We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Alexander's Restaurant

J Alexander's Restaurant
19200 Haggerty Rd, Livonia, MI 48152-1074
734-464-9220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 219 Restaurants in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“outstanding quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

J Alexander's is a great place for a memorable meal. Entertained Japanese clients who were hungry for steak and they thoroughly enjoyed it. Calamari appetizer was the only letdown, not very crunchy and the sauce was flavorless. Caesar salad was crisp and fresh but a little over-dressed. Ahi tuna was outstanding, cooked to absolute perfection with a snappy wasabi mayo sauce. Smashed potatoes were rich and creamy, a perfect accompaniment. Overall, a great dining experience

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    66
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Two couples for dinner on a Saturday evening. Had to wait about 30 minutes for a table at six and sat in the bar. Good Mojito's (made with Vodka). Fairly loud in the bar and at the table. consistently a good meal. We had the quacamole appetizer, prime rib, fish tacos, salmon, and the French dip. Service was a bit pushy, but with some nuance from us, got the message. No problems or surprises.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I travel for a living and eat out 20 days out of 30. I get so sick of restaurant food and am always looking for something different. I was pleasantly surprised with J. Alexander's. The attmosphere was eligant yet not stuffy. The service was second to none. The prime rib was probably one of the best custs of meat I've had in a very, very long time. I would definately go back to this establishment should I be in the area again. As a matter of fact, I would go out of my way to eat here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife had the swordfish and I the Scottish samon. They were excellent. The swordfish came with a large side of coleslaw, that tasted fresh and made from scratch. The samon came with a side cold brown rice side, mixed with beans, and delicious seasoning. We didn't finish our dinners (they were large servings) as we started with the smoked samon dip. The dip was good, but didn't include enough seasoned toasted bread. We we didn't wait (we arrived at 5:45pm on a Saturday night). There was a 1 hour wait when we left at 7pm. It was our first at J. Alexander's, and for food it's like Novi's Bonefish, Ann Arbor's Real Seafood, etc. It is expensive, and it is worth it. We will go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hmm .. $$$ + Average ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Trendy/popular place .. but overpriced .. their service was only semi-good .. so I probably won't return ..

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Alexander's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.