We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel, but nice staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19525 Victor Parkway, Livonia, MI 48152   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-fi Package
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Livonia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orinda, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tired hotel, but nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is in a nice forest setting, though near a highway. Rather difficult to find as, apparently, Livonia does not allow for signage!! If my GPS had not told me I had missed it, I would have kept on driving past it. It is "tired"all around (architecture, elevators, style, decoration), though everything worked. The staff was nice and helpful, and the breakfast (free) was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    145
    110
    76
    42
See reviews for
187
56
22
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is location on a side road off the highway in a commercial business area. I drove passed the driveway entrance three times. There is no sign whatsoever to alert anyone where the hotel is located. Once I found it and got to the front desk, I was told "Oh yeah, it happens all the time...Everyone has trouble finding us" I have a suggestion- put up a sign! The hotel pretends to be fancy by the lavish interior which includes an overpriced restaurant and a manmade creek running through it, but don't be fooled. The cleanliness of the rooms left much to be desired. After two minutes with my socks off, the bottom of my feet were black. There are other hotel options in this area, both better and more affordable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison J, General Manager at Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I understand from your review that you were not completely satisfied with our some aspects of our hotel. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss in further detail the reasons why our hotel was not a perfect fit for you. I’m always glad to listen to our guests suggestions.

Again I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Bad - smoky room. Inadequate exercise room. Not a good arrangement for 1 day pass with nearby gym. Good - best made to order breakfast I have had in a long time. All these problems are easy to fix. Hopefully Embassy will take notice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I like this hotel. It's a little dated and the elevator is ridiculously slow, but the staff is very nice and the food is decent. The atrium with the fish in the lagoon is kinda nice, if a little old and run down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very clean; spacious rooms with a mini fridge. Terrific omellettes made to order and breakfast buffet. Great place to stay if wanting to shop at Twelve Oaks Mall. Group of 7 stayed in two rooms and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was everything and more for all of our dietary needs. Cooked to order breakfasts were great! Room was neat, arranged nicely and bathroom was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family of four stayed here as part of a 50th anniversary celebration/reunion that was happening at the hotel. Even though we made reservations several months in advance, they had no rooms with two queens; I don't know if they have any, or just very few that were already reserved. The pull-out sofa was at most a double, and was uncomfortable to sleep on. My husband felt the room seemed in need of updating. On the upside, it was nice to have two completely separate areas (separated by a door). And they stock the fridge with two FREE bottles of water, and you can get additional bottles by asking at the front desk.

I thought the hotel atrium area was very nice; although some people have commented that the waterfall and running streams make it humid, I thought it was very nice.

The breakfast was pretty good; they have a made-to-order omelette station (I thought a little on the greasy side, but others disagreed) as well as hot items like bacon, french toast (not great), pancakes, and scrambled eggs.

It's worth noting that the hotel is in the middle of a business park; it seemed like forever to get to any main road. On the weekend, the place was filled with at least two other large reunion gatherings, but on the weekdays (we were there 4 nights), it seemed to be mostly business travelers.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi

Address: 19525 Victor Parkway, Livonia, MI 48152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Livonia
#3 Business Hotel in Livonia
#4 Family Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short drive from downtown Detroit is the Embassy Suites Detroit-Livonia/Novi hotel, an all-suite hotel with all the comforts of home. Guests unwind in spacious two-room suites featuring a private bedroom and living room. Each suite includes a large dining/work table, two cable televisions, two telephones, wireless Internet access, microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The hotel offers complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast in the morning, and complimentary drinks with light snacks at the Evening Reception every night. The Cascades on-site Restaurant serves lunch and dinner, and Room Service is also available. The hotel is welcome to large meetings and events. Guests who book the hotel for a wedding reception can also receive a complimentary on-site wedding ceremony in the gorgeous atrium. Guests enjoy recreational activities at the hotel's 24-hrfitness center, indoor pool and sauna. Business facilities include a 24-hour business center, complimentary printing service, meeting rooms, audio/visual equipment rental, and banquet facilities. Other amenities at the Livonia hotel include local area shuttle service, laundry service and safe deposit box. Guests of the Embassy Suites Detroit-Livonia/Novi hotel enjoy being near local attractions like Comerica Park, Ford Field, Henry Ford Museum, golf courses and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi Hotel Livonia
Embassy Suites Livonia
Livonia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.