We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for a couple's getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added University Quality Inn to your Saves list
University Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3121 East Grand River, Lansing, MI 48912   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Lansing
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
“Fantastic for a couple's getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here with my significant other for a romantic night away and it fit the bill! We had a jacuzzi suite with a king size bed (this room includes a full bath with a shower/tub AND a heart-shaped jacuzzi!). At check-in we also received free drink coupons for the bar, which was located near the pool with a few billiard tables. Everything was centrally located and easy to find.

The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable, as well as the rest of the hotel facility. The linens were perfect, and the staff was consistently friendly, pleasant, and helpful. The breakfast was very diverse and delicious.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, for date night or any other event!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and continuing to make Quality Inn your preferred lodging choice. We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I'll be sure to share your review with the rest of our staff. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    46
    23
    15
    15
See reviews for
57
38
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel was fantastic!!! For a busy hotel it was very family friendly! The customer service was great the staff were very helpful and friendly. I stayed in a double room which is two rooms that are connected by a door that can be shut for privacy this room is what my family loved about this hotel. The house keepers were respectful and patient which was nice to not feel rushed out. It was a pleasant stay! The breakfast filled me up it was very good. They had waffles, eggs, fruit, sausage, cereal, coffee, juice, yogurt, and muffins. The beds, bedding, pillows were comfortable and the staff were really good about reminding neighbors to stay quiet during the night. I also notice that there staff do nightly walk troughs through the hotel at night which was a bonus and made me and my family very secure and safe. The pool was nice and the Jacuzzi was not only nice and clean but in a more private setting to the side of the pool. There’s also a gym and a bar with a very nice bartender. The general and assistant manager was also very nice and friendly and offered to any of our needs during are stay. (This is not very common.) We will definitely keep coming back to this hotel everything was beyond expectations, no complaints here. They also serve cookies at the front desk that are EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Double divided rooms are great for families!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Lansing. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. The service is outstanding! The breakfast buffet couldn't get any better. The only downfall was that the pool was cold. Fortunately, we were warned about this upon entry. Our children still enjoyed the hot tub and even went in the pool. I also appreciated that they had a workout facility. Overall, our family had a GREAT MINI VACATION! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to seeing you and your family during your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had our annual family holiday gathering at the University Quality Inn. The hotel was great. The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. My one disappointment was that the pool and spa were cold but the kids enjoyed them. We're talking about doing it again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We'll be sure to have maintenance turn up the pool heater. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Not much to rave about. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this isn't it. Our room opened on the pool/arcade/bar area. The area, which had a couple of arcade games, pool tables and a foosball table, is great for kids but it makes for a noisy night if you plan on going to bed before 10:00 or 11:00 PM. We could also easily hear the people in the room behind us. We were there on a Friday night before a Spartan football game so maybe it's quiter at other times. A lot of little annoyances such as a tiny bath/toliet area, loose handle on sink, missing button on the iron, etc. The place is located at a crazy intersection at Grand River and Saginaw street. Both streets are one way which can make finding and entering the place challenging. Staff was very friendly. Not the worst place I've stayed and it served our purpose but we probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want some peace and quiet try and get a room that doesn't open up on to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We definitely appreciate your feedback! I'll be sure to share your feedback with our Housekeeping Manager so she can make sure to check the irons! We hope you'll give us the chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was in town on a buisness trip, the hotel I had planned to stay ( Hampton Inn) was sold out so decided to stay at Quality inn just a mile from the hampton inn, I am glad I did, was really impressed by the hotel and staff, rooms where well maintained and price was just below $ 100 , also enjoyed the complimentary drinks at the bar.
Thank you to the staff for excellent direction and making me feel welcome... I am sold will definetely stay at your hotel next time I am in lansing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We love hearing how much our guests enjoy their stays here. We're looking forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Lansing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for a conference at MSU in mid-October, and I was pleasantly surprised by the level of service I received and the friendly staff, especially the owner. The owner was very hands-on, and made sure I could easily get to the conference from the hotel, even arranging for discounted rides after shuttle hours! I was also upgraded to a very nice room with a Jacuzzi. The bed was also incredibly comfortable.

It definitely has college-student friendly decor and more of a budget-friendly hotel look, but the service is better than I receive in most 4-star hotels. They have a great pool and indoor bar with complimentary drinks. The breakfast service is well stocked too.

Since it is a Quality Inn, I didn't expect exceptional decor or amenities, but the service and comfort was beyond expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again during your next trip to Lansing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Quality Inn

Address: 3121 East Grand River, Lansing, MI 48912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Quality Inn is conveniently located right off of US-127, minutes from downtown Lansing, MSU, and within walking distance of 14 restaurants and 70 stores. The University Quality Inn offers rooms that are very spacious, a courtyard where you can enjoy the hotel lounge, indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. You’ll find that our hotel is a great place to gather with a group or have a relaxing getaway. We offer rooms with luxurious heart shaped Jacuzzis, and comfortable suites for the entire family. We offer special group rates for corporate events and meetings, weddings, sports functions and various other events. Ask us about our special rates for your event. Whether it is for business or pleasure, we are sure you will find just what you need at the University Quality Inn. We offer the utmost in customer service and satisfaction; we are committed to making sure that your event meets all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your University Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Quality Hotel Lansing
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn Lansing
Lansing Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.