We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly room with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whaleback Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whaleback Inn
Save
You added Whaleback Inn to your Saves list
1757 N. Manitou Trail, M-22, Leland, MI 49654   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Leland B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendly room with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Owners were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were well kept with plenty of comfortable chairs to sit and enjoy the view. The room was very clean and quaint with raccoons carved into the bedposts. Snacks and water were available in the common room, and the continental breakfast was served on the porch. It was a short walk down the hill to a private dock where you could enjoy the beautiful Lake Leelanau.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

4 of my sisters, two nieces and a family friend decided to do a fun trip up North (I live now in Colorado and searched online for a place to stay) as a girls roadtrip adventure together. Both Scott and Tammy were very helpful on the phone since I kept adding rooms as our group kept growing. But also helpful with recommendations of the area wineries, where to rent a SUP board (stand up paddle board) which was great fun by the way - the place delivered them to us at Lake Leelanaugh's Bartholamew park (Nedows Bay public beach) and was reasonably priced, I feel bad I don't remember the SUP rental places name but Scott knows. Scott also recommended Bluebird restaurant which was great. Our rooms were so clean and we loved the continental breakfast served on the wrap around porch overlooking the lake. We also want to thank Scott and Tammy for their help since we had one lost car key incident that they helped us with in getting lock smith info to get a replacement key made. :) The community room was really convenient to get ice and snacks. Thank you for a wonderful stay! From all the girls. Tammy and Scott you have a really comfortable, conveniently located, clean, friendly atmosphere Inn!

Room Tip: We loved our double Queen room overlooking the lake. We even had adjoining rooms for part of our gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay at the beautiful Whaleback Inn - we thought it was marvelous, and cannot comprehend those with (petty) complaints about this place. Our room was a double queen with lake view - yes, the lake is across the road but the property is elevated and the road noise negligible. We rented a small fishing boat nearby and were able to dock it right there, which was very convenient. The continental breakfast was put out every morning by 7:30 - nice coffee, fresh fruit, cinnamon toast, boiled eggs, etc. (I always bring my own mug, so the styro cups weren't an issue for me). The beds were very comfortable, and the bed linens were lovely, (they're fresh air line-dried, not something you see too often). The town of Leland is just a mile up the road, and it's easy to visit Suttons Bay, the Sleeping Bear Dunes, and other area attractions from this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed just one night at the Whaleback Inn. While the location is great and the view is beautiful, it felt like we were staying at a very expensive motel. M22 is right outside your room on one side, cars are parked right outside your door on the other side. The room was done in a rustic decor, and was very clean and included a refrigerator. The porch overlooking the lake is shared with all rooms in your section of the building, with no privacy. Walls are VERY thin - we had very loud (and rude) neighbors that slammed their door and drawers continually, and we could hear every single word that they said up until they finally went to bed in the wee hours of the morning. The bed was far too firm for our taste, and the ceiling fan above the bed made a terrible squeaking noise all night. All of the noise and hard bed summed up to very little sleep for us.

A basic continental breakfast is served on the outside porch of the main house each morning, and there was an ample supply of various breads, fruits, yogurt, hot coffee, and juice. They offer alot of places on the porch and in the yard to sit and enjoy the view while you eat.

The owners obviously can not control road noise, the design / layout of the inn, or other rude customers. But, given the high cost of the room, our overall expectations were higher than what we got in return, and we will likely not return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My sister and I recently embarked on a "road trip" up the western Michigan coast across to Mackinac Island. We had lodging reservations for every night except the one we found ourselves in Leland. I think we chose the Whaleback Inn from noticing it along MI 22 on our way into town. We LOVED the property, the accommodations and our hosts, Scott and Tammy. I describe our room as rustic, country luxury. The view of the lake and woods from our room was simply SPECTACULAR. The attention to detail at every turn so impressed me. The porch on the main house was so delightful with lots of freshly painted, beautiful cushioned wicker furniture, and the continental breakfast served there was wonderful. Yes, we had to cross a wooded, winding two-lane rural highway to the stairs leading down to a large deck and dock on the lake with lots of adirondack chairs , but it provided a place to watch the sunrise while feeling very alone on the lake. With water shoes it would be very simple to walk from shore into the crystal-clean, cool lake waters. Overall the rooms, main house/porch and grounds epitomize a place to relax in the woods gazing out on lovely views of Lake Leelanau with a hint of upscale/luxury touches. Congrats Scott and Tammy.............your attention to detail and hard work was not unnoticed and blessed two weary travelers! We also recommend the Bluebird Inn where we had a delicious meal enjoying the atmosphere of a classic north woods supper club. And, we discovered a beautiful, sandy Lake Michigan beach just minutes from the Whaleback Inn. For as far as we could see there were only two other people on that beach. We were sharing the expense, and we were just days before the start of the high season rates, which was good because I am on a limited budget, and could not afford the high season rates on my own, or with my husband.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here several times. Loved this property! Owners were friendly, room was clean and very cute. Up north appeal, right across from the lake (beautiful view). We were able to dock our boat across the road which was ideal. All different configurations of rooms. Close to Leland for shopping, eating, fishtown, swimming, boating. Would recommend this to everyone. There is no coffee pots in the room, but you can go to the community room which has coffee (you make) other beverages and snacks ect., which you are charged for. They do serve a breakfast outside during warm weather.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Whaleback Inn offers clean, comfortable accomodations with lovely views of Lake Leelanau. The location is perfect, albeit on the main highway into and out of Leland. It's quiet during the nightttime but during the day you can hear cars passing. Property has nice ammenities, lake access and is peaceful and pleasant. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try for the end rooms. Room #21 is next to the common kitchen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whaleback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaleback Inn

Address: 1757 N. Manitou Trail, M-22, Leland, MI 49654
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Leland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Leland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Whaleback Hotel Leland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whaleback Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.