We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Fish Market

Mitchell's Fish Market
17600 Haggerty Rd, Livonia, MI 48152-2682
734-464-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mitchell's Fish Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 219 Restaurants in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6 & 7 Mile
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were able to book a reservation and sit on their very pleasant patio. Perfect and quiet setting for dinner. Their house salad is a good start, and they serve warm sourdough bread; both very tasty. I am fussy about crab cakes, but these were 90% jumbo lump crab meat, and both delicious and filling. Chose to ask for the cocktail and remoulade sauces, rather than tarter; it was a good decision. My wife had their Parmesan Chicken, which was surprisingly perfect; the pasta that came with it was a butter sauce, over done and heavy handed. For the pasta, I would recommend olive oil and Parmesan; hold the butter. Carrot cake for dessert was huge and delicious also. Three of us could not come close to finishing it, and it was very filling. Excellent and attentive server as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    66
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, GA, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

What more can I say. This was my first time in the area and ate here based on the reviews from Trip Advisor. The service was impeccable and food excellent. I will definitely eat here again if I am in the area. This is a great place for a business lunch/dinner or for a special occasion. Yet I saw many families there as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“We are regulars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We eat quite a bit of fish, and Mitchells never disappoints. They can handle my husband's need for NO GLUTEN at all of any type; he gets very sick with even the slightest amount or cross contamination. The bread basket is to die for and well, if it is just hubby and me we skip that as I do not need more bread I am already well padded. The fish is great, always really good. My only issue with this establishment is that it is sort of New York City Style, that is noisy and loud. I prefer quiet soft places to eat tucked in a corner somewhere and well Mitchell's gets a crowd and the decor just bounces the noise everywhere like I said, New York City Style.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The food and service are always great in this place. Gluten Free menu available. Deserts are awesome, try the 7-layer carrot cake but be prepare to share (it's huge). I can't believe people will rate a restaurant 1 star because they were cold.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Not impressed. The server was not knowledgeable about the offerings. He offered to get the chef, but then the chef refused to come to answer our questions. We were after truly wild caught fish and we couldn't get a satisfactory answer. Will not be dining hear again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.