We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Leland Lodge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leland Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Leland Lodge
Save
You added The Leland Lodge to your Saves list
565 Pearl Street, Leland, MI 49654   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the Leland Lodge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

my family and I came here for a vacation and loved the Leland Lodge! Warm, cozy place with very friendly staff and great food. Took some of the Leland Lodge's cruiser bicycles into town for a ride, ate on the patio overlooking the golf course, took in awesome sunsets on Lake Michigan, etc. Everything down to the shower fixtures is brand new. Very clean place. You have to try the parmesan encrusted whitefish at their restaurant, "Bogey's". We will be back!

Room Tip: we loved #101
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southeast
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is under new ownership but... The public spaces have had a re-do but rooms are small, very poorly insulated. I could hear everything next door, and the music from downstairs was very disruptive. The room didn't have any drinking glass, coffee pot, etc. The place has a lot of work to overcome a rep which doesn't seem to have really improved by much.

Options in Leland continue to be very limited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day stay at the Leland Lodge. I have been going to the Traverse City area for 14 years. The lodge was pretty run down in recent years. The renovation was total. The transformation amazing. I had room 210, a large room with a king bed and a door wall to the large outside deck. The new staff could not have been more accomadating. We made reservations for next year before we left. Would recommend the Leland Lodge to All our friends and family. Thanks again Tony for a wonderful stay. Dave and Donna VanDeWiele.

Room Tip: Take one of the Deck Rooms if available. Such as 210, 208, 206. Not sure how many there are. One dra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The experience I had was exceptional. I highly recommend it since new owners took over. It appears any negative comments below were previous to the new ownership. We could walk to the beach which was just down the street from the lodge. I thought the food at the restaurant was delicious, and we could sit outside and enjoy the view of the golf course. We could also walk downtown, which was very convenient. I would recommend staying here for any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent two nights at the recently renovated Leland Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was spacious and well appointed - we loved the expansive deck right outside our door. We sipped drinks on the veranda overlooking the golf course and appreciated the time spent relaxing in the sun. The only caveat: the Lodge's restaurant needs to step up the appetizers and offer a few high quality plates. The salsa and nachos were definitely disappointing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the newly renovated cottages and were pleasantly surprised by how clean and fresh everything was. The staff was very accommodating in addressing all of our needs, as we were part of a fairly good size wedding group. Because there was apprehension (on our part) about whether the remodeling would be done in time for the wedding, we were amazed at how all three cabins were decorated & furnished. They were comfortable and served all of the families & friends well that weekend. We would highly recommended the "New & Improved" Leland Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Leland Lodge is a beautiful property, just remodeled with new owners. I was on a bicycle your of the Leelenau Peninsula and was surprised to find a bicycle rack out front. Check-in was quick and our room was huge. The room appeared to have new beds, bedding, and bath fixtures. The room was real clean. The place is a couple block walk into the main part of town. A wine tasting festival was in town the night we were there. Fish Town is neat to see and worth the short walk. In the morning they had muffins and donuts set out in the lobby for us. I thought the price was a little high. This room was almost twice the cost of our other two B&B rooms this trip, however this was by far the biggest room. I'm not sure if the fact that the M-22 Challenge and the Wine Tasting Festival were in town has any effect on the rates.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leland Lodge

Address: 565 Pearl Street, Leland, MI 49654
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Leland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Leland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leland Lodge is located in picturesque Leland, uniquely situated between Lake Leelanau and Lake Michigan. Just a few blocks from historic Fishtown, the Lodge has 18 rooms and 3 on-site cottages. We also have 2 dining outlets to fit every foodie need. Bogey's is our casual dining venue with an array of house-smoked meats and wonderful comfort food. The Wine Cellar is our newest outlet, with a 200-bottle wine list and an impeccable menu featuring local products and house technique by our Executive Chef, Ryan Mateling. Both have views overlooking the 8th hole of the Leland Country Club. We are also a full-service event facility, with meeting, cocktail and reception spaces to suit any event or party. We are open year-round and look forward to creating an unforgettable Northern Michigan experience for all of our guests! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leland Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.