We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Supper!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garland Lodge & Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewiston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garland Lodge & Resort
Save
You added Garland Lodge & Resort to your Saves list
4700 N Red Oak Rd, Lewiston, MI 49756   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewiston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Supper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The hubby and I went to the Garland for dinner on September 26th, and the fall colors were prime! We were greeted at the door by such a friendly smile! Our server Wendy was excellent! Since we were just in for a quick meal, she suggested that we make a selection from the bar menu, and the burgers were so delicious! We were both so impressed by her knowlege of the menu, how items were prepared, it was excellent! She really knew her stuff! We both recomend the onion rings with the red pepper dipping sauce, as Wendy did!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennMiesch, General Manager at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to Garland. We are very blessed to have wonderful team members and Wendy is certainly one of them. Our menu has vastly improved and yes, the onion rings are awesome!!!

We hope you will return soon and thank you for taking time to write a review.

Glenn Miesch
General Manager
Garland Lodge and Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    11
    18
    22
See reviews for
24
47
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent one night with two days of golf at Garland. Had not been to the resort in nearly 20 years. While we were extremely pleased with the golf courses and related facilities, we were not as pleased with the hotel and restaurant. They were OK, but we were disappointed. We were given a room with one queen bed. The August weather was unseasonably cool and we literally froze in our room through the night; heat must not get turned on until the leaves start to change.

The restaurant dinner was average and overpriced. I must give credit where it is due - I chose a parfait dessert from the menu, and take it from this dessert afficiando - it was one of the best I have ever had. The outdoor bar was very nice; on our chilly evening, we were able to sit by a roaring fire after dinner. If we had to do it over again, we would have spent the entire evening at the outdoor bar and done burgers and nachos for dinner. Traveled up the road for lunch on day 2 at the Lewiston Lodge; well worth the trip.

The resort is set up very nicely, we just felt that for what is purported to be a five star facility, some corners are being cut. While we would like to golf at Garland again, it would have to be a very attractive package.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennMiesch, General Manager at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
i am disappointed we did not meet your expectations on your recent trip, although you seemed to have some very positive comments to make in the review, I get the feeling you feel our price point was not worth the value of the product and service.

Value vs. price is in the eyes of the beholder and we value everyones opinion and take each review and share with our team. I can assure you we will do the same with your review.

We offer numerous promotional packages on our web site and maybe you can find one that meets your expectations for 2013. You did have an educational experience and now know more about the property and what selections to make in future visits.

Glenn Miesch
General Manager
Garland Lodge and Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Two couples went on two day golf package after Labor day. A storm had went through and power issues were being dealt with competently by staff. Single room lodge reservations were upgraded to cottage across the street. Cottages have 4 double beds, kitchen, living room with tv and porch. Our friends took the upstairs bedroom and we were on the main floor, next to noisy hot water heater (disruptive sleeping). I can see where this set-up would work well for 4 guy outing. There's a Weber gas grill..perfect for grilling steaks. The kitchen table great for cards and cable tv with sports. Our guys loved watching the Tigers while us girls watched stars on porch, sipped wine and talked.
Driving in, the grounds are impressive! The wooden bridge above the road, the split rail fence..then the imposing log structure. All with beautiful landscaping and flowers. It certainly is a surprise to see a project of this magnitude in the middle of nowhere. One must admire the entrepreneur who had this vision and courage to invest their dollars. It gives one hope for Michigan's sagging economy...and is definitely a boon to Lewiston area.
We found the resort's restaraunts too expensive, though observing patron's plates...looked very appetizing. Over 13 dollars for breakfast buffet..and we always eat light before golfing. The professional staff said they could price each item we may choose separately. But you know how that can go..potential hassle. So we went into Lewiston and enjoyed light bites. And talking about Lewiston restaraunts..do not miss the Redwood Steak House! It opens at 4:30 for dinner. Early bird special starts then. New York strip steak $9.99, Parmesan or grilled whitefish $7.99. Add the salad bar, which includes fresh gulf shrimp and creamed herring ($3.99 extra). The place immaculate, phenomenal service. It reminded me of the old fashioned, totally delightful supper clubs of yesteryear.
The guys totally loved the well tended 4 golf courses. Rangers keep all on track. We golfed Reflections and Fountains. Both beautiful. Loved the eagle's nest that can be viewed on hole 11
on Reflections. Us girls, well we "play at golfing". These courses are equivalent to the "black diamonds" of our downhill skiing days..we really don't belong there. So we picked up our balls, used drop areas and oohed and ahhed when guys made dramatic shots. Loved the scenery, being outside and comradarie of our group.
It is a resort that is all about golf. Though hot, temperature in the 80's, outdoor pool padlocked and all furniture stacked (apparently put away for season). Indoor narrow swim lap pool in basement and not meant to lounge around. So, would agree with others..if you are not a golfer, not the place for you. No great shopping or surrounding tourist destinations for the non golfer. Better to choose the other side of the state, where these options abound.
The staff were friendly, courteous, helpful and genuinely concerned about guest's comfort. They are renovating lodge rooms..so ask for a "renovated" room, if you stay at the lodge. The new rooms have more rustic, neat furniture and fridge.
We toured it all, because really do not think as a female golfer (at my level) that I will be back. Had a wonderful time, enjoyed walking, socializing and amazing scenery. If you are not a die hard golfer or wealthy, it is a one time shot. It is expensive..but hey, it takes money to keep it all up! Seems like a great convention place or shared guy's getaway. And I am appreciative of the chance to experience Garland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennMiesch, General Manager at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a lengthly review of our property. We are blessed to have a spectacular setting and a dedicated team to exceed guest expectations. We are a golf resort and proud of all our offerings.

One mission this year is to create an environment where couples have an exceptional experience and while not playing golf can take advantage of our new White Cedar Spa, Tannin's Wine and Coffee Bar, Little Nine Putting Course, excellent culinary fare and the great outdoors. Our two outdoor decks are also very popular for couples who wish to sip on a beverage and just take in the peace and quite. Our price point is equvilant to our service level and quality product which allows us to offer an unforgetable guest experience.

We too are proud to have other culinary selections in our great community. This is what adds to the guest overall experience.

We thank you again for such an extensive review and enjoying your stay at Garland.

Glenn Miesch
General Manager
Garland Lodge and Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Garland Resort for 6 days in August 2012. The Main lodge was stunning and the staff was second to none! We planned a surprise 60th birthday for my Mom and Garland's team helped me plan the surprise and complete the surprise ending on the last day with a 4 course catered meal in our beautiful Villa. The meal was absolutely delicious, Steak Diane - My Mom's favourite! On your visit, make sure to try the pretzels on the Antler's menu....YUM! We can't thank Garland enough for the incredible service and hospitality over our 6 days! Garland Resort is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennMiesch, General Manager at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hi Colin
We can't thank you enough for your positve review and are so pleased we could make your Mom's 60th birthday a memorable experience. Our culinary team was excited to prepare and serve your a personal meal in the villa.

We do hope you will come back and visit us again so we can continue to exceed your expectations!

Please pass along to your Mom a "HAPPY BIRTHDAY" from the entire Garland Lodge and Resort team.

Glenn Miesch
General Manager
Garland Lodge and Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

It has been several years since I stayed at the Garland Resort – and there has been many changes.

The changes are: a new Owner and General Manager who cares about providing 5 star service; great renovation of Main Lodge, dining room and basically all facilities; 350+ employees; landscaping; etc.

Price is in the 3-4 star categories, but the service and facility is in the 5 star category. The service with a smile from all the employees (and I mean all) continued to amaze each of us every day. One employee that I want to especially mention was Kim – the head concierge. I had a special problem one day and she jump in and volunteered extra special help for me. I did not ask and she absolutely did not have to help, but she did.

They have Four different golf courses layouts in perfect condition – both greens and fairways. One pro shop, practice facility and cart/bag storage for all 4 courses so that everything is centrally located. You do not need to spend part of the day driving between courses/facilities.

There are several different standard room types in the lodge. In addition, there are 1 and 2 bedroom villas and condos. Four of us (four guys), stayed in the wonderful basically new Golf Cottages with 2 bedrooms (each with two beds), a full kitchen and living room.

The only addition that I would make would be Wi-Fi availability in the Golf Cottages – but this would be very expensive to management. There is Wi-Fi in the main lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennMiesch, General Manager at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are so pleased we made a positive impact on your group's stay at Garland Lodge and Resort. We are working very hard to provide exceptional service and a product every guest can enjoy and remember.

Kim Lemcool is a great team member and she exemplifies our desire to create memorable guest experiences. Going the extra mile is now part of our team culture.

Our entire team is excited when we post the reviews and beleive me when I say, they read each statement very carefully and start giving each other high fives when their name or division is highlighted. This is a great sign when they "own" their responsibilites and actions.

I too wish we could have WiFi throughout the property, however our rural location is a challenge, but at least you can receive WiFi service in the main lodge.

Thank you again for your review and please come visit us again in the near future. Golf is spectacular in September and October.

Glenn Miesch
General Manager
Garland Lodge and Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our golf group of 12 just returned from 5 days of golf and lodging at Garland. Aug 8-12. This was our 3rd year in a row at Garland. We have always stayed at the golf cottages, 4 golfers per cottage and this year, unlike last, we had 3 cottages in a row which is great for visiting and socializing. Some of the cottages need updating, although the one I stayed in was recently renovated to an excellent standard.

Overall, the place is impressive, immaculate grounds, flowers everywhere, and the main lodge log structure is really a work of art.

Our trip was tainted a bit by the foul weather (rain 3 out of 5 days) but nothing anyone can do about that. Lots of cart towels availabe for the asking at the cart shack to keep the seats as dry as possible.

Pro shop staff (Nick Greenman) is awesome. We run a mini tournament over the 5 days and Nick made sure our scorecards were handicap dotted daily, proximity markers in the lead cart, and all carts with personlized signage for our group.

The courses are awesome and as always, are in great condition. My favorites are #1 swampfire, #2 fountains, #3 monarch, and #4 reflections. They run tee times at 10 minute intervals and you seldom have an issue with slow players in front, or being pushed from behind.

The great thing about Garland Golf is all the courses share a common proshop and practice facilty. You just head off in a different direction to the course you are playing that day.

Our food and hospitality experience was not as postive this year as in past.

On the downside, no drink or food happy hour specials on the patio. This was a popular promotion our group looked forward to from past years. Seemed like lots of new staff around this year, not sure what to make of that. Took a while for the servers to get around to getting drinks for everyone on more than 1 occassion. Dining room messed up our dinner reservation 1 night but no worries, ate in the sports bar.

food and drinks have gone up in price considerably from previous years. We went to Lewiston (10 min down the road) one night for drinks and dinner and our individual bills were 1/2 of what we would have paid at the lodge.

Jeff and Sue are not there any more providing nightly entertainment and they are missed. The DJ's they have there are as disconnected from the guests as you can get.

Our overall experience was not as positve as previous years but the golf is fantastic and I would go back again

Room Tip: golf cottages are great for larger groups but insist on getting them all side by side saturday nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennMiesch, General Manager at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your group's stay this year at Garland Lodge and Resort. Also we appreciate all guest opinions and pass them on to the appropriate department heads and managers.

As I have stated in some other review responses we are changing the culture of our team as well as the image of our property. We are very proud of our existing team and they have been recieivng rave reviews for their hospitality and attentiveness. Change is good as long as it is for the betterment of our guest service package. Do we still make mistakes, absolutely, but we also learn from them.

We have two types of options on the outdoor patio, a 10 minute menu and the regular menu for those guests who wish to relax and are not off to play another eighteen holes. This has been working very well for us. The regular menu has a longer waiting time as the food is not pre-cooked.

I support your decision to take advantage of other restaurants in the area and everyone has a different price point which is not unusual in a resort community.

Our entertainment selection of contracting a D.J. has worked well for our new direction and appeals to every market segment we have visiting Garland. The variety of music can be directed to the guest segment we have at any one time in Antlers Bar and Grill.

Again, thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you and your group again.

Glenn Miesch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and i stayed at Garland July 29th - August 2nd. We were pleasantly surprised when we got to our villa and discovered that there was no WIFI! Then we looked and were shocked to see a box TV with fuzzy cable that dated way back to the 90's. No hi-def to watch the olympics on. The golf was really great along with the weather. The food was good and the hospitality was ok. There also was no newspapers and cell phone service was very spotty. Other than golf there was not much else to do. Nice resort but i believe we will return to western mich.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennMiesch, General Manager at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your reveiw. Garland Lodge and Resort is a rustic enviornment with many amenities for all our guests to enjoy. The WiFi is located in the lodge business desk area along with the best cell phone service. The villa TV's are outdated and new ones are a high priority in our 2013 capital improvement program. There are five high definition large TV's in the Antlers Bar and Grill.

We are a destination resort and what makes Garland so unique is our location in the woods of Northeast Michigan. The golf is spectacular but so is our new spa, fitness area, 1.9 mile pathway, renovated fitness area, outdoor pool and new putting course. Much to do when not on the golf course. The culinary experience is recieving very high marks from guests especially compared to years past.

Again thank you for your review and we do hope you will reconsider and return again.

Glenn Miesch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garland Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garland Lodge & Resort

Address: 4700 N Red Oak Rd, Lewiston, MI 49756
Location: United States > Michigan > Lewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewiston
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Garland Lodge And Resort
Garland Hotel Lewiston
Garland Resort Lewiston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garland Lodge & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.