We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Don't miss the bar"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cove

Cove
111 River St, Leland, MI 49654-5039
231-256-9834
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Leland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“"Don't miss the bar"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Tucked in Fishtown, The Cove has an eclectic decor that really works. The bar is a great gathering place, with friendly folks and an under water fish camera to watch the salmon swimming by on their trek upriver to spawn. Outstanding chowder!! Full selection of beers and a signature Bloody Mary that is probably overrated. Lots of local color.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    78
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Food, don't ask for butter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were on a motorcycle trip from Muskegon to Old Mission Point, stopped here for a steak dinner. 3 of us had the delmonico steak dinner ($24-28, cannot remember exactly). One had the salmon new orleans. Steak was cooked well and we all enjoyed it and it came with all the fixin's, same with the salmon, he reports "excellent"! However the portions were small and we didn't really leave full. Great view, great meal. Parking was tricky, but made easier with bikes. Ambienace was a little more shabby than I would expect, but palying to the nautical fishtown theme. The only complaint was the waitress arguing with my Dad about wanting butter for his roll. She insisted that the rolls had "Plenty of butter in them already so you shouldn't need any" and him insisting he wanted butter for his dinner roll. she brought him and only him one pat of butter. I was having such a good day, all I could do was laugh, but in hindsight, was pretty disrespectful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great meal. Great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped in for lunch with my wife while exploring the area. We asked for an outdoor table and were treated to a cool view of the dam/waterfall. The service was quick and accurate. Seafood chowder, fish taco , and fish sandwich were all delicious and unique.

A little word to the wise about getting to this restaurant, parking can be a nightmare and pedestrians are everywhere close to the Cove and Fishtown. You are better off to park along the main street in Leland and walk if you can. it may save a lot of aggrevation. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No Chubs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had been looking forward to eating at The Cove to try their famous Chubby Mary (a bloody mary with a smoked chub). The whole lobby is covered in articles about the Chubby Mary and it is listed twice on the small menu. However, when I ordered one, I was told by the waitress that they had been out of chubs for almost a year and had no idea when they would be able to get anymore. I watched as 5 other tables filled up - all ordered a chubby mary and were told the same thing. I think this should be posted on the menu and maybe a sign in the lobby as well. The food was good and the view of the water and "fish town" is nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Meal with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Sits on water falls. Great lake food, white fish and some sea food. Excellent service. Full bar and rustic fishing village atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cove also viewed

 

Been to Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.