We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great casual dining spot. Reasonably priced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheddar's

Cheddar's
5719 W Saginaw Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917
(517) 323-4963
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 399 Restaurants in Lansing
Restaurant details
Guelph
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great casual dining spot. Reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

While it was busy when we arrived (a Friday evening at 7pm) the wait was no longer than them told us it would be. The server was friendly and the food and drinks came in good time. I was surprised at how reasonable the prices were. I had an 11oz sirloin steak for $11.95. Most places would have been $18.95 or higher. It was a typical casual dining spot in terms of decor and a bit loud, but not unreasonably so.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    6
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Worst customer service overall from management.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Service was horrible! Received VERY slow service, wrong meal and no apology for bringing out the wrong meal. When the manager came over, he skated in the meal so he would not have to have a conversation, and then skated back to say he would take the meal off. Did not even give the decency of having a conversation with his customer. He acted as though he was afraid of having a confrontation and more interested in avoiding it than making sure his customer was happy. We waited on everything, seating, drinks, food & and then we waited to be treated decently. I will not be returning.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I love their Fish Tacos. I always think I will order something different, but always order the grilled fish tacos and am never disappointed. The onion ring appetizers are crunchy and a huge mound with dipping sauce. They have mini desserts which are a bit or two that just hit the spot and a good top off. The best price is the prices. We fed 5 people with appetizer and mini desserts and the bill was under $60. The dining area is a little noisy, but staff is friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a difference a fire makes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Dirty, disinterested manager, poor service. Used to go to Chessars before the fire that closed them for months. When they reopened I gave them one try. Manager lacked the foresight to even offer an incentive on a future visit to ensure I gave them a second chance. It was poor!!! I only went once and it was years ago.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“what a nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

one of THE best restaurants in the greater Lansing area. unique and pleasant, this place has an awesome variety. even my kids have chosen several different things,ON THEIR OWN!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar's also viewed

 

Been to Cheddar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheddar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.