We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World First Class Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Lansing West

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lansing West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   925 South Creyts Road, Lansing, MI 48917 (Formerly Sheraton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Lansing
Warsaw, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old World First Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Simply put, the management and staff of this gorgeous hotel simply understand the nature of hospitality. There is a quality that has long been abandoned in the hotel business at even some of the country's top hotels, integrity; make no mistake integrity is a deeply ingrained principle in the staff of the Lexington Lansing. The hotel has obviously studied the industry and their guests to know exactly what they must do to cater to the needs of their guests.

We stopped on our way back from a trip on Mackinac Island. Sitting at dinner I decided to call it a night and came across this amazing property on the Hotels.com app on my iPad. At first I was dismayed there were no five or four star in Lansing. I know the star rankings do not necessarily mean quality, but this property far surpasses most four star hotels I have ever stayed in and every 3.5 star hotel. The level of service is on par with what you receive at the finest establishments on Mackinac Island, a Conrad Hilton, or at a Disney resort, truly world class.

Every staff member we encountered was hospitable and friendly. There is no bigger downer when you are excited about staying somewhere and the check-in associate or the room service waiter/waitress is not welcoming. While we were disappointed that we could not eat in the hotel restaurant, due to construction, we were very pleased with the amazing level of service we received by the wait staff. They were personable, knowledgeable, and went out of their way to find a way to accommodate special requests for dinner and cocktails.

The best part of our stay was the extensive activities rooms. It was a great time just being able to shoot some hoops after dinner, play a game of air hockey, and relax in the pool and amazing bubbly hot tub. The best part is that the pool and whirlpool are open 24 hours!! Even better, after midnight it is for adults only. Too many hotels with pools close at an absurd hour like 10 or 11 on weekends! Even worse the pools can often be overrun by large groups of unsupervised kids without an ounce of respect. Here even if there is a problem with the guests at the pool the hotel has been hospitable and considerate enough to leave the pool open around the clock! The people running this establishment really understand the wants and needs of their guests, they have amazingly thought everything through and that is pretty rare in today's world. I cannot thank them enough for this consideration.

We stayed in a newly remodeled king bed room and all of the furnishings were new and of great quality. The bed was amazing perfectly soft with great linens. The tv was a decent size flat screen with great picture quality. Everything was very clean and there was nothing to complain about. We slept wonderfully.

We love the Lexington Lansing Hotel so much that we will be returning shortly and we have no business or other activities planned, we just love this hotel that much. The Lexington is a true destination resort and I am sure that is even more true when the renovations are done and the restaurant is open again. If you want a weekend or week away to relax in a hot tub, swim, play a few sports or games, sleep in an amazing bed, and be treated like a hotel guest should then this is your place!

Room Tip: The King deluxe corner rooms with a sofa are amazing quality for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
13
6
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Even though the hotel was under major renovations and they could not honour the particular room type we had reserved months in advance, the manager did what she could to ensure our stay was enjoyable. During 4 days at the hotel everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. This is a great place to stay in the Lansing area,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Park, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is being remodeled and we were given a new room. It was clean and well done. The only thing for me was the bed was a bit to firm for me. Lots of pillows and a big comforter. The towels were nice and soft. Water pressure was good and the air conditioner did a fine job on a hot weekend. The pool area was great. Adult only at night with a nice hot tub. Be careful if you don't like chlorine, they us a ton in the pool and tub. I did eat breakfast and lunch in the restaurant. Breakfast was a bit pricey but, it was Sunday. Lunch was a very good burger and fries. Make sure you ask to sit in Bill's section. Very nice guy, if you are the owner or manager. He is one of your best people. Our conference room was nice and the sound was good even in the back of the room. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful, friendly staff, Chelsea went out of her way to help us out. This type of service you do not see every day. Our friend stays here when he comes in town for board meetings, now I know why.
The rooms were in great shape, the beds seemed small and short, I slept well, but my wife needed a night or two to adjust.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I really don't have much to say about this hotel one way or the other. The room was average size and fairly clean. I did have to remove the dirty decorative runners used to cover the foot of the bed. The tub didn't drain very well and the rooms power would go out if you used two hair dryers(in separate rooms) at the same time. This was a bit inconvenient when you are short on time and have more than one person getting ready. The pool was a nice size but both nights we went swimming there were no clean towels available and had to call the front desk. The indoor basketball court was fun for the kids. There is no free breakfast offered and the breakfast buffet was around $14 per person. Starbucks brand (already brewed) coffee was available for purchase in the lobby. The hotel is undergoing some renovations as it is converting to a Crown Plaza in August. The only exceptional part of this hotel was the staff. They were friendly, outgoing, and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lansing West, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Lori B ,

Thank you for your candid review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My darling wife and I truly enjoyed the opulent Easter Brunch that the Lexington put on this year. They had a cornucopia of choices and everything was prepared well. they handled a huge crowd with professional grace too.

Room Tip: We live near, so we just drive over to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very pleasant hotel, good location, comfortable room, great bedding and pillows. Bath and body works products in medium sized bathroom. Good shower. Room had plenty of space and sufficient wall plugs to charge the many devices one carries these days. Only issue was the poor quality of food in the restaurant. Service was good though and drink prices reasonable. However,signs were posted that restaurant will be closing for renovation. Hopefully a new chef as well. A great value overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Lansing West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lansing West

Also Known As:
Sheraton Lansing
Lexington Hotel Lansing
Lansing Sheraton
Address: 925 South Creyts Road, Lansing, MI 48917 (Formerly Sheraton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Lansing West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Michigan's capital city and home of Michigan State University! The Crowne Plaza Lansing West is ideally located minutes from the Capitol building and all points of business and pleasure in Greater Lansing. Conveniently situated just off of I-496, we offer plenty of complimentary parking surrounding the hotel. Earn IHG Rewards Club points as you relax in one of 212 beautifully renovated guest rooms. Explore made-from-scratch dining in our brand new restaurant, Bordeaux, and pair your meal with one of over 70 wine labels available in the Cork Room. Or, grab a seat at the bar crafted of Timeless Timber recovered from the Great Lakes and sip a Michigan micro-brew or creative cocktail. Enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool and indoor sport court. Then unwind in the comfort of your room with nightly cookie & milk delivery, HDTV with HBO, and complimentary WiFi. Our Sleep Advantage program ensures a great night's sleep with plush bedding, aromatherapy, a designated Quiet Zone, and guaranteed wake-up calls. Doing business in Greater Lansing? The Crowne Plaza Lansing West features over 17,000 sq. ft. of flexible event space as well as a dedicated Crowne Meetings Director to take care of every detail. Escape the ordinary and travel for success with Crowne Plaza! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lansing West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Lansing West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Lansing West to your Saves list