We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to be stranded by the weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Lansing West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Lansing West to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Lansing West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   925 South Creyts Road, Lansing, MI 48917 (Formerly Sheraton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to be stranded by the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The deteriorating weather made it impossible to push on through with our itinerary, so we pulled off at the Crown Plaza, and are we glad we did! The staff was friendly and welcoming and Bordeaux was a delightful restaurant with affordable prices and hefty portions. The $9.95 breakfast buffet was just icing on the cake. The room was fresh and inviting and I was totally comfortable with the great mattress and other amenities in the very well appointed room. My colleagues and I were so happy to have this wonderful hotel to shelter from the storm!

Room Tip: High floor away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    47
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
22
6
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Traverse County, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have stayed in a fair amount of hotels and this is one of the nicer ones in my opinion. Front desk staff is top notch, bar staff is top notch, the rooms were well appointed (clean and confortable). The free wireless was adequate and my room (on the 4th floor) was very quiet. I will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and it never disappoints me. The entry is great the rooms are great the linens are great the location is good. This is a nice hotel for the price. I would recommend the hotel to include 2 bars of soap in the bathrooms and add linen bath mats when you step out of the showers. I will stay again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was there for business on 02/12 spent the night, had room service for breakfast and used the wifi for some quick work. Overall it was clean, comfortable bed and good food. I stayed on the second floor and slept very well. The down side is that men's restrooms were down to one toilet during our convention...which was not good considering we were at the near capacity of the room and there was also another convention next door.

Room Tip: King bed was nice on second floor. There was rust on the stopper in the sink which was odd. Ironing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel property may be newly remodeled but the service is terrible. The desk clerks and managers are terrible at customer service. Please do yourselves a favor and hire some more experienced staff, the current ones have no idea what it takes to work in hospitality. I do not recommend that any person give their hard earned money to this place. To say the customer service here is 'one-star' is a compliment, but -5 stars is not an option unfortunately.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, poor customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLansing, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lansing West, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear leathodz,

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review. Feedback from our guests allows us to continually improve. The experience you described is uncharacteristic of the level of service our team strives to provide (and which the majority of reviewers rave about). Since the review was rather vague, we would like to learn the details of your visit and how we can make it right. I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me (Tammy Pease at 517-323-7100). We look forward to hearing from you soon and wish you the very best.

In the spirit of hospitality,
Tammy Pease, CTA
Director of Revenue & Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in October at a business conference. Rooms were nice, beds great. Ordered room service for dinner the first night and found it very good. It was about 8:00pm in the evening, but they let us order off the lunch menu. If you're looking for a place to hold a conference this was a very good venue. We had around 300 people for the conference and various venders as well. The space they gave us for the sessions were adequate and they were very quick about opening the rooms up at lunch time. The lunch was excellent. I get so tired of having the same old lunch wraps at these conferences, so having a chicken and pasta lunch (all female conference) was a nice choice. The vender space was a bit tight, but that should be fixed next year as to the fact that I don't think the hotel realized the actual space the venders would use because there was adequate space if they had branched out a bit. Overall this gets a great rating from me for business travel and conference purposes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza on business. I arrived later in the evening, but was greeted and checked in promptly and politely. In addition to the reservations staff, there was a manager standing by to explain the new renovations; they were very proud of them and I understand why.

The lobby and hallways were clean with attractively modern and streamlined decor. The guestroom was easy to find and I heard no extraneous noises once I was ensconced within. All aspects of this hotel room were excellent. It smelled clean and had modern air system so that one could adjust the heat/air themselves. The bed was heavenly; the linens crisp and clean, and well made. More than anything, I slept great in that bed! Just like everything else, the bathroom was clean and modern with all of the amenities one would need.

Some of the smaller things that I especially liked was that the room seemed designed for the business traveler like me. I was greeted by packages of their Sleep Advantage(R) spa-type products. Also, there was a separate dressing area with sink across from closet. I liked being able to separate my makeup and hair products from other products like my toothbrush that I've had to store together in restrooms of other hotels. Just my own little preference here.

Overall, I had a great stay at this hotel. Only a few minor things occurred that were annoyances worth mentioning, but did not really affect my stay. First, I had a hard time changing the channel on the TV without pointing it directly at the set. Second, the TV-based interactive check-out feature did not work. We dined on their breakfast buffet the next day and the food was mediocre and not warm, but the service was fast and polite. I would stay here again and would recommend that others do as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaLansing, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lansing West, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Crysha,

Thank you so much for all the kind words! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Lansing West and our beautiful renovations. We put a lot of thought into each upgrade, so we appreciate your feedback on the amenities. Thank you for sharing your photos as well! We will share your comments regarding the TV remote and check-out feature with our maintenance crew. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

In the spirit of hospitality,

Cindy L. Bowen, CHA, CTA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lansing hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
6.9 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lansing
1.6 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#2 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lansing West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lansing West

Address: 925 South Creyts Road, Lansing, MI 48917 (Formerly Sheraton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lansing
#2 Business Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lansing West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Michigan's capital city and home of Michigan State University! The Crowne Plaza Lansing West is ideally located minutes from the Capitol building and all points of business and pleasure in Greater Lansing. Conveniently situated just off of I-496, we offer plenty of complimentary parking surrounding the hotel. Earn IHG Rewards Club points as you relax in one of 212 beautifully renovated guest rooms. Explore made-from-scratch dining in our brand new restaurant, Bordeaux, and pair your meal with one of over 70 wine labels available in the Cork Room. Or, grab a seat at the bar crafted of Timeless Timber recovered from the Great Lakes and sip a Michigan micro-brew or creative cocktail. Enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool and indoor sport court. Then unwind in the comfort of your room with nightly cookie & milk delivery, HDTV with HBO, and complimentary WiFi. Our Sleep Advantage program ensures a great night's sleep with plush bedding, aromatherapy, a designated Quiet Zone, and guaranteed wake-up calls. Doing business in Greater Lansing? The Crowne Plaza Lansing West features over 17,000 sq. ft. of flexible event space as well as a dedicated Crowne Meetings Director to take care of every detail. Escape the ordinary and travel for success with Crowne Plaza! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lansing West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Lansing
Lexington Hotel Lansing
Lansing Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Lansing West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.