We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Glorified Holiday Inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19525 Victor Parkway, Livonia, MI 48152   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-fi Package
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Livonia
Southeast Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just a Glorified Holiday Inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

My husband and I were looking for a romantic night away from home, so we booked a room at the Embassy Suites Livonia. That was our first mistake. Upon check-in, we knew we chose the wrong hotel when a busload of soccer moms and their hyperactive, rude, noisy ADHD offspring took over the lobby. The room was just ok, we weren't really impressed at all. The hotel was crawling with children. Everywhere. There were signs posted everywhere that children must be accompanied by a adult, but these rules were obviously just recommended guidelines that no one bothered to pay attention to. We complained several times to the manager at the front desk, and all we got in return were shrugged shoulders and, "we're trying to take care of it". When we decided to take a swim later, there were used towels everywhere scattered about the pool area and not one clean, dry towel on the racks. I personally went to the front desk and requested towels. 20 minutes later, no towels. So I used the emergency phone from the pool and simply said, "towels!!!!!" to the manager who answered the phone. Finally, they brought towels. Empty beer cans everywhere in the pool area. 10:00 pm (adult swim) and the whirlpool was crammed with 4 adults and 8 kids. Finally the manager came in at about 10:30 pm and asked the children to leave, as it was "adult swim" time.

Will we come back? ABSOLUTELY NOT.

Do we recommend this hotel? ABSOLUTELY NOT.

For God's sake, stay at the Novi Sheraton on 8 Mile and Haggerty Road in Novi if you want a romantic weekend with your significant other.

If you are in town for a soccer tournament with your kids, by all means- have at it. Just show some respect toward the other guests who may not appreciate your precious little darlings tearing through the hotel like little tazmanian devils.

EMBASSY SUITES HOTEL MANAGEMENT- TAKE CONTROL OF YOUR HOTEL.

  • Liked — Checking out the next day and going home
  • Disliked — Complete lack of control by hotel management
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    125
    100
    66
    36
See reviews for
160
42
21
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

Every Detroit highland Game festival for the past 5 years I have stayed here. They have an EXCELLENT STAFF and the breakfast is off the hook. OVERPRICED and have to pay an EXTRA 14.95 for their wireless Internet service. WOW, I can stay at a cheaper hotel with less amenities but at least I have FREE Internet.
Elevators were down for maintenance but still need a face lift.

  • Liked — Breakfast bar is out of this world
  • Disliked — OVERPRICED wireless Internet
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo,NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

I'll begin this review by saying that I have travelled extensively throughout the US, Canada and Europe and have stayed at some pretty swanky 4-star hotels in the process, but I cannot honestly remember having service as good as my family and I experienced at the Embassy Suites in Livonia, MI. We arrived at 11pm, and as many of you may have learned the hard way (as we have at other hotels), the staff at that hour is not usually at its' best. Not here--we were greeted by a very cheerful and helpful young woman behind the desk, who not only checked us in quickly, but after we went to our room, also did some research online (as well as on the phone) to answer some questions for us, then slipped the info, including map, print-outs and brochures under our door, so as not to disturb us. The hotel is beautiful (everythig looks new) with a stream going through the pretty greenery in the atrium of the hotel. A+++++ for cleanliness(in our room and throughout the property, including the pool area), everything looked and smelled super clean. The breakfast was fantastic--with every breakfast item imaginable,including GREAT omelets,fresh waffles, crisp bacon, and even oriental breakfast. The hotel was very family-friendly, and the pool even has a little waterfall in one corner, which was fun. We also enjoyed a quiet, comfortable stay both nights with extra pillows already in the room and our request for an additional blanket for the comfy pull-out bed (in our king suite) promptly fulfilled. We were able to get a great rate (especially for an all-suite hotel, including fridge, microwave and separate televisions) with our AAA discount, paying $99 one night and $103 the other. For those of you who are shoppers, there's a new Ikea nearby, too--we had a ball! One last comment--we noticed during a ride on one of the hotel elevators that someone had spilled juice on the floor, so we notified the nearest staff member in the gift shop. A short time later, we used the same elevator, the spill was gone, just like it should be. In fact, at this hotel everything was just like it should be--I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

I've chosen this hotel under the fame of Hilton chain and booked at 139 USD per night for a suit but obviously the facility and service is not at the level of Hilton hotel and the price it is tagged. Fairly speaking it is clean and staff are friendly. However hotel room, lobby, elevator looks a bit out of maintenance with yellow water marks on the wall of bathroom. The bath tube is only at the right size for kids to take a bath. There is no laundry service on Sunday (and instead of leaving the laundry bag in room, you need to carry it over to reception), no foreign exchange (actually the reception lady advised me to find foreign exchange on the US - Canada boarder), no automated wake up call by telephone, limited wash room supplies (not at 139USD class). It would be definitely a good offer if it is priced below 80USD but if the hotel wants to charge premium of Hilton, it would be better to spend also premium to improve the facility and level of services to be in line with the other Hilton in the world.

  • Liked — Good Location, Busienss Service
  • Disliked — Sort and Level of Service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

Stayed for the week-end with the kids. Breakfast was GREAT and the best part it's free. Bartender was nice were they give you FREE drinks. The waterfall in the swiming pool was a hit with the kids. The employees were all nice and everyone spoke to the kids. We'll go back.

  • Liked — FREE breakfast buffet and drinks
  • Disliked — nothg
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

Stayed here for a corporate function. $180 a night. Definitely would have stayed elsewhere if not selected by upper management. The good: Beautiful atrium, friendly staff, extensive breakfast, nice hospitality hour. Several commented that the food (dinner) was just "ok" but I thought it was fine. Drinks were kind of pricey. No wired internet (though it did have good signal for free WI FI if you are so equipped). Found a couple of bottles of water in the fridge for free. The not so good: All the plants tend to bring those silly little flies, spoling the atrium experience. The gym was minimal. My mattress was very thin and not consistent with hotels of this grade. Remote for TV didn't work. Shower curtain too short (water ran on the floor) Little irritants you don't expect with a hotel of this price. Quite frankly, the very poor mattress was the killer for me. I stay at Doubletree and others and they have all figured out that spending a litle more on a mattress is a great investment.

  • Liked — Beautiful atrium, nice breakfast.
  • Disliked — Very thin and uncomfortable mattress.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

I stayed at Embassy Suites over Labor Day weekend. The rooms are beautiful and warm/cozy. I enjoy the partitioned rooms that made it feel like a small apartment. They have balconies that are nice to get a breath of fresh air. Loved the pool and cooked to order breakfast. Very clean and plush; set up for business as well as leisure. Now, the walls are paper thin. However, I found that turning on a tv and letting others know they have neighbors will encourage them to lower their voices. Everybody tends to be respectful once they realize how thin the walls are. There is a multiplicity of children, probably due to the wonderful pool w/waterfall. Here again, the hotel was wonderful about getting the kids out at 10pm for the adult swim. I enjoyed my stay here quite a bit and didn't smell anything stale/moldy as previous writers have written. The lobby is beautiful with waterfalls and running streams. There is a store also. Close to restaurants and freeways, I will stay here again.

  • Liked — Plush. Restaurant. Store. Pool.
  • Disliked — Thin Walls. Meager food at Manager's Reception
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy your stay!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi

Address: 19525 Victor Parkway, Livonia, MI 48152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short drive from downtown Detroit is the Embassy Suites Detroit-Livonia/Novi hotel, an all-suite hotel with all the comforts of home. Guests unwind in spacious two-room suites featuring a private bedroom and living room. Each suite includes a large dining/work table, two cable televisions, two telephones, wireless Internet access, microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The hotel offers complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast in the morning, and complimentary drinks with light snacks at the Evening Reception every night. The Cascades on-site Restaurant serves lunch and dinner, and Room Service is also available. The hotel is welcome to large meetings and events. Guests who book the hotel for a wedding reception can also receive a complimentary on-site wedding ceremony in the gorgeous atrium. Guests enjoy recreational activities at the hotel's 24-hrfitness center, indoor pool and sauna. Business facilities include a 24-hour business center, complimentary printing service, meeting rooms, audio/visual equipment rental, and banquet facilities. Other amenities at the Livonia hotel include local area shuttle service, laundry service and safe deposit box. Guests of the Embassy Suites Detroit-Livonia/Novi hotel enjoy being near local attractions like Comerica Park, Ford Field, Henry Ford Museum, golf courses and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi Hotel Livonia
Embassy Suites Livonia
Livonia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Detroit - Livonia/Novi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.