We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19300 Haggerty Road, Livonia, MI 48152 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels over the years and this was one of the best stays I have had. Fantastic rooms and great breakfast in the morning. The staff was awesome and the location was great! I have nothing bad to say about this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    86
    14
    16
    4
See reviews for
58
48
9
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel staff was extremely friendly during my entire stay. From the lobby, to the guest rooms, the meeting spaces and breakfast area; the property was impeccably clean. The rooms are very comfortable and easy to work in. The Hyatt Place Livonia is an excellent value for both business travelers and families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my adult daughter and visited in the room with two other adult daughters. The layout of the room was perfect for this family get together. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was varied and well done. I recommend this hotel.
But I do have some tips. Do request a room away from the elevators. As indicated in other reviews they are loud. It was very surprising to have a nice mini-fridge, sink and counter, but NO MICROWAVE.
Here are the negative comments:
Upon entering our room after check in, there where about 6 housekeeping staff in there having a bit of a party. I'm sure they were just all taking a break ...but REALLY?? It was well after posted check-in times. As a result there was still a little trash on the floor of the bathroom and the room didn't seem to be cleaned fully. There was a decorative panel kicked out of place that should have been put back.
One additional negative. There seemed to be an overall sense of stain. (sofa, floor) Not terrible, but obviously they could steam clean a bit more often. For this I do not give an Excellent rating.

Room Tip: TIP: If you need a microwave, ask for one on reservation or check-in. I was told when checking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel, located within a mall back from the main road, room was quite large with a king bed and a pull out queen couch. Stayed there for a recent hockey tournament. They went out of there way to have breakfast available for the hockey teams earlier than advertised, great selection and friendly service. Had a lot of noise from one team on our floor and they promptly took action including calling the police when they would not comply I would highly recommend this hotel as they went above and beyond to make us comfortable and looked after our requests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
434 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you have ever stayed at a Hyatt Place before you can stop reading here - it's pretty much the same as the other Hyatt Place hotels all over the country. If you like them, you will find the same here.

If you're not familiar with the chain, I've stayed at Hyatt Place hotels in 4 states and I believe the four were identical. The hotel seems to cater most to business travelers, but I have stayed there on family trips as well.

The room is a semi-suite with a living room and bedroom area separated by a partition of sorts. There is a large HD flat panel TV with all kinds of inputs, ample plugs for computers, very good high-speed internet, and a good desk area. The room has granite countertops in the bath area, as well as a kind of wet bar area as you enter (which also has a granite top).

The staff in Livonia was extremely friendly and went out of their way to greet me as I came in.

They have a free continental breakfast, as well as some cooked offerings (during my stay waffles and a cheese, ham and English muffin concoction). They had a choice of newspapers (USA Today, Wall Street Journal) in the morning as well.

The minuses? It's basically like every other Hyatt Place. This one seems to be about 5 years old and I saw a little wear and tear in places. Not a lot, but some. It was also a little noisy, although I primarily blame the people in the next room.

The hotel shares a parking lot with a J. Alexander's and is a short walk to a Macaroni's. They also serve convenience foods for dinner and have a limited bar in the lobby area. There is a large movie theater across the lot if you want a diversion while staying.

Hyatt Place is a good hotel to stay in Livonia with the amenities most travelers would want.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
862 reviews
365 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I've traveled to Livonia a few times for work and previously stayed in other properties -- one terrible, one just OK. The Hyatt Place beat them both -- and happened to be cheapter, too!

Look- and room-wise, it's a standard Hyatt Place. (The rooms look the same at every property.) I like the spacious room, sectional couch, etc. My room was in good working order, had lots and lots of plugs, as totally clean, etc. My only wish is that the hotel provided lotion in addition to shampoo, soap, and conditioner.

I had a very late arrival and was promptly checked-in. The hotel was busy, but parking was easy to find in the large, well-lit lot. Check-out was similarly easy. In both instances, the front desk clerk was friendly and efficient.

Breakfast was fine. I thought the coffee was gross, however. (I tend to not like the blend Hyatt Place uses.)

No hesitation in recommending this property; I'll return when I return to Livonia!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked a room for two days at this hotel after getting being unsuccessful at finding one in Ann Arbor.

To be honest, the drive over to Ann Arbor wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it would be, and I actually found a gem in this hotel!

Room- Incredibly large, the couch is a full size L-sectional. The tv on a swivel was better than I had expected but can't be seen from the desk. The bathroom is quite small with the door barely clearing the front of the toilet. There are quite a number of nooks and crannies in the room that may not be at first noticed, like the mirrored closet next to the sink. I didn't love the bed, and really didn't like the odd small square shaped pillows (instead of rectangles) leaving me with a bit of difficulty finding a comfortable position.

Amenities- Free breakfast was well above expectations, with a great selection of the expected pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereal..etc. with the bonus of having the hot skillet items as part of the breakfast. The skillet options changed daily with a nicely seasoned egg and cheese biscuit on my plate the second morning. Yum! This is the breakfast I would have expected at a far nicer hotel. The fitness center, while very small, has great cardio equipment. The treadmills look very new with built in TVs and all the typical features you would want--perhaps missing a fan. The fitness room did feel a bit humid being near the pool.

Service- Self check-in is a great thing, and it was a breeze to do! The actual staff were very friendly and helpful in giving me the best routes to various businesses during rush hour traffic.

Location-Convenient access to the highway and surrounded by a ton of chain restaurants and a movie theater. Would also recommend a trip to the twelve oaks mall for shopping!

Overall, very surprised at how much I enjoyed this hotel and would certainly return on future business trips if Ann Arbor is not an option.

This hotel would be excellent for a family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livonia
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Livonia
1.2 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Address: 19300 Haggerty Road, Livonia, MI 48152 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livonia
#2 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.