We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Dinner on the Channel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebird Restaurant & Bar

Bluebird Restaurant & Bar
102 River St, Leland, MI 49654-5039
231-256-9081
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Leland
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Algonquin, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner on the Channel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We sat at the outside patio along the channel. Food was cooked on a gas grill next to the patio. Full menu not available outside, but adequate for our needs. Beautiful summer evening. Nice service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    43
    25
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslett, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Bluebird is a nice place to have one-on-one professional conference or a drink rather than a family restaurant. The food is very good though, overall its a good place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were looking forward to eating here. So we entered and I asked the hostess if we could sit outside. She said yes there was a separate entrance. So we went out to the patio and sat overlooking the canal. Very nice spot. Ordered a drink and looked at the menu which was very limited. We asked if there was another menu as we know the restaurant has a nice menu this was more or less just some choices some guys throw on the grill (literally). The guys running this patio said there are three separate menus and we would have to go inside to order from the full menu.
We decided to stay put but ended up being very disappointed. It was more like eating lunch and it was too expensive for what we got. If only the hostess would have told us that when we first arrived we could have sat inside by the window with a view and maybe had a nice meal as we had hoped.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipt1955, Owner at Bluebird Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks very much for your informative review. Our patio is intended to be light, simple fare, but quality food. Our whitefish from the grill is super fresh and includes the latest local vegetable to ripen, corn at this time, but is often asparagus, summer squash, etc, but always grown locally. $15 seems fair to us, but I appreciate your comments. Burgers (1/2 lb for $7.00), Smoked Brisket ($9.00), Ribs ($15), and Chicken Salad all mean light outdoor eating on the patio. That said, I'm sorry you were dissapointed. Our hostess should have supplied you with a menu so you could make your choice on the spot with full information. Thanks again for your review, and for visiting the Bluebird, your criticism helps us to improve. If you should return, please ask for me, Skip, I would like to visit with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Attended a rehearsal dinner at this restaurant, service was fantastic, appetizers excellent and the food was superb! Prime rib at it's best!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate linner (between lunch and dinner) here and although we did not have a full menu available at 330 we did enjoy the food. The service was also good. No complaints.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebird Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Leland, Leelanau County
 

Been to Bluebird Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebird Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.