We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel with Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19300 Haggerty Road, Livonia, MI 48152 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Food & Bev Credit
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Livonia
CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Business Hotel with Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I chose this hotel because I had Hyatt Gold points to burn and was looking to stay somewhere between Ann Arbor and Detroit (coming in for Michigan/Notre Dame football).

We arrived after the game at about 1:00am. The nice front desk attendant apologized that he did not have a room besides one that accommodates people with disabilities. No problem here.

However, the room, with a very nice bed, is not well insulated and you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway. Bathroom was strange - i think because of the accommodations with a very small shower (no tub).

Breakfast was served downstairs. ITs nice that they have hot food and some protein, but the food seems to sit out a little too long. Cheese was quite dry. the fresh fruit salad had seen better days too. Coffee was good.

There is a movie theater in the mall right next to the hotel and a few restaurants around. Very easy freeway access and you are 30-40 minutes from downtown detroit. I'd stay here again if necessary.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    59
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
37
35
8
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel lives up to the high standards of Hyatt, offering classy lodging at a very reasonable price. It is within walking distance of 3 great restaurants, shopping, & also offers room service 24/7. While in the middle of a busy urban area, this hotel is remarkably quiet & a great place to unwind after a busy day or week.

Room Tip: I always choose the top floor- no footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First time staying at a Hyatt. Very nice and friendly staff. Rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good and the indoor pool was warm, which my husband didn't like, but I loved! Easy check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved the front desk staff at this location. While the staff is very pleasant and friendly, the hotel looks worn. Including the linens on the bed (the comforter stuffing was flat and the sheets not white), towels (worn, scratchy not very pleasant), walls (some paint is needed) and doors. I was also disappointed that the bathroom shower and toilet were discolored (looked dirty). Finally, I stayed 2 nights. While my room was "freshened" (I assume this since the bed was made and the towels replenished), there is no way the shower was cleaned as it still had some of the pink shower gel that I had accidentally spilled in the shower that morning. It is really a shame- no renovation needed just generally upkeep with fresh paint, more concern with cleaning and linens need to be replaced when they get old and grey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We really like the Hyatt Place layouts. The rooms are awesome if you have kids, since they are larger than your typical (2) queen rooms. The staff was very nice and helpful. There was a nice selection for the free breakfast, and it was well stocked. Overall, we would stay here again, but the property needs a makeover, as the rooms are looking well used.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was in town for a business trip and decided to stay at Hyatt Place after the locals suggested another chain. I have stayed at other Hyatt Places before and wanted to stick with something I knew and liked after being disappointed on my last trip (at a different hotel brand).

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine and they have a pretty good variety for you to select from. Juices, bread for toast, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal and some egg sandwiches too. My only complaint was the gym being too small and really didn't offer much other than a bike and treadmill. However, I would definitely go back should I return to the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The thing I love about Hyatt Place hotels is that they are consistent no matter which one you stay at. Same look and feel, easy to maneuver around in, etc. The front desk person was fantastic. We had a bunch of gift cards so they recommended we drop those off the next morning as we had breakfast as it can take a little extra time to get those through their system. She didn't want us to have to wait at check out. The breakfast (included) was very good as well. We went down for a Red Sox/Tigers game so we weren't too far away (20 minutes or so). Comfortable bed as well. The only negative was that the TV remote didn't want to work well. I'll stay there again.

Room Tip: if you have gift cards, leave them with the front desk person when you come down for breakfast; then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Address: 19300 Haggerty Road, Livonia, MI 48152 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.