We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper-thin walls..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Livonia

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Livonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Livonia
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   36655 Plymouth Road/I-96, Livonia, MI 48150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Livonia
Brookston
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Paper-thin walls..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Nice rooms, reasonably clean, comfortable beds.. I say this is just a place to stay, as that is what it is exactly. Being a traveler like myself, I need a good sleep and that is what I intended on getting upon arrival. If you plan on sleeping, beware as the neighbors in the room next to you may be loud and boisterous, or could have a crying baby or screaming children. You can hear through the walls, the other parties conversations or quirks. Management in this hotel are very rude, they do not have the knowledge of how to treat their guests. Would I stay here again? NO!

Room Tip: No advice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    26
    31
    40
See reviews for
51
13
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is a nice basic hotel with all the amenities you need - good beds, tv, fridge, microwave... The breakfast is good and plentiful and the staff are friendly. If you're looking for an 'experience' this isn't the hotel for you but if you're looking for a comfortable place to stay at a good price then I can recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I was also attacked by a maid on the elevator (that takes 20 minutes per floor). The keys never work and they charged me $40 per night pet fee. Every staff member chased me down to verify I had paid the pet deposit and two seperate hotel clerks asked me if I would buy drugs. It was DIRTY. The pillows were nice, if I hadn't already packed up by the time I was attacked by the maid I would have stolen them.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I chose this hotel for the sole purpose that it was cheap, so I really can't complain too much about the accomodations. Still, it was lacking in several areas. I had the do not disturb sign up when they were cleaning, so the maids just tied a bad of towels and coffee around my door handle. Since the smoking ban went into effect, the most enjoyment I got out of it was conversing with other guests smoking out front of the hotel. The night front desk man was extremely rude; a friend and I were told we could not be in the lobby at night, we had to go outside or up to the room. You must go through the lobby and up the elevator to get to your room, so you have to pass the front desk guy coming back at night. I was there for the purpose of attending Movement 2010 in Detroit, and when I got back to the hotel around 5 in the morning, he seemed annoyed they we were distracting him from reading a book. Trying to get a juice, he asked us if we needed anything and then stared us down before telling us to leave the lobby. Also, the "fitness center" is a joke, just a few treadmills, no weights or anything. The price was good for those on a tight budget, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Just finished a one week stay and I have been very satisfied.

The room was clean and housekeeping service was excellent. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. The fitness center was an added bonus as the room rate was only $43/day all inclusive!

I

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

This was the second time I had stayed at this particular hotel. My first stay hadn't been terrible, though I was in a very secluded part of the hotel, which probably helped. On my second stay, the room I was in was on the third floor, right next to the elevator, and near an ice machine. The walls of this hotel are paper thin, and I could hear everything, including the loud ice machine, which was operated by someone at all hours of the day an night. I barely slept at all due to the noises of this hotel. The room itself wasn't very clean either, and it looked as though no one had ever vacuumed under the bed or behind anything. The people at the front desk hardly ever acknowledge me as I came and went during my week long stay here, and I had to have the keys remade 3 times during my stay. The hotel is also right next to a skating rink, where there seemed to be a lot of problems in the parking lot among the young people. The elevator scared me every time I got on it, and there were no stairs for regular use, as they were marked for fire exits only. I will not stay at this hotel again, nor will I recommend it to anyone. I have switch my hotel preferences to one that is closer to the interstate and only $10 more a night.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

The exterior of the property isn't appealing, but the room was spacious, clean and quiet. TV and shower were excellent. Bedding and towels looked almost new. Mattress was extremely hard, however. The fitness center didn't amount to much. Of the three front-desk employees I encountered, one was extremely courteous; another was too busy with his cell phone to be bothered; and the third was OK.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Livonia

Address: 36655 Plymouth Road/I-96, Livonia, MI 48150
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Livonia 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful clean hotel, free highspeed wireless, outdoor pool, meeting room which will set up to 80 people, free contiental breakfast, Great Location. Come and check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Livonia Hotel Livonia
Livonia Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Livonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.