We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel - great manager” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19525 Victor Parkway, Livonia, MI 48152   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Gas Card Package
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Livonia
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average hotel - great manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is what you would expect. We were there for a kid's hockey tournament and the kids enjoyed it. It was 30 minutes from everywhere we needed to go. The front desk had a lot of attitude, but Katherine (the manager) was terrific in solving some of the problems we encountered

Room Tip: Make sure you do not have a room over the indoor pool unless you like the smell of chlorine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    100
    84
    51
    32
See reviews for
127
33
17
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I live about 20 minutes away and we use this hotel when we want to get away from home. We go to the movies that is 5 minutes away and there are great restaurants in the area. We really enjoy the awesome breakfast especially the omelettes. The staff are exceptionally friendly including the front desk, restaurant and omelette chef.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Used to stay here more often but have been finding better bargain and properties. Choose this again because of the rate and made a mistake.
Staff was nice but the room was really really worn. Same issues I had at another Hilton property this week. Worn room, old shower, took hot water forever to come up and to kick it off the water didn't drain from the tub. I had to take a shower with 6 inches of water!!!

Seems to me that the Embassy Suite brand has really gone down hill in the last few years and their older properties just aren't holding up. It's sad because I really like the rooms and the designs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo MI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel in Jan 2012.
It is very spacious. The happy hour bar is great.
The breakfast was unbeliavable... love the omelette chef.
The conference room usage along with awesome food service.
The ceilings seem to be paper thin, lots of conversations can be heard,
especially during lat night hours.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived...we were immediately given a complimentary dinner.
After being in the car all day, it was a welcome relief. We especially liked the way the room was laid out for privacy and for silence.

Room Tip: We prefer the upper floors rather than ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our weekend was a busy one. We were not given the room that we requested the first night. However, the front desk staff accommodated us on the second night by moving us to another room. There were a lot of kids running around. The managers reception was not worth attending, very small selection. The rooms were very outdated, with wallpaper borders peeling off the wall. Needs some updating.

Room Tip: rooms on the ends were quieter except in the morning, we overlooked the breakfast area and heard dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

When I checked in, there was a 12-15 person line. That's okay, it was busy and three front desk staff members were working diligently to move people along. After 25 minutes standing in line, I made it to Carleton's terminal. He began with the obligatory greetings and looked up my reservation efficiently and politely. When he realized my room was not ready (at 5:00 pm), he told me that "house keeping is still preparing rooms" and "I will need you to stand over there; we will let you know when your room is available." I asked if he had a window when my room might be available (so I could walk away and come back). His attitude quickly devolved and he stared at his monitor (so as to not engage with me) and repeated exactly the same phrase as he did the first time: "house keeping is still preparing rooms. I will need you to stand over there; we will let you know when your room is available," but this time he seemed annoyed by my question. I asked "do think it will be 30 minutes? An hour?" He raised his head and his hand (gesturing to me to move away) "I don't know, I'll let you know" but really aggressively. I, at this point, had stood in line for 25 minutes, been told at 5:00 pm that my room isn't ready and I said to Carleton, "all I want to know is a range of how long you expect." He said, "I can't give you a range." I said "more than an hour; less than an hour?" FINALLY he said "10-15 minutes." I said (in a very condescending tone), "There we go. That's all I you had to say." Carleton's response: "WHATEVER." and he walked back to the office (which had the door leaning against the wall, as it was not attached any longer. NOT a great first impression when you walk in an Embassy Suites). I was the president of my 20-year class reunion and I selected this location and WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED by Barb, the facility, or the staff 3 years ago. It was great!!! But I do not think I will ever return because of Carleton, the detached office door, the various space heaters in the lobby. Looked very low-class. NOT AT ALL what I have come to expect from this, or any Embassy Suites Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi

Address: 19525 Victor Parkway, Livonia, MI 48152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short drive from downtown Detroit is the Embassy Suites Detroit-Livonia/Novi hotel, an all-suite hotel with all the comforts of home. Guests unwind in spacious two-room suites featuring a private bedroom and living room. Each suite includes a large dining/work table, two cable televisions, two telephones, wireless Internet access, microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The hotel offers complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast in the morning, and complimentary drinks with light snacks at the Evening Reception every night. The Cascades on-site Restaurant serves lunch and dinner, and Room Service is also available. The hotel is welcome to large meetings and events. Guests who book the hotel for a wedding reception can also receive a complimentary on-site wedding ceremony in the gorgeous atrium. Guests enjoy recreational activities at the hotel's 24-hrfitness center, indoor pool and sauna. Business facilities include a 24-hour business center, complimentary printing service, meeting rooms, audio/visual equipment rental, and banquet facilities. Other amenities at the Livonia hotel include local area shuttle service, laundry service and safe deposit box. Guests of the Embassy Suites Detroit-Livonia/Novi hotel enjoy being near local attractions like Comerica Park, Ford Field, Henry Ford Museum, golf courses and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi Hotel Livonia
Embassy Suites Livonia
Livonia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.