio than in the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best mac and cheese ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Mac and cheese....who would've thought? 2-3 kinds of cheese (none of which were cheddar) and leeks made this dish very special. Nice place, handy to the Main Street Inn.... I need to go back to try a pizza or one of their special drinks.....or both.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Flat River Grill, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for coming in on your trip. The pizzas are great. My personal favorite is the Coconut Pork Pizza. If you want to try one of the new cocktails for Fall and Winter, you should try the Cranberry Cinnamon Cider!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodgeville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Flat River Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had dinner at the Grill with a group of friends. I ordered the "Pasta Feature", which was one of the best meals I've had recently. Shortly prior to this, I had been out to two different big name Italian restaurants in a large midwest city. The Flat River Grill pasta outshined them both.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Flat River Grill, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed our pasta feature so much. The chefs have been making some great risottos lately. Next time you're in town, you should check them out too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best atmosphere in Lowell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Flat River Grill is the best restaurant in Lowell for adult beverage and a nice meal. I have not had a bad meal here. This is my go to restaurant to meet girlfriends when in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Flat River Grill, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review, Carol. If you make it up from Florida this winter, you will need to try the new cranberry-cinnamon hot cider. It is delicious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flat River Grill also viewed

Lowell, Kent County
Lowell, Kent County
 
Lowell, Kent County
 

Been to Flat River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flat River Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.