We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and a very good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Marriott Livonia

Save Saved
You added Detroit Marriott Livonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Livonia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17100 Laurel Park Drive North, Livonia, MI 48152   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Livonia
San Antonio, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfort and a very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We signed up for a small conference based in this hotel, so it was a natural choice. Being frequent Marriott guests, we were assigned to the concierge level and given vouchers for breakfast, as the lounge that usually serves breakfast was closed for the weekend. The hotel is attached to a very nice mall, so rooms with a view were limited, but after we rejected a room with a view of the mall rooftop, we were cheerfully reassigned to one across the hall with a nice view of courtyard greenery.
The hotel restaurant and bar, "Sweet Lorraines" proved excellent, with a number of creative vegetarian choices. The room was comfortable and quiet, with a large flat-screen HD TV. The 24 Hr. Fitness Center and indoor pool were both fine. Entrance from the hotel to the mall afforded a fine place to shop and take a walk. Convenient free parking completed the picture.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room ask for a change; it was cheerfully given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you kindly for your positive recommendation of our hotel, the Detroit Marriott Livonia. We are pleased that you were happy with your meeting space and guest accommodations, and even more thankful for your honesty in speaking up regarding your room assignment, allowing us an opportunity to meet all your needs; including a peaceful view. Please know we greatly appreciate your patronage and would welcome an opportunity to be selected as your host hotel for all your meeting and leisure hotel needs.

Sincerely, Danielle Bastianelli / Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    76
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
30
28
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We arrived late 9:30pm or so after a 5 hours flight. I read from previous review about the corner room having more space. We had three large luggage, two pillot cart (carry-on),, one car seat, one stroller, one booster seat, and one toddler. Lucky for us, there was a corner room available so late in the day. We stayed at Marriott Livonia for one night then checked out the next day to head to Canada for one week holiday.

Pros:
-Great staff... very accomodating.
-Felt safe for two ladies and a toddler traveling together.
-Corner room allowed us to move our luggage out of our way, as well as provide a space for the toddler to run around to use up her toddler energy.
-Room Service had good food.

Con:
-The carpet is sceptical.
-Short staff. When we checked-in (9:30pm) there were no luggage cart available to bring our things to our room. The front desk staff was nice to offer her assistance lugging our things to the room. The next day we called for a bell man for check-out and had to call again after 15 mins. The bell man was nice to wait for us outside the hotel while I checked out at the register desk.

I'm giving it four because of the carpet in our room is questionable and because of the short staff. Would we stay here again? Yes and I hope we'll get to stay longer.

Room Tip: Request for corner room to have more walking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you kindly for your well thought out review of our hotel, the Detroit Marriott Livonia. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass along your positive remarks as our team works hard to exceed all of our guests service expectations. Regarding the carpeting, we are thrilled to inform you that we are planning a renovation to include replacing the carpeting, wall vinyl, drapes, and chairs beginning early next year! We are excited for this improvement and hope when you return you will see the new changes. Please know we always appreciate your loyalty and support but more importantly your thoughtful review which only helps us to keep aware of all our customers needs.

Sincerely,

Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed for the first time to attend the annual GAW convention. I have stayed at many Marriott properties and am a Marriort Rewards member.

The room was very comfortable. All of my requests were honored so I was very pleased.

I love the convenience of the attached mall. It allowed us to go eat breakfast, lunch and dinner for very reasonable prices and offered many shopping opportunities as well. We were there during all the dreary rain so it was fabulous to not have to go outside. I would highly recommend the bread pudding at Olga's and the Coney Island restaurant has a lot of breakfast choices at good values. We had an appetizer and drink at Sweet Lorriane's and it was good.

The only suggestion I would make to the hotel is to offer Marrioitt Rewards members extra services. I was not informed of any extras during my stay and not even invited to the concierge lounge.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very Good Service
Excellent location, near mayor highway junctions. Besides a mall. Plenty of Restaurants around.
Rooms are not as large as desired.
Plus "Concierge Room" is closed from Friday noon to Monday morning.
Excellent swimming pool. Good fitness area
Good Restaurant on-site

Room Tip: Search at marriott.com for all packages available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is a very nice business-class hotel. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable. Wi-Fi was fast and easy. My wake-up call was on-time and consistent (which seems to be a problem at many hotels).

The hotel is attached to a mall also. So that gave me opportunity to go "out" for dinner without actually having to deal with the bad weather. I recommend Bar Louie as a casual place to eat dinner. (The Voodoo Chicken is excellent)

Sweet Loraine's is the hotel restaurant. I had breakfast there every morning. The wait staff was excellent. I had dinner there one night. (The Cajun burger is really good).

A very nice stay in snowy Detroit in April.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Hello and good afternoon;

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a thorough assessment of your stay with us, the Detroit Marriott Livonia, this past April. Although the weather was a bit "under the weather" we are pleased you enjoyed your stay as noted through your many positive remarks. We value our guests thoughts and opinions, whether positive or noting improvement, with the utmost regard and those who take the time to let us know how they felt during their stay with us, in the same high esteem. It is our hope that when you return to Livonia you will once again make our hotel your home away from home. Thank you once again for your generous remarks. Sincerely, Danielle Bastianelli, Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Stayed for the 2011 Grant a Wish Barbie Convention.

Good hotel. Plenty of room and clean.

Staff was nice enough to find an item I left behind. It was a shirt that meant a lot to me. The hotel mailed it promptly at no charge. Thanks!

Only thing I think could be improved is the hotel's lack of guest information telling the services available and how to obtain them. Another guest also had the same issue so it wasn't just a lost book in our room.

You need to know what the hotel offers so you can request it. Nothing is offered up front.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you kindly for your positive remarks regarding your stay with us during the Annual Grant A Wish Conference. We have been very honored to have been selected as the host hotel for this important event for many many years. We strive ever year to go above and beyond or our GAW friends and always wish for a fresh, positive and great customer experience. Your recommendation for a directory that offers information regarding the hotels total service and amenities as well as area services is certainly an important recommendation and one I will be sure to pass along to our General Manager.

Thank you once again; we hope to have the pleasure of your patronage for GAW 2012!

Sincerely,
Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Loved how the fan setting worked without shutting off. The bed was super comfortable. This hotel is attached to a mall so I didn't have to walk outside in the cold, snowy weather. I would be happy to stay here anytime.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you kindly for your positive response to our hotel, the Detroit Marriott Livonia. We are honored for your patronage and glad to learn you enjoyed your stay. More importantly we appreciate your having taken the time to tell us how you felt about your stay; we value all our customers thoughts and opinions, after all they help us to better serve you, our guest. Thank you once again for your promotion, enthusiasm and kind words. We would be honored to have you stay with us once again.

Sincerely, Danielle Bastianelli, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Detroit Marriott Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Livonia

Address: 17100 Laurel Park Drive North, Livonia, MI 48152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Livonia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Detroit Marriott Livonia is conveniently located near all of Detroit's major expressways and is easily accessible to downtown Detroit, Ann Arbor, and Southeast Michigan. Our on site transportation providers will be happy to extend our discount to you when traveling to Detroit's Metro Airport, a mere 18 miles from our hotel. Connected to Laurel Park Mall our hotel is just steps away from a variety of dining and entertainment options. Once inside the Detroit Marriott Livonia hotel you will enjoy guestrooms and suites featuring luxurious down comforters and duvets, HD flat screen TV's and recently upgraded wireless internet. Treat yourself to relaxing diversions in our indoor pool, whirlpool and extensive fitness center. Our on site restaurant and home town favorite Sweet Lorraine's is sure to please your palate with it use of organic and locally grown catering fare. Discover the finest of Detroit's hotels in Livonia, Michigan - at the full service Detroit Marriott Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Detroit Marriott Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Livonia Hotel Livonia
Marriott Livonia
Livonia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Marriott Livonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.