We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia...would come back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19300 Haggerty Road, Livonia, MI 48152 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Wellsville, MIssouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia...would come back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I really liked this hotel. My husband and I stayed three nights and absolutely loved it. The breakfast was good, a lot of variety, and they did restock after they ran out (despite what others have said). The rooms were nice and very clean. The staff was beyond helpful and extremely friendly. It snowed all three days we were there and they had the parking lot cleaned very well each day, plus it always seemed like there was someone trying to mop the floor up to keep the floor from having that salt foot print stuff. Very good neighborhood also. We liked this hotel so much that on our way home, we decided to book another Hyatt Place in Chicago. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, and we will be coming back.
:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Agree that heater is a bit noisy. Beds are comfortable. Yes the breakfast buffet is above average. Very good location. It could have offered a small microwave. Good service and staff. We would stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

In short, I travel a lot, so I have to break down the ratings: The GOOD: 1. The staff was very nice, very helpful and kind, 2. the location, very close to great food choices and work. The BAD: 1, the rooms are very dated, appears worn, old/bad beds and pillows, need to be redone. 2. Noisy. The room heat/air loud woke me up every night, the street traffic - both side of the building, and some mechanical room, also the refrigerator is defrosting all night..loud. Oddly, I stayed in room 203 for 4 days and my flight was cancelled, so I came back and stayed in room 309 - both loud and noisy :(

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can hear...lol. All rooms very loud...I stay in two of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaboy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I travel quite a bit for work and was using hyatt points for a majority my 2 week stay in Michigan. We started off by staying a week at the Hampton Inn on Loop Drive in Commerce. I will review that also but we wished we would have stayed at the Hampton. It is about a 10 minute drive from this hotel but I would highly recommend (and I'm not a huge fan of Hamptons overall for it's totally unbiased). I had 9 days worth of Hyatt Points to use so we spend our second half of the trip at the Hyatt Livonia as it was closer to our family in Ann Arbor.

We were very surprised/dissapointed by many things in this hotel. It is not a hyatt caliber hotel. If I would have paid for this room, I would have checked out immeditely upon check in and went back to the Hampton. I would not have spend the money for this hotel. It was the quality of a motel 6. The hotel is in disarray, you can tell that there is a lack of interest in maintaining and up keep from the top down. The hotel was dirty, the staff only vacuumed our room once during the 8 days we were there and we had to request it. We didn't hear them vaccuuming any other rooms either not even where guests checked out (only the hallway every few days). We needed to formally request for sheets to be changed even though we placed the card on the bed. Even then, we could only get them to change them once. Housekeeping works until after 6 pm everyday and we didn't want them in the room without us there. It really didn't matter though, since they seemed very aware of when we left and arrived to our room, it made me a little uncomfortable. We saw the housekeeping staff a lot but it was only because their break room was right next to our room. they were very dilligent in getting food from the gallery, smoking, and talking amongst themselves but not very dilligent in....well....cleaning. Some leaves had blown into the hallway, right outside of their breakroom, and remained there for 4 days.

No one here seems to be aware of how a hotel should run, or of Hyatts own policies. Many of the staff can't answer simple questions like where is the printer. You get answers like, "I'm new" or "i'm not sure". And not with a follow up, "let me find out for you".

The pool is dirty, cloudy, and cold. My kids, who normally live in the pool, only visited the pool once and lasted 5 minutes.

the breakfast was very lackluster and 90 percent of the dished were notably dirty. I mean, old food caked on them. You have to go through litterally 9 bowls to find 1 clean one. If this is what we can see, I would hate to think about the things that we didn't see. Many quests were commenting but no one seemed to care at this Hyatt. The breakfast was burnt.

There was old food, from another guest, under our fold out bed. the floors in the elevator are cracked and broken. This hotel looks very run down and it is obvious that no one takes any pride in. I felt like they do the absolute minimum that they can get away with so that they make the max dollar off each guest. Of course, we know that this is usually the case in business, but it is very obvious here. This experience has made me reconsider using hyatt for all my business travel. I wouldn't want another vacation experience like this for my family so I think I better reconsider which loyalty plan/chain I use so that when it's time to benefit, I actually want to use it.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. We tried the Hampton Inn on Loop Drive in Commerce/Walled Lake and it was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3lildivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I was very impressed with the room. it was quite spacious, had two double beds, a large desk with a chair, two sinks, a fridge and an L shaped 4 seater sofa. i am not sure if this is the size of all rooms or if I was given a suite. This is the largest room I have ever stayed in, in a hotel

The rooms were well presented, clean, had granite worktops around the sinks and were generally pleasant.

With my expectations raised, i was disappointed with the bathroom. It was clean and had nothing wrong with it but it seemed more like the bathroom of a budget hotel and was not in keeping with the rest of the room. It was a bit small and a bit plain.

The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. I thought this was better than most other places i have been to.

The breakfast was scrumptious, had a good variety and the room where it was served was also quite nice, albeit a bit small.

I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MeandererUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I already stayed at the Hyatt Place for the second time during a business trip to Detroit. I like the location as many restaurants are nearby to get something to eat in the evenings.

Also the in house bar offers some food. The salads are good and reasonable priced. The breakfast is included and I like it.

The rooms are big and you get a small kitchen, a huge sofa and two queen size beds, a desk to work on in the evenings.

The rooms service could have been a little more accurate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels over the years and this was one of the best stays I have had. Fantastic rooms and great breakfast in the morning. The staff was awesome and the location was great! I have nothing bad to say about this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livonia
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Livonia
1.2 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Livonia
Comfort Inn Livonia
#4 of 14 in Livonia
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Address: 19300 Haggerty Road, Livonia, MI 48152 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livonia
#3 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing