We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lansing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lansing to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Lansing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2710 Lake Lansing Road, Lansing, MI 48912   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Lansing
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice property and modernized bistro and front reception. The property is well maintained and the decor is relaxing. The rooms are a bit older and need some updating. There isn't an elevator in the hotel so if you have heavy stuff request a room on the first floor. The location is a bit cumbersome to get to but is right off the highway. Even on the highway side of the building there is little to no noise in the rooms. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lansing, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Peekie45,

We are very thankful that you spent time advising your fellow travelers of the nice stay you had at our Courtyard in Lansing. I am glad that you appreciated the décor and found the building to be well maintained. I am especially glad that you said you would stay with us again and look forward to it!

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    25
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
14
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, MD
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently stopped in Lansing on our way up to Charlevoix, MI. Excellent service, decent room and price. Room was clean and quite, no problem sleeping. Near several shopping centers with lots of restaurant choices. Close to the highway. No real complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lansing, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Tomterpfan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property! We are pleased that you found our hotel to be comfortable, clean, and convenient. We hope to see you again and, until then, will do our very best to keep up the good work.

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights while getting our son settled for school. Good location for MSU and lots to do around the hotel. Nice shopping center across the street and only a short drive to Grand River and campus. Room was very clean and well stocked, my only complaint is the staff. They were not very welcoming, no acknowledgement of Marriott Gold Status and no little welcome gift. Problem getting the front desk staff to understand using free nights for part of the stay despite the reservation being correct.

While I hate to say this I have had the same problem with staff being competent and friendly at several Courtyards around the Country. I think this might be a brand training issue. This doesn't happen at other Marriott brand even Fairfield Inns are better. If you have a choice stay at one of the other Marriott brands in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lansing, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Roy N,

I am glad that you stayed at our property during the move-in to the university. That can be a challenge and we are glad that you chose our property. I am concerned that you did not feel that our staff was friendly. In fact, we score very well in this area from our other guests, as evidenced by the prior review on this page. I would be very happy to discuss this personally and invite you to contact me at your convenience.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is an older building, which I prefer as they seem to transmit less noise. This particular property is very well maintained, it is clean and our room was very nice; clean and up to date. The flat screen TV was fine as was the bed, linens, shower etc. The room had a very slight musty odor which we assumed came out of the air conditioner.

We used the fitness room and the equipment was all in working order except for the small screen TVs on some of the equipment. Not a big deal.

The front desk staff was competent and very friendly. My only issue with Courtyards in general is they do not have a 24 hour free coffee bar. Seems kind of chintzy, given the cost a room at the Courtyard.

This courtyard is across the street from a fairly decent mall with some acceptable restaurants. When leaving the property for some reason known only to the Michigan Department of Transportation you can NOT drive across the street into the mall, but you must turn either right or left. Turn left to get to the mall, using a subsequent right turn to enter the mall. Turn right to return to the expressway. This property is not in a particularly walkable location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lansing, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Dave62,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback to your fellow travelers. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and our great staff. We absolutely love the mall across the street and agree with your opinion of the signage. Travel safely!

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and throughout the time I spent there I was very pleased with the service offered. The staff have been very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious. Free wifi was available throughout all the hotel. The purchased breakfast was quite good too. On a negative side, there is no elevator, and this makes it difficult and tiring to take up your luggage after traveling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lansing, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Emenazzopardi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the kind words about our hotel and staff! I appreciate your willingness to inform your fellow travelers about this hotel and others. We certainly value your feedback!

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here while riding on a bike tour. Staff seemed friendly at check in. Couldn't believe that this hotel didn't have an elevator. After riding over 100 miles that day, wasn't looking forward to carting luggage up stairs. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. We had to be up and out too early to try breakfast. (Another hotel we stayed at the day before had a breakfast specifically for those of us riding-would have been a nice touch.) Had a near hostage situation at the hotel during our stay-had our floor shut down, police surrounding the hotel on our return. We were allowed to walk up to our room and never stopped or denied entrance. There was a note under our door the next morning. Situation resolved peacefully.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lansing, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
I am so glad that you found our staff to be so helpful and I am happy to report that we are in the process of a renovation that includes an elevator. We are thrilled!

I am sorry that we did not provide a complimentary breakfast for your group. Our brand does have a full service restaurant with a variety of breakfast choices which is not typically included but I understand that you felt slighted as you were riding for charity. I hope you will feel a bit more comfortable with us knowing that we did provide a deeply discounted rate to benefit Make A Wish Foundation as we have personal ties with that group.

Thank you for your review and travel safely!

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked here to attend MSU graduation. It was very convenient to the campus and was exactly what we expect from a Courtyard. Clean, comfortable. Nice quiet interior courtyard for relaxing. Small counter with good breakfast in lobby. It was more expensive than most of the other area hotels, but we booked late so didn't have other options. Even so we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so anyone who has issues with stairs should book a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lansing, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hello Nyjnym!

Thank you so much for writing and we are very pleased that our property and staff exceeded your expectations!

We do strive for excellence and appreciate such great feedback.

With regard to the elevator memo, I am happy to tell you that we are installing an elevator! We are looking very forward to this renovation and the comfort it will bring to all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lansing

Address: 2710 Lake Lansing Road, Lansing, MI 48912
Location: United States > Michigan > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lansing 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Lansing is among the best hotels in Lansing, MI and we are pleased to welcome you to Michigan's capital city. We offer guests top amenities at an affordable price. During your stay with us, visit our on-site fitness center or business center and enjoy a swim in our hotel pool. We are one of the most pet friendly Lansing, MI hotels and are happy to welcome your four-legged friends, as our spacious rooms and suites have plenty of room for everyone. Lansing is a bustling college town featuring plenty of dining, shopping and entertainment, and our Marriott hotel is close to all that the city has to offer. We are also just 15 minutes from Capital Region International Airport and near several major companies. Play a round of golf at one of the many nearby courses, such as Forest Akers West Golf Course. Whether you're in town on a family vacation, visiting MSU, or here for business, let the Courtyard Lansing be your first choice among hotels in Lansing, MI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lansing Hotel Lansing
Courtyard Lansing
Lansing Marriott
Lansing Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lansing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.