We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but layout leaves noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17123 Laurel Park Drive N, Livonia, MI 48152   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Livonia
michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice hotel but layout leaves noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here one night. We walked in hoping for a room and they had one and it was a quick and nice easy check in and check out. The room was nice (even bath and body work products) and very large for a standard room. Toured the hotel about 7 years ago for a place for guest to stay after my wedding and after seeing one room then I quickly left and choose another hotel for them. They remodeled since then and everything in the room has been redone which was nice to see. My only complaint it is an open concept in lobby with pool which leads to a lot of noise in room in the morning. Once 8 am hit you could hear kids screaming and having a good time which was a bit bothersome for us since are kids were at grandmas for the night so we were trying to get a nice morning of sleeping in. Other then the noise in the morning it was a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get away from main area of the hotel. Don't know if it is a option but worth asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randall R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear girlfrommichigan'

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the noise may have caused you. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Randall Richmond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    27
    22
    18
See reviews for
27
18
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A typical Holiday Inn with comfortably furnished rooms and great amenities, though our room is dated and needs better upkeep and maintenance repair.
- 3 stars overall; 4stars for all other good points.

Our Room is spacious and comfortable, though quite dated. It comes with 2 queen beds, a desk, a cooler, a loung chair/ottoman; though no safe. The hotel also has laundry facility, which we put it to good use.

The hotel has a very attractive attrium with a pool, a fittness room with floor to ceiling glass windows, a spacious lounge & game area, and an inviting breakfast room and bar.

My wife and I had a nice stay here for one night. The front staff was extremely friendly and helpful. As an ambassador member, I was entitled room upgrade. Since they ran out of suites, the nice front staff let us have vouchers for a free full breakfast and for hotel points as compensation.

Suggested areas for improvements:
1. Our standard room was a bit dated.
2. Our door security latch was missing!
3. The ceiling panels above the tub were dirty! The panel for maintenance access was out of place.
4. In the area around the elevator, better room direction signs are needed, to those rooms facing the attrium (through the CLOSED double doors)!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beautiful attrium! However, if you want quietness, stay away from the attrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randall R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Peterskis3,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for noticing how friendly our staff is and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the noise may have caused you.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Randall Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend for the NASCAR races. the hotel was clean in the main area. this rooms need a little refresh, the carpets were damp and the bathroom needed a little repair. Our breakfast each morning was good there. this hotel served its purpose for us. don't expect anything very fancy. Hotel staff was friendly and was a good stay. Sleep number beds are a bonus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randall R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Wheelieover,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the damp carpet & dated bathroom. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Randall Richmond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location, with lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Staff friendly and professional, restaurant and lounge on site, but has very limited menu. This is a convention hotel, and common areas are very clean, the only negative thing I can say is it's time for a facelift, the hotel furnishings are date and show signs of age. It is not as crisp as many Holiday Inns. I would stay again because the rates are very reasonable for the area and it is clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randall R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear stewystang,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel and noticing how great our staff treats people. I will be sure to share your comments with them. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management at the Holiday Inn Livonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending a family function in which several relatives also stayed here. They accommodated our large party well and bundled our rooms together...much appreciated. Staff was professional and courteous at all times and even kept us in the same room when we extended our stay for one more night. Facility is a little dated, and the grounds and parking lot could use some attention, but others might not mind. The breakfast buffet was OK given the price. Coffee was good (a personal test of mine). Our only issue was they neglected to reserve enough tables for our party in time for a family breakfast - a minor quibble. The mall next door is very convenient (try Olga's for a great lunch).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randall R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Matty2999,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel and noticing how great are staff treats people. I will be sure to share your comments with them. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management at the Holiday Inn Livonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Simply put, im a bit of a hotel snob. I've stayed at some great places. Even though I was reluctant to stay here, it has been perfect for our weekend in town to visit family. Very convenient location, very clean, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. I will post pics in a few day, but you'll see an average looking room with everything you'll need for your stay. We are not using the pool area but looks good for kids. I would recommend and will definitely stay again when we are in from Cincinnati to visit family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randall R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear shannon1124,

Thank you for your great comments regarding our staff & hotel! We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I am a bit surprised by some of the poor reviews as my stay was completely fine. I checked in around noon with no problem, the room was very clean and well decorated as were the common areas. The staff I interacted with were all professional and friendly.

We had the continental breakfast at the hotel for $5.95, which was pretty flimsy for what we paid but better than trying to find somewhere else.

I will agree that the layout can be confusing, and signage could be better.

Room Tip: There are rooms around the pool, I would avoid those since the area was a bit loud with kids in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randall R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear irishred77,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel and noticing how great are staff treats people. I will be sure to share your comments with them. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management at the Holiday Inn Livonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia

Address: 17123 Laurel Park Drive N, Livonia, MI 48152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated, full service, hotel with two food outlets and two bars. Located next door to the Laurel Park Mall. Complimentary parking, local transportation and high speed wireless internet access. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, exercise facility, pool tables and game room. We have over 15,000 sq. ft of meeting space. Numerous restaurants with in walking distance(Red Robin, Jimmy Johns, Buffalo Wild Wings, California Pizza Kitchen, Pancheros, Applebees,etc). Check out how great the hotel looks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Detroit Livonia
Radisson Livonia
Livonia Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center Detroit - Livonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.