We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Estates Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Waterford Estates Lodge to your Saves list
Waterford Estates Lodge
3600 Dunckel Road, Lansing, MI 48910   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Lansing
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Limited air, no control for Fan (High Low Medium). You can only select your desired temperature, however, it doesn't appear to be working. The wall has something gross all over it in various places (huge boogers?) The bathroom celing is stripping, it needs to be stripped and repainted. 1 star if it needs to be rated. Stay elsewhere. Front desk person didn't want me to check in early at all, in fact I had to sit until he was ready to assist me (20-30 minutes). Another customer was leaving after she looked at the hotel property. No cable telvision. Pool is not usable. Do not use Priceline at this time for 2 Star, because you may get this hotel in Lansing at the current time. I did make a report to Priceline regarding issues, hopefully, they will rerate the hotel as a one star. No working phone in the room. Poor lighting in the room. This hotel needs a complete renovation and be placed under new management and new employees. The housekeeper seemed helpful when trying to find the room. It's a big place and no hotel map was provided. You have to remember your room number as they do not write it down for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    0
    2
    11
See reviews for
4
3
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Waterford Estates is in urgent need for general maintenance as well as substantial renovation. The lack of exterior maintenance creates an uncomfortable, unclean, and, in my opinion, unsafe environment. Following is a summary of Waterford Estates Lodge Room #222 :

Hotel Attributes
Welcome letter apologizing for inconvenience caused by “pre-renovation state of the hotel”.
Bed with comfortable mattress but thin sheets and ripped blanket.
Small refrigerator appeared to be working.
Welcome gift of water and apples.
Hallway appeared to be recently updated.
No obvious sign of bed bugs.

Guest Room Quality and Cleanliness Issues
Request for room change declined by staff who claimed “no other rooms made up”
Five TV stations with fuzzy reception, no premium channels.
Hot room with non workin thermostat.
Loud air conditioning unit covered with rust stains and what appeared to be mold around edges of outlet, with weak flow of hot air.
Air conditioning filter was observable in ceiling and clearly very dirty.
Toilet bowl stained, very unsanitary appearance.
Bath tub was dirty with rust stains and soap scum.
Water from sink, tub and toilet was yellow for first few minutes of discharge.
Towels were dingy, damp, and inadequately laundered.
Several hairpins were found on floor.
Wasp nest in balcony door
Handles missing from drawers.
Pool closed.
Ironing board but no iron.
Internet access not working.
Balcony dirty.

Hotel Safety Issues
Room door does not have security latch.
Sliding balcony doors does not have security latch or slide blocker.
No security locks on outside doors although signed that card entrance was required.
Debris was visible in North entrance vestibule.
Outside appearance was very ragged looking and there was evidence of need for serious grounds maintenance.
Five cars in parking lot.
East parking lot was not lighted, west was dimly lighted.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joesph
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Place was a partner on the MWAY youth wrestling championships. Got there and the pool was closed, no cable, no heat, and was ran down. The was no locked outside doors. The cable has been out for over a month come to find out.

All the managers could not be found. Asked for a GM never got back to me.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

No working Internet. No working Cable TV because of some kind of dispute with the local cable TV company. (My guess is they did not pay their bill looking at the condition of the motel) No Towels in my room. I am sure the sheets had not been changed on the bed after I had to strip them to use for a towel after getting out of the shower and realizing there was no towels. The water temperature was not consistent in the shower. The sink drains very slow to not at all. No remote control for TV. No Coffee in lobby. No breakfast available, either for purchase or continental free with stay. Resturant/bar closed early and I did not have transportation to another place. The room was booked by my business contact. He obviously will get the same report as you are getting. And best of all the Senior management of the dump does not get in until 10 AM.......after everone has checked out for the day.....HMMMMMMM

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

This is a very nice place. We attended an adult-themed event at the Waterford Estates Lodge and were very pleased. The rooms were clean and well-appointed... just as nice as any major hotel chain but with a lot more individual charm. The restaurant has good food at reasonable prices. Very friendly and professional staff- I think it was their first time handling this sort of event and there were a few troubles with check-in logistics, but they were very nice about it and worked hard to get everything straightened out. Our group will definitely be back and I'm sure things will be even better next time! This would be a wonderful place for a romantic weekend getaway... due to the location I'd also recommend it for anyone in town on MSU business.

  • Liked — Nice rooms, quiet location
  • Disliked — restaurant staff seemed a bit overwhelmed
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

unfriendly staff, disgusting room. food was blah and cold. bar was empty and closed early. overheard staff talking about the financial condition of the hotel and how they don't pay their bills! felt very unsafe in my room since the doors don't shut all the way! never again

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Too many to count
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

While this hotel is not the newest or fanciest hotel, it still has a lot of charm and a comfortableness about it that makes you feel at home. The staff were all very nice and professional and made sure we had everything we needed and continually asked if they could do anything more for us. They seemed to really want us to enjoy our stay and not many hotels offer that type of service. I'll stay here rather than any other Lansing hotel next time I'm in town for sure!

P.S. During a short conversation with one of the staff members, they did mention the hotel was going to be renovated very soon so I definitely plan on coming back just to see all the new stuff they add!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterford Estates Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Estates Lodge

Address: 3600 Dunckel Road, Lansing, MI 48910
Location: United States > Michigan > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterford Estates Lodge is a two-level building with three Wings and 141 rooms. It houses a restaurant,a lounge, a large ballroom and 6 class size meeting rooms. Waterford Estates Lodge is located at 3600 Dunckel Road, adjacent to the Michigan State University campus. We are conveniently located minutes from downtown Lansing and Capital City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterford Estates Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Estates Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Estates Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.