We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garland Lodge & Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewiston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garland Lodge & Resort
4700 N Red Oak Rd, Lewiston, MI 49756   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lewiston
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our group has been going to Garland for 12 years. The reservationist inadvertantly cancelled one of our villas and our group had to split up. I asked Paul, the manager of reservations, to help and there was no accomodation. The front desk staff are unhelpful, rude and act as if they are doing you favor instead of performing great customer service. Their computer system wasn't working properly and I stood at the front desk for 1/2 hour waiting to get my room key. Finally I insisted they not make their problem my problem and let me get settled in to my room. All the other staff were great.
Our group is reconsidering for next year, not the best value for $.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
It’s unfortunate that you didn’t ask to speak to a Director during your stay so we could attempt to resolve any concerns you may have had. If you would like to speak with a Director about any concerns you may have had during your recent stay please call Garland at (989) 786-2211
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    10
    17
    22
See reviews for
23
46
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are a group of 8, we went in September 2012 and had a good time, we rebooked and paid our $800 deposit in November of the same year. Without notice and without making us aware they canceled our trip and kept the deposit. We found out about 1 month before our trip because we called to book an extra day and they let us know at that point that it was canceled. They told us they were booked and that there was not much they could do to accomodate, this is despite booking 10 months in advace and booking holiday time around it. If you are brave enough to book at Garland be sure to call every month to make sure that your reservation is still being held.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Adam, your statements are not entirely accurate. There was a mistake on our part in canceling your reservation. We did offer you SEVERAL other room options which you informed us that your group is very rowdy (you mentioned your group likes to smoke and drink and can get rather loud) and needed more seclusion then we are offering you. We also REFUNDED ALL of your deposit as soon as we notified you of our mistake and as soon as you declined to take advantage of the other room types we offered you. We sincerely apologized then and now. Your use of profanity in expressing your disappointment of our mistake was not appropriate and not received well.
Again, we do have other room types that your small group would enjoy if you would like to reconsider and contact us to book for the same time frame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our family has stayed at the Garland during July for the past four years. The grounds are lovely. The golf courses well maintained, challenging and well managed. The dining experience has improved the last two years. We always stay in a log cabin style cottage. Rooms could use some updating. Carpeting a bit worn, remove the artificial plants and improve housekeeping. Our room was not vacuumed during our entire three day stay. Since our goal is to relax, enjoy a golf experience and visit family in the area we do not want to have to be inconvenienced with having to notify management about room issues. The rooms should also mirror the beauty and elegance of the rest of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the review Alice. If you had brought your housekeeping concerns to any staff member they would have involved a manager, and Director if needed, to assure your concerns were addressed and you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Our managing owner has put much into improvements within our resort since he acquired the resort. Some units have been recently updated, we receive many compliments on these units, and some of our units are slated for updates in the future. I hope on your next stay with us you request an updated unit and please bring any concerns you have during your stay to the attention of management so your concern could be addressed at that time. We look forward to seeing you in the 2014 season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Recently just spent a long weekend in August with 10 buddies on golf trip. We played 5 rounds of golf. 2 on Swampfire, 2 on Reflections, and 1 on Monarch. All courses were in great shape and each offered a different type of layout. The staff at the proshop, in the restaurants and at the front desk were all great. Kara and Alex did an excellent job on the beverage cart. Heading into the trip we though we were in the golf cottages, but turned out we were in the golf villas. These had BBQ's and a min fridge but not full kitchens like we thought we had. No big deal as all the stuff we picked up at the Grocery Store was for BBQ anyway. I don't think this was at any fault of the resort, we were just under the wrong impression as to whether we were in the cottages or villas. The breakfast buffet was excellent each morning. A little concerned heading into the trip at some of the negative reviews but the golf at Garland was excellent, the resort was great, and the service was top notch. I would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
It’s very up lifting to read a review like this. Thank you Matt.
Our resort does offer several different room types. I understand that some of our guests look forward to a full kitchen in their unit, I’m glad that our villas with grills worked out for the best for your group. We can’t wait to see you and your group again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My 2 brothers & son stayed in one of the golf cottages a week ago. We had been to Garland for 15 years straight until a couple years ago. We decided to start our annual trip back up again. After I booked the trip my brothers got a little nervous because of some of the reviews they had seen and were worried the change in ownership had resulted in a deterioration of services. Well I am gladIdid not listen to them. The trip ways great and the courses wherein great condition. We had a slight problem with the deck lights, reported it and they were fixed immediately. I travel a lot and have found management wants to know of issues. You cannot improve what you do not know.

We got there early, easily moved up our tee time and our cottage was ready early. No muss, no fuss.

As we left my brothers said to me to make sure we book it again for next year. Not sure at our age we will make it another 15 years in a row, but we will try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Patrick, It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Garland. We look forward to seeing you and your family back at Garland very soon. Please continue to bring to the management’s attention any concerns you have. Enjoy your fall and winter. Thank you for leaving a positive review for others to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Lodge and played two of the four golf courses on site (Monarch and Reflections). Others in our party stayed in the golf cabins which are quite a distance away. The courses are challenging and well maintained. One thing we learned about the Fountains course is that it is reserved for members only. Our room in the Lodge was comfortable with a jacuzzi, fireplace and patio. It would have been nice to have had a refrigerator. The food in the restaurants was good and surprisingly reasonably priced. Best of all, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
snowbas, Our staff will appreciate hearing/seeing your review. Our resort offers a range of accommodations, from (as you know) cottages to villas and lodge rooms. Our menu and pricing was updated this year, we are pleased that you were happy. Maybe your next visit you can enjoy our coffee shop too. We hope to see you in the 2014 season or sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our weekend getaway was for a birthday celebration. I'll start off with all the positives, and there are many. Your first impression from the front gates to the lobby is spectacular! Second to none. Upon entering the lobby what struck me was the natual wood decore (very northen Michigan) and how clean the facility is. I noticed the cleaniless of this resort all weekend. Everything from the washrooms, to hotel room, the courses, pro shop, restaurants...CLEAN! This they do right. The landscaping is pristine! This they do right.

The staff is very friendly and will always try to help you....but it is very noticable that they are stressed. Some at the reception desk are not trained properly, or under strick guidlines that make no sense. Two days prior to our arrival, we were informed that the room we rented was not available...ok...so we were going to be given something comparable...ok. Only, that is not what occured. There are many different accomodation options at this reort which is great, but they all offer a different kind of experience, I'm not sure that the management understands this. So after a few hours, we were given rooms at the main lodge. The rooms were beatuitful...but it was not the trip we had expected. We had asked for kitchen facilities, but that was not available, so the food we brought, was unused. Oh well....no problem.

The problem is the management made no offer to accomodate us while we waited for our new rooms. Our Champagne and cheese that we had pre ordered was sitting in a room we didn;t want, while we waited at the oudoor bar drinking beer and eating nachos. When we mentiond this a checkout, the manager's question to us was...was there something wrong with the cheese? Oh my!

The golf courses are great. They are both scenic and challenging, and are in great condition. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. The only problem we had was on day 1 we were behind a tournament and the round was 6.25 hours long. My husband and I missed our massage appointments, it made us late for our dinner reservation....the domino effect kicked in. The staff at the spa, again they were great.

Overall, I think Garland is a beautiful place that has a lot going for it. The pluses out weigh the minuses....but the management needs to get it together before its too late. I actually feel sorry for the staff. We may give Garland another try only because of the courses, the cleanliness, the beauty, and the friendly staff!

Room Tip: There are many options for accomodations. Depending on the type of vacation you want, check the webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. I am sure your review will be helpful to other readers.
During your stay you brought your disappointment of your cheese tray to the attention of our Operations Director he was happy to be sure you were not charged for it. I am very pleased that we could resolve this concern for you. We hope that on your next stay you request the unit type and location that will fit your needs, especially now that you better understand the unit types that our resort has to offer. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garland Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garland Lodge & Resort

Address: 4700 N Red Oak Rd, Lewiston, MI 49756
Location: United States > Michigan > Lewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lewiston
Also Known As:
Garland Lodge And Resort
Garland Hotel Lewiston
Garland Resort Lewiston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garland Lodge & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Garland Lodge & Resort to your Saves list