We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19300 Haggerty Road, Livonia, MI 48152 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Food & Bev Credit
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Livonia
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I was very impressed with the room. it was quite spacious, had two double beds, a large desk with a chair, two sinks, a fridge and an L shaped 4 seater sofa. i am not sure if this is the size of all rooms or if I was given a suite. This is the largest room I have ever stayed in, in a hotel

The rooms were well presented, clean, had granite worktops around the sinks and were generally pleasant.

With my expectations raised, i was disappointed with the bathroom. It was clean and had nothing wrong with it but it seemed more like the bathroom of a budget hotel and was not in keeping with the rest of the room. It was a bit small and a bit plain.

The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. I thought this was better than most other places i have been to.

The breakfast was scrumptious, had a good variety and the room where it was served was also quite nice, albeit a bit small.

I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    60
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
37
36
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I already stayed at the Hyatt Place for the second time during a business trip to Detroit. I like the location as many restaurants are nearby to get something to eat in the evenings.

Also the in house bar offers some food. The salads are good and reasonable priced. The breakfast is included and I like it.

The rooms are big and you get a small kitchen, a huge sofa and two queen size beds, a desk to work on in the evenings.

The rooms service could have been a little more accurate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels over the years and this was one of the best stays I have had. Fantastic rooms and great breakfast in the morning. The staff was awesome and the location was great! I have nothing bad to say about this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel staff was extremely friendly during my entire stay. From the lobby, to the guest rooms, the meeting spaces and breakfast area; the property was impeccably clean. The rooms are very comfortable and easy to work in. The Hyatt Place Livonia is an excellent value for both business travelers and families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my adult daughter and visited in the room with two other adult daughters. The layout of the room was perfect for this family get together. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was varied and well done. I recommend this hotel.
But I do have some tips. Do request a room away from the elevators. As indicated in other reviews they are loud. It was very surprising to have a nice mini-fridge, sink and counter, but NO MICROWAVE.
Here are the negative comments:
Upon entering our room after check in, there where about 6 housekeeping staff in there having a bit of a party. I'm sure they were just all taking a break ...but REALLY?? It was well after posted check-in times. As a result there was still a little trash on the floor of the bathroom and the room didn't seem to be cleaned fully. There was a decorative panel kicked out of place that should have been put back.
One additional negative. There seemed to be an overall sense of stain. (sofa, floor) Not terrible, but obviously they could steam clean a bit more often. For this I do not give an Excellent rating.

Room Tip: TIP: If you need a microwave, ask for one on reservation or check-in. I was told when checking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel, located within a mall back from the main road, room was quite large with a king bed and a pull out queen couch. Stayed there for a recent hockey tournament. They went out of there way to have breakfast available for the hockey teams earlier than advertised, great selection and friendly service. Had a lot of noise from one team on our floor and they promptly took action including calling the police when they would not comply I would highly recommend this hotel as they went above and beyond to make us comfortable and looked after our requests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you have ever stayed at a Hyatt Place before you can stop reading here - it's pretty much the same as the other Hyatt Place hotels all over the country. If you like them, you will find the same here.

If you're not familiar with the chain, I've stayed at Hyatt Place hotels in 4 states and I believe the four were identical. The hotel seems to cater most to business travelers, but I have stayed there on family trips as well.

The room is a semi-suite with a living room and bedroom area separated by a partition of sorts. There is a large HD flat panel TV with all kinds of inputs, ample plugs for computers, very good high-speed internet, and a good desk area. The room has granite countertops in the bath area, as well as a kind of wet bar area as you enter (which also has a granite top).

The staff in Livonia was extremely friendly and went out of their way to greet me as I came in.

They have a free continental breakfast, as well as some cooked offerings (during my stay waffles and a cheese, ham and English muffin concoction). They had a choice of newspapers (USA Today, Wall Street Journal) in the morning as well.

The minuses? It's basically like every other Hyatt Place. This one seems to be about 5 years old and I saw a little wear and tear in places. Not a lot, but some. It was also a little noisy, although I primarily blame the people in the next room.

The hotel shares a parking lot with a J. Alexander's and is a short walk to a Macaroni's. They also serve convenience foods for dinner and have a limited bar in the lobby area. There is a large movie theater across the lot if you want a diversion while staying.

Hyatt Place is a good hotel to stay in Livonia with the amenities most travelers would want.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Address: 19300 Haggerty Road, Livonia, MI 48152 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.